We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, far away from five stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A good thing about Doryssa Seaside Resort is that it is close to the airport. By car it takes around 3 minutes from the airport to the hotel. As Samos airport isn't that busy, airplanes landing and taking off shouldn't be much an issue (although they are very loud when they do pass by). Howeve, since the hotel is actually located much closer to the runway threshold than Pythagorio itself, one can argue whether the location is ideal or not. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes, but is really dull as you pass basically nothing. Because the distance is relatively far and competition is relatively low, prices are relatively high. As noted before, a Greek salad is around €7,50 which I estimate to be around 20-40 % higher than the mean. Similarily, a sunbed is a whopping €3 per day which is not acceptable EVEN THOUGH the beach is private. Guests should not pay anything for this, after all the room isn't cheap and most guests probably chose the hotel for its beach access.

Since we arrived on a morning flight from Copenhagen, the room was not ready upon arrival. The hotel offered to store out luggage, and in reality this meant that the bags were left outside the reception building with minimum surveillance. Anyone could have just taken our bags and left. This is something I noticed throughout the week when people arrived and left. When the room finally was ready we stepped into a room that, just like the entire hotel, lacked of a true five star feeling. The room was clean and all, but very basic and cheap. There is no good place to put your suitcase meaning it gets pretty messy if you (like us) are three persons in d double room. Besides, that was a real mistake as the additional bed was extremely hard and small. The bathroom is also small (there isn't even room for a zink) and there is no door in the shower cabin meaning that you'll have to cope with wet floors. The room was made every day though.

The hotel caters mainly to Scandinavian package tourists and a majority of these are families with (small) children. Since children are running around the hotel, occupying the pool area and many activities are child-related (such as the Bamse parade) it is hard to relax just the way you would expect from a five star resort. For families I am sure that this is a great hotel, but anyone else (like for couples or friends) I am sure that there are better options in the same price range in Pythagorio. Unless I am travelling with children, I will never chose this hotel again as it simply takes away all the fun.

What I liked most about the hotel is (a) the free WiFi which actually works all around the complex (at least in the reception, in the rooms and around the pool) and (b) the breakfast buffet. On some days you can order an omelette on demand at the egg station, which I enjoyed the days it was possible. It was a shame that this option magically disappeared for a few days during my 7 nights long stay. On the second day of absence I asked a staff memember when the service would be available again and I received a somewhat unclear answer: "today no, yesterday ok".

Avoid at all costs unless travelling with children or like the idea of having them all around you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sq7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings from Doryssa!Thank you for your feedback.It is really nice that you you liked our service and breakfast buffet.
We were surprised by the fact that you did not find the resort's location convenient, since most of our guests consider it ideal.It is perfectly understood that a resort that big cannot be located closer to the town.The fact that Pythagorio is within waliking distance is a great advantage.
As far as the prices at the hotel restaurants are concerned, it is unfair to be compared with those of the local tavernas, but with other similar resorts, and in comparison with them are rather affordable. It is irrelevant with the competition, or the distance, since everyone can walk to town,eat there and also admire the beauty of the picturesque harbour.
Regarding the sunbeds, their charge has not only to do with the fact that the beach is public and not private,but also with the service(i.e service buttons in every umbrella) and quality.The truth is that in some other resorts for the same things the charge is even higher.
Regarding the lugguge upon arrival, there has never come up a problem since they are never left unattended.Although, for the guests feeling insecure or carrying valuable things,as soon as we are informed about it, we offer to store them indoors immediately.
The concept of the rooms in the main building is simple and minimal with an emphasis in quality (i.e beds quality).The standard rooms are 22m2.For families, or more than two people there are also other options to choose from,such as our executive rooms, or family rooms through Fritidsressor.
The majority of our guests are scandinavian families,but there is a number of other guests as well, for example Italian,Dutch, English etc couples and families.Our policy is not to separate our guests and try our very best for everyone's pleasant stay.
Finally,regarding the braekfast buffet,the show cooking varies so we do not have omelette "a la minute"everyday but there is available of course at the buffet.
Nevertheless, we can reassure you that we are taking under serious consideration your comments in order to improve ourselves even more.
We hope to see you again here in Doryssa Seaside Resort and offer you a pleasant stay that meets your expectations!
Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 662 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

we spent one week in this hotel at the end of August. As others already wrote, it's not a 5 star hotel, but more like a good 4 star run family resort with LOTS of children. we've booked a junior suite and it was a very good choice- great sea view right from the bed! in general the hotel is very clean, with helpful staff, near to the village. the beach is lovely, you have to pay 3€ per person for sunbeds, but keep in mind that during high season other guests practically run in the morning to reserve them, so if you are a late, you can stay without it. the best time to arrive on the beach is after 4pm when other guests already leave for dinner. we had h/b and breakfast and dinner were both ok,but nothing special.the good new is that you can switch dinner for lunch and we also ordered some good wine.about the airport issue-not so disturbing.in general it's a safe choice and you can have a good stay here.

Room Tip: junior suite in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 502petles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sir/madame,

Thank you for your feedback.It is really nice to be informed that you had a great time in Samos and Doryssa!
We hope to welcome you again here soon!Thank you for your preference!

Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The expectations of a 5 star holiday were crushed upon arrival when we discovered we were allocated a smokers room even though one of us suffered from asthma. Staff at reception had zero sympathy and were not interested to help in any way. We would recomment to avoid rooms in the main building that face the swimming pool - it is right next to the bar where loud music is played well past midnight. The beach was not really cleaned daily, each morning you could find empty bottles and sometimes broken glass, and as other travellers noted you have to pay €3 for a sunbed each day - however the sea was fantastic, clean and warm. Food in the restaurant is fairly average, especially fish which was overcooked every time. The positive part is the service there - it was slow at times but the staff were friendly. Definitely much better to go for dinner to Pythagoria or one of other beautiful villages like Kikkari. This hotel is probably good for families with kids but we would not recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms in the main building that face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ING111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,
Greetings from Doryssa!Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience and service of our resort, and also Samos.
Regarding the non-smoking rooms, it is really important to know that these type of rooms are limited and, therefore, it depends on the availability upon arrival.Moreover, your wish to have a non-smoking room has to be written in your reservation in advance, in order to be able to fulfil it.
Our personnel in all our departments is always gentle and service-minded as you have also pointed out, and it tries its best in order to reassure our guests' pleasant stay.
The music at the bar stops long before midnight, but for the guests who wish a more quiet atmosphere, they can book for a room in a different part of the main building,or in the village area so that they can choose a room that meets their expectations.
Regarding the beach, it is being cleaned regularly during the day in a very effective way.There is a charge for the sunbeds due to the fact that the beach area is being leased by the Municipality and due to the service provided everywhere on the beach using the service buttons on the umbrellas.
The food at the buffet restaurant changes everyday with different theme nights to satisfy every taste. Nevertheless, except for the buffet restaurant, there are more options to choose from, such as our A la Carte restaurant "Tavern by the Sea" where you can try fresh fish and greek specialties in a peaceful atmosphere by the sea, or our "Kafeneio" in the traditional square of our village, where you can taste the famous and delicious greek souvlaki and more.
Finally,our main priority is to create the best environment for our guests to have a pleasant stay, unexceptionally, not just for families but for everyone choosing Doryssa.
We would like to thank you for your preference!



Kind regards,
PopI Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed once again at Doryssa Seaside in Samos, Phthagorion this August. We selected a beach front village room. The location of those rooms are perfect with a grass area with pines just in front of them. Then there is the beach ahead. You can also perfectly stay away from music and fun at the pool side. Rooms and beach towels are clean. There is a rich breakfast buffet but unfortunately still the tastes are not one of a kind. The service staff is very helpful and friendly. Kids enjoyed the pool area. The snack menu is so so OK, more international type. I believe Doryssa is a very good hotel for fmailies, with excellent blue flag waters, as well as pool.

Room Tip: Beach front village rooms are perfect with their front area with pines, then the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your nice post. We are happy to know that once more you enjoyed your vacation here in Doryssa! It is very important for us that every time you and your family have a nice stay and that you are pleased by our hospitality, services and by the beautiful location of Doryssa.
We are looking forward to seeing you again and offer you once more the pleasant and qualitative stay that you have used in Doryssa!

Best regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

we decide to spend 2 days with my husband and we strongly disappointed with the 5 star ?!? hotel . the only good is the service which was excellent.but as Greek travellers we feel very strange because the hotel was occupied 100% by Scandinavian groups with family-all inclusive meals.our mini bar was empty,not even a bottle of water.in the breakfast was extra payment for a glass of fresh orange juice which is strongly rare in a 5 star ?! hotel. also as the hotel policy prohibits dogs, a managers friend have a dog in her hug in the common area!! we pay 220e per night with a lot of noise from airplanes.this hotel is a 3 star family and not 5 star for couples!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your feedback. It is important for us to know your opinion regarding your stay here.
First of all, we are happily informed that you appreciated the service provided by our staff, since every employee tries his best to reassure our guests' satisfaction.
As far as our guests are concerned, the majority of them are scandinavian families, but certainly not 100%.As a matter of fact, there is a quite large variety that includes Italian, English, Dutch, German people etc. due to the fact that our principal is not to separate our guests.In addition to this, there are also many Greeks.Most of them also, are repetitive guests, who visit Doryssa regularly due to the fact that they always enjoy our hospitality and services.
Regarding the mini bar,it is not mentioned in our official website. The hotel's policy is to be provided upon request, due to children's security reasons. So, of course it is available, under the condition that it is asked for.
Concerning the fresh juice at breakfast, since we provide orange (and not only) juice to our guests, there is an extra charge if someone would like to have a fresh one.
Finally, our policy regarding pets is that they are not allowed for security and health reasons. This is very strict for the rooms in the main building which have carpet. We may accept small dogs in the village rooms, but only under the condition that he stays at the village part and that his pet is under his responsibility and surveillance.
The proximity to the airport is not regarded as a major problem for our guests, on the contrary, rather convenient for them, since all the flights take place on daytime, and they do not excced 12 per day.
Nevertheless, we are taking your remarks under serious consideration, so we can improve ourselves even more.Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel consists of the village part and the main building facing the constantly overcrowded with children pool. Well, 220 euros for a basic, extremely hot ( AC doesnt do much and only works with every window closed) village room with no view in a noisy location because of the proximity to the airport, is outrageously expensive. I have to say that there are better choices on the island. The hotel mostly caters for tour groups on full-board plan mainly from Scandinavian countries and less for the independent traveller whatever that means for the quality of service and the personnel attitude. The beach in front of the hotel is long and sandy and it looks like a lot more others on the island, i.e. nothing special. And, as if the amount of 220 euros per night B&B was not enough, we had to pay extra 3 euros for each sunbed. Never heard of a similar policy in another resort hotel in the world. The Asterias bar restaurant on the beach is a place to avoid since it is quite expensive with a Greek salad costing 7.5 euros! At a local taverna you can get two with that money!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pretaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Sir/madame,
Thank you for your feedback. It is always important for us to know our guests' opinion about their stay in our resort.
The rooms of Doryssa Seaside Resort are located, as you already mentioned, at the village and the main building area. The fact is that only some of them are sea and pool view, the rest of them offer a view to our gardens. As for the pool, it is true that everybody, during their vacation, want to spend a lot of time enjoying it.,especially children. This is the reson why we are already planning to build another pool in a different area, so that everyone can relax and have a good time there.
Regarding the air conditioning, our guests are quite satisfied by the coolness that the system provides in the room, and, of course, in order to operate the doors and windows have to be closed due to energy loss and economy reasons, as per our environment policy.
As far as your impression that the hotel caters mostly for tour groups is concerned, it is important to say that our hotel's policy is not to separate our guests. For us, it does not matter the nationality, or whether they are on All inclusive or Bed and Breakfast basis. Moreover, apart from the tour groups, we have also many individual clients, the majority of whom are actually repetitive guests that appreciate the friendly and personal character of the resort.
The proximity to the airport it is not considered to be a problem, since all the flights (maximum 10 per day), take place during the day so it is not annoying for the guests, but rather convenient.
Regarding the sunbeds, they come for all our guests with a cost of 3 euro for the whole day due to the fact that the beach is not private, but being leased and also due to the service that we provide at the beach (towels, service buttons etc).
Our A la Carte restaurant "Tavern by the sea", as also as all our departments offer quite affordable prices in comparison with other 5-star resorts in the world.
Finally, cocerning the room rate, first of all, this depends on the room type and the season of course, and secondly, it is certain that it takes a great effort to maintain the standards of a 5-star resort high and offer not only a pleasant but also qualitative stay.
Nevertheless, we can reassure that we will take your comments under serious consideration, so that we can improve ourselves even more.Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Kind regards,
Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I just come back from Samos and the extremely beautiful Doryssa Seaside Resort. It was one of my best stay on a seaside resort!!! First of all a few words about Samos, is a very interesting island with lovely villages and landscapes, I suggest to rent a car for a few days to discover this “green” island. The village of Pythagorion is located 10-15 minutes on foot from Doryssa. In Pythagorion, very nice village, you will find a lot of restaurants, bar, shops, rent a car, etc. First maybe some small few disappointment: the Doryssa is rated as a five stars hotel, ok is a very good hotel but overall I will rate it as 4 stars. Another negative point, it was not my case but I think is important to be aware of this, the hotel is very close to the airport of Samos. So when you are on your beach chair you will see planes very close (and obviously hear the noise). But please don’t be afraid of this: there are no flights in the night and the late evening and the first flight leaves at around 7 am. Also consider that Samos is not like Heathrow or Charles de Gaulle airports (maximum take-offs seen in one day was 7 or 8…) for the volume of air traffic!! So please don’t be afraid of the airport.
The Doryssa is composed of one part that is built like a typical Greek village with a church, square, etc (EXTREMLY NICE!) and one main building that is the hotel. I booked a room in the Greek village and it was absolutely a great choice, in plus the hotel upgraded us in a room on the seaside, really appreciated. The room had the furniture in typical Greek style: I have nothing to complaint about the room, everything was fine: the furniture, the cleaning, the bathroom (in marble with a shower!), etc. I was very satisfied about the room but maybe it look more like a 4 stars hotel and not 5 stars. Many of the guests, the clients came mainly from Scandinavia, had the all inclusive option. I had the half board and the food was fine for both breakfast and dinner, one night a week the hotel organize a typical Greek evening (in the main square of the village) with entertainment for a small fee of EUR 15. I strongly recommend this evening. The beach is absolutely well kept and extremely cleaned, there are free towels (no towels card or deposit required). I think that the All inclusive guest didn’t pay the beach chairs, as I had half board I had to pay but it was a small fee of EUR 3 each. The staff of the hotel is extremely friendly: waiters, guest relations, reception, etc. I thinks that the big plus of the hotel are: architecture (the Greek village is amazing), the beach and the staff. Maybe not next year but sure in 5-6 years I will come back to the Doryssa to enjoy a week on the seaside. Strongly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Book a room in the village instead of the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Sir/madame,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Doryssa and that you also appreciated the beauty of Samos!
As you mentioned correctly, the proximity to the airport is not a problem since not too many flights take place, and all of them during the day.
It is a pleasure for us to be informed that you loved not only the architcture and ambience of Doryssa but also the service provided.
Regarding the sunbeds, there is a charge for all our guests, All Inclusive and non All Inclusive, since our policy is not to separate our guests.
We would like to thank you once more for your preference, and we are looking forward to seeing you again here soon!We wish you all the best!

Popi Zafeiri
Guest Relation Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.1 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#12 of 37 in Pythagorion
132 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#5 of 37 in Pythagorion
135 reviews
6.8 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range: $132 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing