We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated, peaceful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fito Aqua Bleu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well situated, peaceful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Fito Bay is set in a pretty location, 2 kilometers from the airport, about a minute from the sea and 20 mins from Pythogorio town and harbour. The use of bungalows spread out around the hotel pool (rather than having a room in a big block) is a charming touch and adds to the flavour - ours faced the pool and the sea, so sitting on the balcony to read or relax was really nice, particularly as there are plenty of beutiful shrubs to aid privacy. Our bungalow was beautifully cleaned and well-presented every day by the cleaners - who always left us a sweet on top of a creatively folded fesh hand-towel.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite an experience - and everything was available, from hot eggs and bacon, cold meat and cheese platters, cereals, fresh fruits, juices, a variety of breads and pastries, spreads and jams - and our favourite, the Greek yoghurt and local honey . . . also great coffee! We ate at the hotel restaurant a few evenings, which was not expensive, the portions were generous and the staff were lovely - seriously good prawns (they called them shrimp on the menu) and kebab lamb burgers that were simply beautiful.

Due to delayed flight my partner and I missed our first day at Fito Bay - but I was still surprised to be told we would not be charged for the night we were not there. What a kind touch!

Okay, the only cons I can think of are:

1) The close proximity of the airport - and yes, planes do fly directly overhead, rather deafeningly! However there are only about four or five planes flying out each day, so it is a rare occurance and the peace is shattered for moments only.

2) Sadly, with Greece's financial situation the Tourist Information place in town is closed indefinitely. But there is no information about trips, attractions, events etc kept at the hotel, which might be a problem if you have no idea what to see/do.

3) Beautiful as the place is, and although (I think) every bungalow has a balcony that tends to be shady, there is relatively little shade around the hotel pool and grounds - the odd bench and tree (as they have outside reception) or umberellas with seating would be useful.

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind what your bungalow faces you might want to ask for a sea view or a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    63
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
191
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My fiancée and I returned on the 17/07 after a weeks holiday booked with Thomson.
At Gatwick we were charged £12.00 per kilo that we were over weight. We were over, not by much so bare this in mind when you go.

We were greeted with a drink at reception like most people have said and then shown to our room by Tomas who always had a smile on his face. The room was small but was very clean and had adequate storage space for your things. I would recommend bringing a few hangers if you both like to hang a lot of things up. The bathroom was small but again was spotless. If you don't want to get the bathroom floor covered in water while you shower, don't have it on full power and make sure you keep the keep bottom of the curtain within the shower, as the water then runs down the curtain the bottom sticks to the sides, preventing a lot of the water ending up on the floor.
Bathrobes and slippers were provided which was a nice touch.

We had paid for a sea view which was well worth the extra charge. It was nice it come back and sit on the balcony and have a cool drink while looking at to sea.

Breakfast in the morning was absolutely lovely if you like your fresh fruit, plenty to choose from.
Rebecca who was our Thomson rep was very informative and gave us a lot of local information.

The pool area was nice but very hot. We spent most days at the beach but did manage to get one of the double beds by the pool which was a shock as these tend to go very early in the morning!
The beach was nicer for us a there was more going on and more importantly it was cooler :)
There is a charge for the beds on the beach of €2.50 per bed.

We got a car out for two days which I think is more than enough unless you want to drive into town every evening. One of our favourite places was Kokkari. Had a lovely lunch in the harbour.
We also went to Manolates, Kalovassi, mytilini, Marathokambos and Potami to see the waterfalls All are worth a visit.

We were bed and breakfast, so in the evenings we would walk down Main Street which takes you into Pythagorian. Our first two nights we ate at different places until we found our favourite restaurant Appollonia. We ate there for the next five nights. Superb!

All and all we had a brilliant time in Samos and would return again and stay at Fito Bay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THEREDMAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

PROS: pretty seaside location with small town a 20 min walk. Warm greeting on arrival with cold drinks & on departure after 4 night stay similar hospitality; an excellent breakfast on a pretty terrace with attentive service (head waiter was great); outdoor pool (a bit cool in late May) plus right on a lovely beach with pebbles (not too hard on feet) but needed beach shoes for longer walk; nice walk along beach to see ancient castle up on hill; white linen & gowns; rooms with good balcony...most with pool/sea view; tea/coffee in room; late checkout offered; staff helpful/attentive; lovely bar/cafe/restaurant - had dinner 1 wet night (too windy to walk to town)...food was quite good (home style Greek) & well priced; a pretty Mediterranean garden which is beautifully maintained (see photos); walking distance to many archeological sites - "the castle" well worth a visit (great views/interesting info etc) as next to the little town & free! Plenty of cafes etc for coffee/lunch after too.

CONS: Free wi-fi but drops in/out-mostly out!...think this might be common around Samos? Our room was above reception so we tried lobby - no better...we got emails but gave up on Net as too slow - annoying as we would have brought travel guidebooks if we knew in advance; shower took a long time to become just warm - unpleasant especially 1 cold/wet day; 20 min walk to small town/marina/restaurants - v nice walk in the evening but if you have mobility issues take a walking pole & torch for return trip as the path is uneven - my pole saved me 1 night!; the rooms are nice as noted in Pros but basic eg small double bed - ok for us but if you're a large build might be tight!

So, we would recommend Fito but if any of the above might bother you, perhaps ask a few questions beforehand eg wi-fi/hot water/size of bed might be better in different rooms?? As other reviews have indicated the planes occasionally fly right overhead & they're noisy - that didn't bother me and in fact my aeronautically inclined husband loved it! We even walked down to the runway to get a better view - lots of people down there taking photos too:)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My Wife and I chose this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis for our holiday in Samos as we were looking for a place in Pythagorion. The reviews on Tripadvisor (and other websites) were complimentary and therefore felt confident we would have a pleasant stay. The hotel is based in Potokaki which is 1km from the Airport and and about half that distance to Pytagorion town. There is a bus which stops just outside Doryssa resort which can take you to Vathi (Samos' capital) via pythagorion. The staff will provide a timetable for the buses if necessary.

We were greeted on our first day by Daniel who was very pleasant and informative about the hotel and surrounding amenities and treated us to a complimentary drink whilst our check in was taken care of. We were then led to our room.

The room itself was a good size with a decent sized bathroom. The room has two charging points a TV (only Greek channels and BBC World News) and suitable storage space for clothing. There was a lockable code safe in the room as well as a fridge which was capable of freezing. Wi-Fi was provided, however, we experienced difficulty throughout our stay on many occasions trying to connect despite the signal showing as good/excellent.

The pool area was nice with several sun loungers and bed type loungers and the hotel led almost directly onto the beach. The restaurant for the hotel called Almira provided breakfast, lunch an dinner and also served a wide variety of beers, cocktails and spirits from 10:30am - 11pm.

The breakfast was a continental buffet and also some local produce including Greek donuts and halva and was very nice. The staff were friendly, pleasant and efficient throughout our stay. There is also a games room with a pool table.

As noted above we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and I would advise that fellow travellers do the same. The restaurant, whilst serving decent food, simply did not warrant the additional €25 euro per person per day cost to include. There are many nice restaurants not far from the hotel and we found this option to be preferable.

We enjoyed our stay here at Fito Bay. The rooms were very pleasant, the staff were superb and the pool and beach areas were very nice also.

I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Pythagorion and would happily return in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned after staying here for one week. The transfer from the airport takes just a few minutes. We were welcomed to Fito Bay with a cold drink while we checked in, and then shown to our room by very helpful staff. Our room was one of the bungalows, very peaceful, and spotlessly clean. These rooms are of a higher standard than you would normally expect in Greece, and were cleaned daily.
Fito Bay is in a great location, about 15-20mins walk into Pythagorion, which has many excellent tavernas and bars set around a beautiful harbour. The hotel is quite near the airport runway, but we did not find the noise from the planes a problem.
We found everything about our holiday here to be excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in Fito Bay for two weeks from 19/6/14. The rooms are set in lovely gardens and are very peaceful, lovely big swimming pool but not much shade could do with some more umbrellas.
All the staff were excellent, reception staff, breakfast staff,....restaurant staff,.beach café and the guy doing the sunbeds which were chargeable although it did seem some people were not charged maybe different countries had paid for different packages. The breakfast was excellent so was the food served in the restaurant. Check in was very efficient our passports were collected and while they were being checked we were served cold drinks then our luggage and us were taken to our rooms and collected on the morning of departure. We had a couple of problems with our room I don't think it was one of the best rooms there but adequate and the problems we had were sorted immediately (Thank you) We went half board and the food in the evening was good and so was the service and the view across the bay. The only thing that spoilt it for me was the beach it wasn't just pebbles it was very stony.... although the sea was lovely it was so clear.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This first thing that hit me was the cleanliness of this lovely hotel with bungalows. Don't think I have ever stayed anywhere where the staff are quite so accommodating and friendly. We had the half board option. The breakfast was buffet style was nice and adequate. The evening meal was served in the outdoor bar area, there were four courses and a choice of two mains, overall the food was good. It is about a 15 minute walk to the lovely buzzy harbour. It is near the airport but I didn't find the planes irritating as there were not loads of them so most people watched them. We used the sun beds on the beach at the five star hotel just down the beach, as the cushions are lovely and thick. Think it was 2 euros per day for a sun bed there, and of course they are free at Fito Hotel. I would def go again, was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.1 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.4 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#7 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
14.9 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 9 in Karlovasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Naftilos
Hotel Naftilos
#6 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fito Aqua Bleu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fito Aqua Bleu Resort

Property: Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Address: | Pythagorion Beach, Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fito Aqua Bleu Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Fito Aqua Bleu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing