We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever.”
Review of Mouikis Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mouikis Village
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Reviewed February 10, 2011

First impressions was 'wow' and that was just when coming off the plane.A short journey to Mouikis Village, the views were fantastic. Met by lovely staff and nothing was to much bother,excellent in fact.I went with my two daughters in September 2011.Our room was clean and lovely. It was looked after splendidly by the staff.the pool ,well did not leave that very often.Everything was to hand,lazed by the pool .ate, drank idyllic. The manager and Giota were splendid hosts,we did not want for anything.We did venture into Agostoli many times,loved it.Of course you can not go to Kefalonia without seeing the most photographed beach in the world MERYTOS breathtaking.Take a trip into Lassi on the morning minibus,and have a wonderful time on the beaches there.Mouikis might be a little bit out of the way,but for a quiet and peaceful break this is the place.We are going back hopefully May2011and September 2011 Yippee.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank womenallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

We spent two weeks at the Mouikis travelling with Thomas Cook. Its situation is amazing - on a ridge overlooking the sea with 180 degree views, icnluding of the airport - not at all a problem due to the infrequency of the flights, and really good fun watching planes land and take off. The pool area is the best thing about the hotel - large, spotless and well maintained. The bar serves good value snack food and the staff are friendly. The children also enjoyed the free itnernet access. We had one of the one-bed apartments which sadly didn't have a sea view, and the road immediately behing made sitting on the provate terrace less than ideal. Our only quibble was that the airconditioning wasn't strong enough to keep the gallery bedroom cool, so sleeping wasn't very comfortable. The room was basic, but fine. Car hire highly recommended to make the most of lovely Kefalonia but the shuttle bus to Lassi and Argostoli was fine if you only wanted to go out during the day. A good location for a family holiday, we thought, and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We loved it at Mouikis Village. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even when I broke things! We had a room under the pool area which was comfortable and clean. The cleaner we had was terrific and didn’t seem to stop working all day. It was fantastic to sit on the terrace and watch the sea and the planes.
The charge for the safe was 10 Euros for a week. I paid this to have peace of mind that our passports were secure. Breakfast can be bought on a pay as you wish basis of 5 Euros per person, but we didn’t ever use this (mostly up too early due to the excursions).
There are two computers that can be used for internet access in reception.
Lakithra is quite isolated, but that suited us. There is a 10-15 minute walk into the village for the mini market (not much in there, we did our main shop in Argostoli) and patisserie (I bought éclairs that must have been 1000 calories each!).
A word of warning – the two times we got the minibus it left early, so get up to the front of reception in plenty of time. The bus goes at 10.45 to the Mouikis Hotel in Argostoli, returning at 2. Some people wanted to go to Lassi, so were dropped off en route.
The only restaurant we went to in the village was Obelix – the food was great, they didn’t charge extra for the delicious bread and they even served us free watermelon at the end. We did have one locals’ party night which meant the bar music was belting out till past midnight. If we’d had more than the one it might have spoilt the experience – I mentioned this on the questionnaire I was given by the Village management.
All in all loved the Village and loved Kefalonia.
(NB If you click the Hotel Photos at the top of this, it brings you to completely different rooms in Lassi!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hi, just got back from Mouikis (our second time there - 1st being in 2006). Have to agree with previous comments. We had a studio underneath the pool area. The room was filthy and in disrepair. Beds awful, have spent 2 weeks with a bad back/hip. Bathroom is disgusting. Sink coming apart, cracked tiles, bodged up door frames and mould all over the shower cubicle. The other problem we encountered was the noise!! Apparently it is used quite a lot by locals etc for birthdays etc and when they pump up the volume at night no one sleeps. We had a small baby next door to us and it kept her awake all night, so along with the thumping bass there was a screaming child. Glad to be home. Love Kefalonia though, would still defo go back to the island

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lassie2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Fourth time we'd been to Kefalonia, lovely clean island compared to many greek locations.
When walking the distance between your plane and the terminal, look up the hill and slightly to the left and you'll be able to spot accom by the small blue church.
Before we left we read many reviews, most of which raved about the fabulous views. Unfortunately on arrival, our rooms were on the other side of the accom which is right next to a fast and noisy road. To try to take your attention away from this the hedges have been allowed to grow so tall that there is in fact no view of the valley below unless you stand on a chair. We also found road noise made it difficult for our 3yr old to sleep.
The bar and pool area were lovely, very well kept, though all drinks at the bar were rather expensive. As advised in other reviews, the locals are allowed to use the pool also so once school is out there were daily a couple of groups of 4-5 older children around the pool.
Our biggest issue with the accom was the fact that the pool area is used for funtions. In the week we were at the accom there were 3 christenings. Although we were never asked to leave the pool area, as soon as any family did leave, their beds and chairs were immediately taken away and more tables arranged for the later function. Most people found this made them uncomfortable and did leave sooner than they would have. The functions also made the bar extremely busy so we never attempted to use it for drinks or food on these days.
The accom is fairly decent compared to other Greek accom, and the cleaner was outstanding. Would not advise paying for use of the room safe, it's only really big enough for passports and a few documents, we couldnt fit anything larger. Mostly the reception staff were very helpful, offering to move our room to a seaview for the few nights they had one available.
The location is definately isolated, and i would advise hiring your own car from the airport as it will only take 5 mins, the tour agents transfers take at least an hour. The road is up a steep hill though, so 5 people in a small car was a struggle for the engine!
Would recommend doing all days out yourself, not with the travel company. You'll have far more time and there will be less crowds. The caves and melissani lake are well worth a visit, our 11 , 9 & 3 yr old loved both. Dont use the first cafe you see at melisanni lake, it's much more expensive than the second smaller cafe for the same items. Its worth taking your costume as the cafe at the lakes has a very nice pool, both times we've been there there was nobody using the pool at all.
St Georges castle is a must, but not suitable for any with walking difficulties. The last cafe just before the castle is fabulous, Greek owner who couldnt do enough, and his english wife produces fabulous deserts.
Things many miss.: Just a few minutes away from Lakithra are the mycenean tombs. The site is totally isolated and unmanned so you're free to wander around at your leisure. Also on the other side of the Arogstoli bridge is the British Cemetry, it's like a step back in military time and the headstone make fascinating reading.
All in all, the holiday was ... ok. After a gap of 6 years since our last visit, the biggest shock was the huge increase in prices. We were told by many that they had watched the prices increase in the week or so they'd been on the island, an example being a glass of fresh orange increasing from one euro to four euro's fifty. disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toffeesmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

i got married here and it was perfect, they bent over backwards to give us what we wanted.as a catholic i found it very dificult to find the right place.we managed to arrange it with my mum and mr mouikis and had the perfect catholic service.i can not thank my mum amd mr mouikis enough for giving me and my husband the perfect day.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenyonsweddingbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is set about 15 minutes from the airport of Kefalonia and as you step off the plane you immediately smell all the herbs of the island which I have never experienced before on a greek island. My boyfriend and I found this delightful hotel on the internet direct as we left it a little late to book through thomas cook (who offer a package deal) turns out it was a little cheaper doing it our way. flight, taxi and accomodation for two weeks £300.00 each. When we reached the hotel the staff showed us to our apartment which was set overhanging the mountains (amazing views of the sea and a little greek blue and white church which is part of the hotel if anyone wanted to get married) you also have a view of the airport the only little downside but with two to three flights a week this is not a problem and is quite amazing seeing the planes land and take off. The room is spacious and well decorated in a traditional style , it has a tv, two twin beds and a nice bathroom and is very cool, there is also a balcony with table and chairs. The hotel has a large swimming pool and bar area which stays open quite late and the food is very delicious.

The staff are all very friendly and there is even an english man who is married to the owners daughter who drives the shuttle bus into lassi twice a day. Even the cleaners all say goodmorning in greek (calimera). Lassi is about a 10 minute drive away and this is where the majority of the restaurants are and nightlife some good restaruants are Nefeli very good steak and traditional greek, sto psito very good traditional greek, monte nero - great menu, sirtaki - traditional and last but not least Oskars for a great greek night very funny and entertaining. Argostolli restaurants - the captains is very good quality fish and there are some on the front of the harbour which are also very good - the shuttle bus also can drop you off a the island capital Argostolli which is very cosmopolitan and has a more traditional array of restuarants on the harbours edge and around the lively square. The shuttle bus drops you off near lassi beach (one of many i think there are about 5 in all) and then picks you up again later. you can walk from lassi to argostolli which is about 15 - 20 mins walk either the road way or through a large forest path which is very beautiful - this way has a numer of traditional tavernas and tiny off the track beaches where no-one else is - it also has various landmarks where the italians came over during the war which are interesting to read the history.

The village of Lakithra is very small with 4 restaruants all very good and cheaper than lassi and argostolli but very traditional and you will find the greeks eat here a lot this is about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, lakithra also has a bakery and store for groceries.

The taxis on kefalonia are quite expensive so if you wanted to go to lassi or argostolli in the evening it costs about £10.00 each way so if someone else is going down to lassi do what we did split the cab fare. (this is the only problem with the hotel being in a such a lovely setting it can be a little costly in cab fare) the hotel also has some villas in Lassi which are set on the beach if this would be better for you.

To look at both you can go to their website mouikis village and villas and get a panaramic view of both properties.

Good trips to go on are the tour of the island £18.00 each and you get to see everything the lakes and caves, sami (where captain correllis mandolin was filmed), fiscardo (beautiful fishing village), Skala, Myrtos Beach (that beach that you see in all the pictures), Aghia Efima where you have lunch.

Another good one where you are almost guaranteed to see dolphins is the captains Makis boat trip which should be booked at the Argostolli harbour its a little expensive but well worth it. Also at the harbours edge where Captain Makis boat trip can be booked at around 10.00 to 10.30 in the morning near the small fishing boats selling their fish, a resident turtle who is about 70 years old can be seen for all you nature lovers out there, the fishing boats feed the turtle which was well worth the three attemps of going to agostolli in the morning - we finally saw it on the second to last day of our holiday but well worth the wait.

The other alternative is to book some car hire as it is very cheap on kefalonia £65.00 for three days in lassi or a quad bike which is fun and tour the island yourselves but beware of the goats on the way out of argostoli around the mountain roads.

We went to the old capital lixouri from Argostolli on the ferry which goes every half hour until 11pm in the evening, they have a lovely square with some nice tavernas and if you get a taxi from the port in lixouri and tell the driver to take you to the main beach it will cost about £10.00.

to summarise this is not the cheapest greek island i've been to but the quality of the food, wine, amazing views and hospitality is well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarahleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lassi hotels
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Simatos Apartments
Simatos Apartments
#1 of 29 in Lassi
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#2 of 19 in Lassi
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
OSKARS Studios
OSKARS Studios
#7 of 29 in Lassi
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mouikis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mouikis Village

Address: Lakithra, Lassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Price Range: $35 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mouikis Village 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mouikis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mouikis Village Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing