We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Anthis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anthis Studios
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Anthis Studios. As other reviewers have said, this is not the place to go if you are after 5* luxury. It is also not a place to stay if you don't like / are allergic to cats! But it is a friendly relaxing place which gets you close to the people of the island. Costas and his family are lovely people who want their guests to have a good time. Nothing is too much trouble - we were catching an early ferry to Patmos and wanted to get a taxi to Pythagorion. Costas wouldn't hear of booking us a cab, but took us himself and would not take any money for his petrol.
The poolside bar has good value food if you don't want to walk to Chora or Pythagorion, or you can DIY in your small kitchen which makes for real flexibility.
Take good walking shoes for the hike into town. Not too far and all on the flat. And use the local buses to Samos and beyond - very cheap and efficient and more fun than coach tours. Going to Patmos by the Flying Dolphin is another good trip and easy to do.
This is certainly an island and a lodging place we would return to and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are better, but if you want a quiet night the rooms at the back aren't affected b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaletSchoolFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    34
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned today 8th aug 13 from a one week holiday, firstly the Anthis is the perfect base for your Samos holiday, apartments are basic but clean and comfy. Kostas and his family are wonderful people who can't do enough for you and make your holiday complete. Walked down to the harbour most days and has plenty of restaurant to choose from, didn't have one bad meal. The views where ever you went are amazing. We didn't hire a car but still plenty to do but next year will hire one to see more of this amazing place. Back to the Anthis you must try Kostas chips delicious he grows a lot of his own potatoes and much more, thanks to a friendly welcome and great company Samos was the best holiday we have had in years. Feel so relaxed from start to finish.

Room Tip: For great views ask for an upstairs apartment, for garden and nearer pool as for a ground floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you want 5 star luxury then don't go here. These are 2 star basic apartments typically Greek. However if you want to meet the most wonderful, helpful, kindest family in Samos then go here. Nothing is too much trouble and they made our holiday. Kostas, Meni and son Antonis don't stop in trying to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The food was excellent(must try the chips), the drinks were the cheapest we bought and his Sunday barbecue is great value. Kostas even made my wife 2 Aubergine dishes at no charge when he realised how much she loved them. Times are tough in Greece at the moment so please give this hard working family your custom if undecided - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I must agree with the comments that these apartments are basic, they could do with a little updating, but they are spotlessly clean and Kostas and his family really can't do enough for you.
The walk into Pythagorion was a bit of a drag, along a busy road, although you can book a taxi either way at 5 euros, I would recommend a car, as there is plenty to see in this beautiful island, and a fantastic sandy beach about 15km away.
Samos is indeed a very beautiful island, whilst it is these days, more expensive to holiday in Greece than its neighbour Turkey, in my opinion it is much nicer and well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a last minute booking and our first trip to the Greek Island so wasn't expecting too much. The transfer time of less than 10 minutes was perfect but don't let the location put you off as Samos isn't a busy airport.
Upon arrival we really couldn't have received a better welcome from the family. Kostas was running around like a headless chicken trying to get everyone settled. The apartments were basic but was very clean with bedding and towels changed regularly. As long as we had a fridge that is all that mattered as we didn’t intend to cook during our stay. After a quick unpack and change we were in the pool before the coach had even reached the other hotels. Anthis is set on the main road about 20 minutes outside of Pythagorio, a pleasant walk in our opinion but always caught a cab back after meal down in the harbour (5 Euro). It does help when there is a good crowd and we were certainly lucky on that score, Debbie, Charles, Sandra, Rob, Lisa, Rob, Mick, Lorraine. Debs, Pete, Richard and Sue thank you for making the holiday. The family could not have made you feel more welcome and couldn’t do enough during your stay. When was the last time you were cooked chips in any studio from their own garden? Best chips ever. On Sunday if enough people are interested Kostas will cook a BBQ which is well worth staying local for, far too much for us to eat though. The bar is run by Kostas, Meni and Adonis and the prices are cheaper than in town. It's your call if you want to keep yourself to yourself to socialise, nothing is forced upon you at the Anthis. The pool area like everywhere else was clean and tidy whilst the pool was refreshing when the sun became too much.
Sue and Rob (a young couple who have been going to Samos for years) were on an extended summer holiday, they would regularly pop into the Anthis and take other couples out to town or around the island showing them the sites. I think you have a business in the making there Rob.
All in all the Anthis, Pythagorio, and Samos more than exceeded our expectations but being selfish I don't want to give too much praise as its our little gem. One final mention to Meni who's voice I now have as a ring tone "Your Welcome" See you soon x

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, that overlooked the rear of the property. It has a fridge, two ring hob, kettle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival at the Anthis i must say we were immediately underwhelmed by the basic accomadation we received (ground floor looking out onto a garden area) the room itself was very very basic even by Greek standards
Never the less after a couple of days the place seemed to develop a certain charm to it and one which was thoroughly enjoyable
There are a few downsides to the apartments location (on a very fast road,30 mins walk to Pythagorio, supermarket nearby was very limited) but overall the enchanting Anthis overcomes all of this
Would we stay again probably not but thats more to do with our policy of exploring the globe than any fault of the Anthis

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redimp125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We made our holiday choice based on Trip Advisor reviews regarding the Anthis Studios. We were not dissapointed . The family were friendly,helpful and always cheerful. Kostas, Meni and Adonis were excellent hosts. The accomodation was typically Greek basic but comfortable and clean. Our balcony overlooked the mountains and the orange trees in the Hotel's gardens. The swimming pool and bar area were good places to chat to the family and meet the other guests. The weekly BBQ was a very sociable evening with delicious homemade food. The walk into the town was a great opportunity to appreciate the beautiful landscape and explore on foot. We regularly visited the beach located at Doryssa Bay and enjoyed swimming in the clear warm sea. We were blown away by Samos a real pearl in the Aegean, the holiday made perfect by the great hospitality at the Anthis. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
1.1 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#11 of 37 in Pythagorion
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
605 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samos Sun Hotel
Samos Sun Hotel
#8 of 37 in Pythagorion
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Property: Anthis Studios
Address: | P.b 72, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anthis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing