We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue & Ant Sept 2011”
Review of Anthis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anthis Studios
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sue & Ant Sept 2011”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at Anthis Studios for our second time (6th time to Samos), just gets better each year. Family very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Studios clean and comfortable. Although close to Airport and on a main road, this is not a problem. Location excellent for walking into town where there are a great choice of tavernas. Excellent homemade chips at pool bar.
Would recommend Samos and Anthis to anyone who wants a traditional Greek holiday. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
94
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

we stayed on samos for a week weather well into the mid 30s very good for september,stayed at the anthis studios costos and his family are lovely people very friendly and nothing was any trouble for them the rooms are very good,clean and had quite alot of space better then some that we have stayed in on other islands,they are quite a walk from pythagorion,there is a supermarket close by and a taverna.Costos will always make you some food and his chips are great.If we go back to samos we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mavis e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We love the Anthis in Samos while you are there you are family Costas and his family are so nice nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed with them almost every year for the last 11 years but we are not treated any diferently to new guests (or should I say they are treated the same as us) its a nice stroll to town or up to Hora moments from a supermarket . I wont say too much need to be able to go again myself don't want it too full for me .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Anthis studios are close to the airport in Samos, but you'll hardly hear any aircraft noise. A short walk into Hora, or a slightly longer walk into the beautiful harbour village of Pythagorion, and a ten minute walk to Potokaki beach.

No one deserves success more than Costas and Mene, the owners of the Anthis Studios. The hotel is a converted factory which was previously run by the owners and has been converted into a variety of studios. The real heart of this place is the pool and bar. Costas grows his own vegetables and foods, and prepares the best breakfast in the area. Sunday night is barbecue night and for 12 Euros it is a feast, without the walk into town. Mene also prepares great local dishes and if you ask what she's making that day, she'll serve it in the evening to anyone interested. Great prices, the friendliest service and their enthusiasm is contagious. Nearly all of the guests are repeat visitors, which is the best recommendation you could get. People who can't get a room at the Anthis from the tour operators allocation also walk over to the Anthis pool bar to pass the evening. That doesn't make it disruptive, it's just great to have somewhere to relax until turning in.

Rooms are varied and Costas and Mene work hard to improve year on year. We took a room on the ground floor at the back which served us fine... the gardens with the masses of fruit and a step out to the pool bar. The room was clean, comfortable and cleaned more often than any of the local studios.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BrightonJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent 2 weeks here and have had a lovely time. It is VERY basic, very Greek (that's no bad thing) and very laid back. The family all pitch in and help and at times, due to the number of repeat visitors, we did feel a little like we had stumbled into a private house party but that is just confirmation of the good service people receive. There are a few niggles, rooms could have been cleaned a little more often, a few times we had to go and ask for extra toilet roll because the cleaner knowing she wouldnt be back in our room for a couple of days didnt leave enough but once we relaxed into it and got used to the laid back home from home attitiude it didn't bother us.
I could dwell on the niggles more but actually I really want this hotel to do well, and the niggles are not a big deal if you book with your eyes open and know what you are getting when you go budget in Greece.
Even in August the pool was plenty big enough and there was enough sun beds, the bar is cheap and the food is basic and limited but nice, 25 mins flat walk into town, the shortest airport transfer in the world but noise from airport not an issue, some road noise- on the main road into town but again, not a massive deal. We had a room at the back with amazing views of Hora and the mountains and got the lovely evening sun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rboo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our third visit to Anthis, but first since collapse of Kosmar a few years ago. Anthis was hit hard, as a small family owned business can't easy survive not being paid for a whole summer season, but Kostas and family have fought back hard to bring back visitors, many of whom are regulars. The location is about 25 minutes walk from Pythagorion or 15 from Chora. Rooms are basic but clean, very Greek with the odd missing light bulb or faulty bathroom lock but comfortable - especially if you pay to add air conditioning. Good snacks from the pool bar, clean swimming pool water, service second to none. Some road noise and limited parking space if you've hired a car. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonnaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week holiday in Pythagoria ( ages 50+, 23, 22 and 19).
Our stay at the Anthis was absolutely perfect. We were met by Costa and his wonderful family and had our luggage taken to our rooms. The rooms were spotless and had eveything we needed. If there was anything we wanted like an extra towel or glass, all we needed was to ask Costa and he would get it immediately. There were plenty of plates, knives forks etc and cooking facilities for us to self cater but the food at the poolside bar was excellent for during the day and the prices were very good so we chose to have breakfast/lunch there.
Costa's son Adonis helps during the day and he also made sure we were well looked after. Costa's wife Meni also helps but she is not there all day as she has another job. She has a fantastic sense of humour and her smile and laugh are infectious.
As well as travelling around the island we spent many hours at the poolside and had great fun with Costa, Meni and Adonis; Costa and Adonis joined us in the pool and played pool volley ball....hilarious. We also had quiet times when we just relaxed and enjoyed the sun and the peace. The family's cat had recently had kittens and these were really cute. The cats and kittens are not allowed into the rooms but they can be seen near the pool area.
Costa's BBQ on the Sunday was excellent value and the food was really good.
There is fairly busy road by the apartments but this does not detract from the location and is not noisy at night (even with the windows open) and due to the many lemon and orange trees surrounding the property we were shielded from any noise in the day.
Pythagoria is a 25 min walk from the apartments and has many cafes and tavernas to enjoy. The harbour is pretty in both the day time and the night time when it is more lively.
If you are going to visit the island of Samos I would strongly recomend you stay at the Anthis it has everything you need and the friendship and kindness you will receive from Costa and Meni is something that will make your holiday that much more enjoyable.
We have stayed at the apartments before and the service was as always excellent and we are definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd & 3rd floor have best views. Roadside parking avaliable outside the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marie5819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
1.1 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
590 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samos Sun Hotel
Samos Sun Hotel
#8 of 37 in Pythagorion
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Property: Anthis Studios
Address: | P.B 72, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anthis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing