We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anthis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anthis Studios
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Previous reviews are generally very good and I would agree with most but there are some minor items that could be better, but hey, this is Greece and much of it's charm is the laid back attitude.
Location - 5 minute transfer so no wasted time, apartments are next to the main road out of town, which means there is a 15 minute walk to a beach or 25minute walk into Pythagorian. Local beach is good and aeroplanes skimming your head add a futher dimension - but there are very few. We hired a car for 5 days out of our two weeks (Dino's across the road) so got around the island, beaches to the north are much better and mountain villages interesting. Pythagorian harbourside restaurants are good, particularly Four Seasons, (who take credit cards unlike most), competing music systems in this area were a bit of an anoyance, those around the corner where you can eat on the beach were better. Trips to Turkey and Samiopoula were very enjoyable.
Accommodation - studio was large enough and to a good Greek standard, upper rooms away from road are preferable. Generally clean but bins (including wc bin) could do with more frequent changing. There was a bit of a drain smell in the corridor first thing in the mornings. Swim pool and bar very good and owners friendly and accommodating. Plenty of loungers available either in or out of the sun. The pool music was a a bit loud and monotonous one afternoon, but I am sure we could have asked for a change.

Room Tip: Rooms above ground floor and to the sides/rear are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    30
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laindon essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have put off writing this review for the wonderful Anthis Studios and Appartments in Samos for a couple of months as I wanted to make sure there was always room for us !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We went back to the Anthis this year again in May it was just as wonderful if not more so than the last time. We never go back to the same place twice but we just could not resist returning to the Anthis !!.

Our welcome from Costas, Mennny ,Anthony and Mama was just as warm and as usual they could not do enough for you.

They make everyone feel so welcome and they work so hard to ensure that you have a most wonderful relaxing enjoyable holiday and you can not fail to be charmed by them and the atmosphere that they create.

The rooms are cleaned regularly everything is spotless and we feel its a real home from home. Every year during the winter they work on the rooms and always improve them which shows their dedication for what they do.

We had wonderful evenings in the bar with Costas and Menny and the great people we met there.We also had a wonderful evening with Costas and Menny at the Rooster restaurant and I would like to thank them for a wonderful evening and an absolutely fantastic holiday. Also thanks to Anthony for holding the fort the night we went to the Rooster.

Tony and Tracey and Neil and Carol were great company also and Tracey and Tony are also regular visitors to the Anthis.

If anyone deserves all the great reviews it is definitely Costas, Menny Anthony and Mama they are wonderful people who have a real passion for what they do and it really shows for a great holiday in Greece you really can not beat the Anthis!!!!!

We consider Costas , Menny, Anthony and Mama as wonderful friends and we will definitely return.

Thank you so much

Deb and Dave

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just come back from another fantastic 2 week holiday at the Anthis Studios Samos. We always stay at the Anthis when we visit Samos and as other reviews have said the family (Kostas, Meni, Antonis, Mamma, Anthola, Leuteris) can not do enough for you to make sure your stay/holiday is enjoyable. As we arrived at the Anthis we were greeted by Kostas who showed us to our rooms which were on the ground floor. The room (room 13) was typical/basic Greek but just what you need on your holiday twin beds as me and my friend were sharing, walk in shower, kitchen area (although we didn’t use it) and good sized balcony. The rooms were cleaned every other day and fresh bedding and towels every 3rd day. The pool bar is well stocked and no meal is too much for Kostas and Antonis to make for you at any time. The pool is well kept so is always clean no matter what time of day you want to use it. The main town Pythagorio which is about 30 minute walk from the Anthis but if you don’t fancy the walk Antonis or Kostas will happily ring you a taxi with is 6.00 euro. Pythagorio has many taverns/restaurants along the harbour where you can grab a light snack or your evening meal, I would recommend the Four Seasons and Aphrodite Gardens for meals that are well worth your money and if you like a drink then the Beyond does some fantastic cocktails for around 7.00 euro. If you don’t fancy going to town for your meal me and my family would definitely and highly recommend the BBQ that Kostas, Meni and Antonis put on every Sunday night. The BBQ is 12.00 euro each you get more than enough of Meni’s gorgeous cooking for your money. Also one Sunday night Kostas put on a pool party which once again you could sample Meni’s cooking. The entertainment around the bar on a night was great from the BBQ’s , pool parties to Leuteris magic card tricks which were amazing (still trying to work out how he did it). These nights were made extra fun thanks to the fantastic people we met while staying there (Danielle, Jackie & Barry, Tim & family, Dennis & Family, Sarah & Hendrick and Sue & Rob). We hired a jeep from the Evelin which is 5 minutes from Anthis for the day the jeep cost around 60.00 euro. With the jeep we explored more of Samos by visiting beautiful places such as Kokkari. All in all a great 2 weeks spent in Samos yet again, would recommend the Anthis Studios to anyone and everyone we enjoyed it some much we are looking to book again as I have been told to save my pennies and go back next year. A massive thank you to Kostas Meni, Antonis Mamma, Anthola and Leuteris for making my holiday so enjoyable can’t wait to see you all again very soon Love Gemma & Family xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma-Marie_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Anthis Studios. As other reviewers have said, this is not the place to go if you are after 5* luxury. It is also not a place to stay if you don't like / are allergic to cats! But it is a friendly relaxing place which gets you close to the people of the island. Costas and his family are lovely people who want their guests to have a good time. Nothing is too much trouble - we were catching an early ferry to Patmos and wanted to get a taxi to Pythagorion. Costas wouldn't hear of booking us a cab, but took us himself and would not take any money for his petrol.
The poolside bar has good value food if you don't want to walk to Chora or Pythagorion, or you can DIY in your small kitchen which makes for real flexibility.
Take good walking shoes for the hike into town. Not too far and all on the flat. And use the local buses to Samos and beyond - very cheap and efficient and more fun than coach tours. Going to Patmos by the Flying Dolphin is another good trip and easy to do.
This is certainly an island and a lodging place we would return to and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are better, but if you want a quiet night the rooms at the back aren't affected b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaletSchoolFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned today 8th aug 13 from a one week holiday, firstly the Anthis is the perfect base for your Samos holiday, apartments are basic but clean and comfy. Kostas and his family are wonderful people who can't do enough for you and make your holiday complete. Walked down to the harbour most days and has plenty of restaurant to choose from, didn't have one bad meal. The views where ever you went are amazing. We didn't hire a car but still plenty to do but next year will hire one to see more of this amazing place. Back to the Anthis you must try Kostas chips delicious he grows a lot of his own potatoes and much more, thanks to a friendly welcome and great company Samos was the best holiday we have had in years. Feel so relaxed from start to finish.

Room Tip: For great views ask for an upstairs apartment, for garden and nearer pool as for a ground floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you want 5 star luxury then don't go here. These are 2 star basic apartments typically Greek. However if you want to meet the most wonderful, helpful, kindest family in Samos then go here. Nothing is too much trouble and they made our holiday. Kostas, Meni and son Antonis don't stop in trying to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The food was excellent(must try the chips), the drinks were the cheapest we bought and his Sunday barbecue is great value. Kostas even made my wife 2 Aubergine dishes at no charge when he realised how much she loved them. Times are tough in Greece at the moment so please give this hard working family your custom if undecided - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I must agree with the comments that these apartments are basic, they could do with a little updating, but they are spotlessly clean and Kostas and his family really can't do enough for you.
The walk into Pythagorion was a bit of a drag, along a busy road, although you can book a taxi either way at 5 euros, I would recommend a car, as there is plenty to see in this beautiful island, and a fantastic sandy beach about 15km away.
Samos is indeed a very beautiful island, whilst it is these days, more expensive to holiday in Greece than its neighbour Turkey, in my opinion it is much nicer and well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.8 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#4 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#8 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Naftilos
Hotel Naftilos
#6 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.8 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Property: Anthis Studios
Address: | P.B 72, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anthis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing