We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....We love Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful....We love Greece”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Wonderful people. Lovely beach. Very clean water. Wonderful beach (no sand but little stones - much better than sand sticking all over your body). Very friendly staff and lovely place. No fake luxury, well intergrated into the nature. Very clean and people who have built the tradiotional Greek village knew what they were doing.
Room cleaning could be better and the rooms could need renovation soon, but these are minor things. There are planes flying over the resort like 4-5 times a day but it did not bother us.
We will surely be back. Thanks as well to the friendly girls at the reception.

I hope this hotel will be kept in good hands as it really is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIZY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear BIZY B,

Thank you for visiting Doryssa Seaside Resort and for posting your review to trip advisor.
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Maintenance works have already started at the village and the next summer the whole area will be revived.

We hope we have the chance to welcoming you to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Alain Galanos
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    223
    82
    31
    15
See reviews for
210
250
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great hotel with all the necessary amenities for a beach holiday. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out very efficient and you don't even need to show your credit card when checking in!!! Room a little small, but modern. Make sure you ask for a room with seaview either on the second or on the third floor. From here you enjoy a beautiful view onto the blue aegaeis. Breakfast buffet style is very good. Beach chairs cost 3 Euros a person a day and are comfortable - you can choose between the pebble beach or under the trees on the grass. The walk to nearby Phytagorion takes about 10-15 min. If the taxis are not on strike, a ride costs you 4 or 5 Euros (no meters!). In Phytagorion you find plenty of tavernas and bars.
The nearby Airport did not bother us at all - there are no more than about 6-8 planes a day!
If you decide to hire a car it is cheaper to hire one from Phytagorion rather than from the hotel (Alamo/National branch in the hotel). We hired a Jeep at SIXT in Phytagorion and paid 120 Euros for 2 days where in the Hotel they wanted 150 Euros!!! Again no credit card required for the rental car!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waltons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Waltons2010,

Thank you for choosing Doryssa Seaside Resort for your recent stay in Samos and for sharing your opinion with other people.

We are glad to receive your positive comments for the hotel rooms, the facilities, the beach, the food and our staff that reward our efforts.
We could suggest our spacious junior suites if you wish to return to Doryssa, since apart from their larger size, they have an even breathtaking view to the sea.

We wish you a nice winter and we hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alain Galanos,
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have recently stayed at this on this seaside Resort for a one week family holiday with our four years old son. It was a very relaxing week and in general we loved our stay in this hotel. It is really a very nice place to relax with a gorgeous and very clean beach. The hotel complex is very nice, spotless and clean, with a very interesting architecture. Especially the idea of the small village with different old fashioned buildings is amazing.

The location is perfect only 3 km from Pythagoreion. The beach is beautiful, long and safe for the little children and with very clean water. However, despite there are many umbrellas and sun beds it is really very difficult to get one (especially in the noon)since many customers get up very early in the morning and purchased the sun bed with their beach-towels for all the day. In addition it is really disappointing to be a customer and you have to pay 3€/day for a sun bed!! The pool area was pleasant and clean and really relaxing (the pool loungers was for free).

Our (garden view) room in village was nice and comfortable. However it was under equipped covering only the basic standards and for sure it was not the average for a 5 stars resort.
The breakfast and dinner buffet was really outstanding. Food was varied, tasty and plentiful. Desserts were the highlight, particularly the many cakes, traditional sweets and ice creams.

The staff in the front desk was really very polite and helpful. On the other the staff working in the restaurants was not particularly friendly and it looked like to be rather tired to serve you.
Overall we had lovely holidays but the truth is that everything at the hotel was a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Ckart,

Thank you for your recent stay in Doryssa Seaside Resort and for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday with us, the hotel facilities, the location, the cleaningless and the food. The hotel management is already informed about your comments concerning the restaurant staff and the beach and we will work hard during the winter on all the improvements that have to be made as our genuine aim is the maximum guest satisfaction.
As long as the beverage prices concerns, we would like to inform you that remain unchanged or reduced the last 3 years and are below the average prices of other 5 star hotels in Greece.

We hope to see you again in Doryssa Seaside Resort.

Warm regards,

Alain Galanos,
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Looked forward to a really relaxing stay with lots of sleep in a beautiful hotel but Doryssa didn't deliver those five stars. We got a room with a view of a corner full of rubbish (boxes) spread over the ground, which wasn't a disaster though. We didn't spend much time in the room apart from for sleeping. However, the second night when we were heading to bed the wall right next to the bed was full of insects crawling all over it, not the kind with wings you could get to fly out. Didn't feel comfortable going to bed so called the reception. They sprayed the wall with insect spray and we couldn't be in the room for half an hour. This was the middle of the night.

Next night we woke up by a leak. All night it was dripping, nearly pouring from several parts of the ceiling. Apparently an air conditioning malfunction. Impossible to sleep, the water was really loud. Couldn't change rooms at night.

Morning comes and they send handymen to repair and refuse to give us a new room, shouldn't this have been offered without asking? Of our week there two nights were without sleep. We got the response that they had fixed the problem, however, the carpet was soaking wet since we didn't get enough buckets for all the leaks and we were sleep deprived and miserable. Just wanted to go home.

Had we not gone through our travel agent they would've done absolutely nothing. Thanks to our travel agent we were eventually allowed to change to a lovely room where we could finally sleep. Shocked about the hotel's attitude towards its customers though. If you get a nice and well functioning room I'm sure you'll have a nice time, if something happens though I'm afraid you will be met by a complete lack of understanding and willingness to make your week at Doryssa memorable in a nice way. Very disappointing. The rest of the week was actually lovely but it's hard to forget the lack of service.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear JM,

We would like to thank you for choosing Doryssa Seaside Resort for your holidays, and we are truly sorry for the problems you experienced during your first two nights.
We know very well how important your holidays are, and we take great pride in providing a pleasant stay for all our guests.

Although we aknowledge the problems described, and with all due respect, we have given immediate and great attention to the problems, from me personally, to our head of maintenance and our General Manager.
Our technical department’s response was instant, as you also describe in your review, and the problem was fixed.
Routine maintenance problems may occur at some point.

We have certainly never refused to change your room as you mentioned, the only reason for the delay, was the fact that our resort was absolutely 100% fully booked during those 2 days.This was clearly communicated to you.

The very first day we could, we offered you a room change to an indeed beautiful view room, which shows how seriously we take the comfort and satisfaction of our guests.

Taking all of the above in to consideration, we would like to reassure you that the actions taken were the fastest possible and would be the same with or without the interference of your travel agency.

We would like to apologize once again for the inconvenience caused. We do hope to welcome you to our resort again in the future, in order to prove our genuine service oriented approach.

Kind regards,

Alain Galanos
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Clean, fresh, and very friendly, beautiful breaksfast and dinner, The only thing that i hated, that it was impossible to get a sunbed because people would get up very early in the morning and purchased the sunbed for the day and not even use it all day!!! So annoying, something should be done about this. Apart from that, very happy and the best you can get in Samos, trust me!

Room Tip: I would recommend sea view, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Marie P,

Thank you for choosing twice Doryssa Seaside Resort for your stay in Samos and for sharing your experience with other people.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services. Thank you for recommending Doryssa to the trip advisor readers.

We will take your comment about the beach in to serious considertion as your feedback is really important to us.

We hope to see you again for a third time!

Best regards,

Alain Galanos
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

It started rather badly, as the room they gave me was completely irrelevant to what I had booked. And I got really mad but they managed to find a solution and convinced me to stay there. And I don't regret it
It is a very nice hotel with a gorgeous beach (although beach service is not so efficient). The staff is very polite and helpful, prices are OK and the lake with the ducks is really a hit.
It is very close to Pythagoreion, but there are also things happenning in the hotel.
A nice place to stay after all

Room Tip: Keep in mind that rooms might be very small and under equiped (the 3 stars standards). Check before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manitougreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear manitougreece,

Thank you very much for staying in Doryssa Deaside Resort and for posting your review.

We are really delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel facilities, the beach and the service of our staff.

It is very important to us to keep our guests satisfied.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Alain Galanos
Rooms Division Mnager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent here the day before the fly back to Italy, we choose this hotel because it's very close to the airport. Staff at the reception was nice. The room in the main building was clean and modern, but too small (fortunately we spent only one night...), and with an awful view.
The beach is very long and nice with many umbrellas and sunbeds (price 3€/day), but many customers used to "book" the sunbeds with their beach-towels/books/everything from day to day, so it's quite impossible to stay in the first lines.
Breakfast was good.
In summary was not bad but too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Save1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doryssa, Front Office Manager at Doryssa Seaside Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Save1978,

Thank you for choosing Doryssa Seaside Resort for your 1-night stay in Pythagorion.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our reception services, the breakfast, the design of the hotel and the cleanliness. We are sorry though to hear that the room size did't meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that the hotel has various room types which are much more spacious with great views.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the future for more days so you can enjoy all the hotel facilities provided to our guests in order to change your impression about the value of the resort.

Best regards,

Alain Galanos
Rooms Division Manager
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.1 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hydrele Beach Hotel & Village
0.1 mi away
Kouros Bay Hotel
Kouros Bay Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pythagorion
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryssa Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryssa Seaside Resort

Property: Doryssa Seaside Resort
Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Doryssa Seaside Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doryssa Seaside Resort is situated in the southern part of Samos, next to the historical and most popular destination of Pythagorion. After a full renovation finished in 2006, combined with completely new upgraded services, it has become a 5 star destination. Lovely areas stylish and tasteful. Doryssa village constructions recreate a traditonal Samos village. Doryssa village and the main hotel structure are situated by the seaside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doryssa Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryssa Seaside Hotel Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Pythagorion
Doryssa Seaside Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing