We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time doubt it there will be a third!!”
Review of Mouikis Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mouikis Village
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Was there 2010 had a fantastic time , so went back again and our in laws came with us due to the raving we done after last years holiday but there was a big difference! last year the rooms were cleaned and fresh towels everyday this year lucky to get towels changed and rooms cleaned 3 times a week.

We also had our 4 year old daughter with us again so we all looked forward to the safe and peaceful surroundings as last year but this time on one day the owners had arranged a so we were told "Greek wedding" for 350 people and we were not allowed to use the pool this day as they were setting up for the wedding and all we heard was 80's music blaring till 4am . (we were told about this the day before so did not have time to arrange to go else where)

We did not buy a drink here either as a pint of Beer was 4 euros when the average anywhere else was 2.20 euros and the manager always looked fed up and only had time for the locals!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baronshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

Been around the world & Kefalonia several times and this was the WORST holiday experience of my life!

Arrived at Mouikis Village which looks lovely (from the photographs) when you look across to the pool to the new complex. I requested a "quiet room" when booking with Thomas Cook eight months prior.

If you're British be prepared to be allocated to the old accomodation first to the left of the resort and our room was literally 10 ft from the road! Just to let you know the system here:- The new buildings are full Danish in peak season who book with TUI, which are situated away from the road, which becomes the local rat-run to the town at night, with quad bikes, noisy locals beeping horns and shouting continuously into the early hours of the morning. We went to Reception to complain and they advised us there were no more rooms available, however we saw other Danish customers arriving who were allocated rooms in the new complex. I spoke to the Greek Receptionist and she confirmed this is the process used when allocating rooms.

Thomas Cook = Old Rooms & Tui International = New complex.

Also there was no lock on our patio doors where our children were sleeping so I had to spend my first night awake downstairs with them. The Thomas Cook Rep finally arrived and thought it was quite amusing laughing repeatedly to her colleague on the other end of the phone telling us it would cost us £1200 to move us! We were stuck here for 2 weeks and during this time if you like the idea of locals (inc teenagers running around the pool and tripping over your children) or Ex- Pats wandering in and out of the complex at your expense, not forgetting the Management holding late night disco parties for locals whilst you and your children are trying to get to sleep this is the place for you.

If you stay in the newer complex it won't affect you hence the better reviews, if you get the old accommodation look forward to sleepless nights and check the doors lock! Wrote to Thomas Cook several times and they were not in the slightest bit interested. We've had your money so sling your hook!

Room Tip: Pretend your Danish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 1dollface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Just back from our second holiday at mouikis village.It was every bit as good as the first time that myself and my daughters went.One or two changes made but still excellent.Will be going back in September again and next June.FANTASTIC

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank womenallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Good Points

Mouikis village apartments are set in a tranquil location high upon a hill with panoramic views including the airport. The airport is not a problem as it is not busy and it is quite entertaining watching planes landing and taking off.
The pool area is well kept and is a real sun trap with enough sun loungers for everyone.
Maria (reception) Christina, Memis (bar) are all brilliant members of staff and very cheerie and helpful at all times.
The apartments are contracted by separate holiday companies. The newer one with the best views are not owned by Thomas Cook and I believe that there are owned by Thomson’s/First Choice. I recommend that you book with them. Saying that, the rooms are kept clean and sheets/towels are changed regularly.
A mini bus takes holiday makers into Argastolli every day at 11.45 and collects again at 2.00pm.
On our last night a big welcome/start of season party took place and free food and drinks were provided. Fantastic!

Bad Points

We had no idea that the apartments were so far away from the main resort of Lassi (8km). Lakithra is a 15 minute walk away but it is a very quiet village with many houses shut up due to them being holiday homes. There are a few bars and tavernas but there is no holiday atmosphere whatsoever. This did not suit us at all and we ended up having to get taxis into Lassi every night.
It is essential that you have car hire if you decide to stay in these apartments. If you don’t, expect to pay 12 – 15 Euros to get to Lassi or Argostolli one way! This is an added expense that we were not expecting to pay. Some of the taxi drivers are taking advantage of the holiday makers. We were quoted 20 Euros for a 1.5 km trip to our apartments from the airport. They are not doing themselves any favours.
Apparently the original owner of the apartments died recently and the complex has been passed to cousins. According to regular visitors, many changes are being made and weddings are now becoming a priority. On the 12th June a wedding is due to take place for 300 people. The tables will be set out around the swimming pool so where will the holiday makers go?! I informed Georgina our rep about this in anticipation that she might get some complaints however she did not seem remotely interested.
The locals have access to the pool area and on a few occasions, a bunch of teenagers arrived who took over the pool area and outnumbered the holidaymakers. They were running around the pool, pushing each other in and dive bombings which ended up with the young kids leaving the pool because of this. The owners (who did not make any effort to speak to the holiday makers) turned a blind eye to the activities.
The Thomas Cook apartments are situated underneath the pool areas. They are quite old and dingy and the bathrooms are in need of an upgrade. Do not accept room 22 as there is some sort ofl generator situated behind it and it is very noisy. They have other apartment for families which look like they have been upgraded.
Expect to pay 4 Euros for a pint of mythos and 5 Euros for and ouzo and lemonade at the hotel.

What to see and do in Kefalonia

Europecar in Lassi does a good price for car hire and deliver and collect from the hotel
The Aqua Marina Bar (near Lorenzo Hotel in Lassi) does happy hour 6.00 – 8.00 pm. All drinks half price.
Butlers restaurant does good food, has an excellent atmosphere and live Greek Music.
Go to Myrtos beach and call for breakfast Strofi tavern in Panagis on the way. Full breakfast is 6 Euros and it is excellent.
Skala and Lassi are purpose built resorts which suit families.
Sami is middle of the road and would suit most people.
Agia Efimia is a small pretty resort where you could call for lunch on your way to the North of the island.
Poros is very cosmopolitan with a new promenade. Quiet but still worth a visit.
The crème de la crème is Assos and Fiskardo. You cannot go home without visiting both of the beautiful, quaint and well kept villages. We stayed over in Fiskardo for one night to experience the atmosphere and it was a wonderful experience.
There are lots of lovely sandy coves which you must explore.
All in all Kefalonia is a lovely island which is a must to visit.

Room Tip: Room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

First impressions was 'wow' and that was just when coming off the plane.A short journey to Mouikis Village, the views were fantastic. Met by lovely staff and nothing was to much bother,excellent in fact.I went with my two daughters in September 2011.Our room was clean and lovely. It was looked after splendidly by the staff.the pool ,well did not leave that very often.Everything was to hand,lazed by the pool .ate, drank idyllic. The manager and Giota were splendid hosts,we did not want for anything.We did venture into Agostoli many times,loved it.Of course you can not go to Kefalonia without seeing the most photographed beach in the world MERYTOS breathtaking.Take a trip into Lassi on the morning minibus,and have a wonderful time on the beaches there.Mouikis might be a little bit out of the way,but for a quiet and peaceful break this is the place.We are going back hopefully May2011and September 2011 Yippee.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank womenallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We spent two weeks at the Mouikis travelling with Thomas Cook. Its situation is amazing - on a ridge overlooking the sea with 180 degree views, icnluding of the airport - not at all a problem due to the infrequency of the flights, and really good fun watching planes land and take off. The pool area is the best thing about the hotel - large, spotless and well maintained. The bar serves good value snack food and the staff are friendly. The children also enjoyed the free itnernet access. We had one of the one-bed apartments which sadly didn't have a sea view, and the road immediately behing made sitting on the provate terrace less than ideal. Our only quibble was that the airconditioning wasn't strong enough to keep the gallery bedroom cool, so sleeping wasn't very comfortable. The room was basic, but fine. Car hire highly recommended to make the most of lovely Kefalonia but the shuttle bus to Lassi and Argostoli was fine if you only wanted to go out during the day. A good location for a family holiday, we thought, and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We loved it at Mouikis Village. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even when I broke things! We had a room under the pool area which was comfortable and clean. The cleaner we had was terrific and didn’t seem to stop working all day. It was fantastic to sit on the terrace and watch the sea and the planes.
The charge for the safe was 10 Euros for a week. I paid this to have peace of mind that our passports were secure. Breakfast can be bought on a pay as you wish basis of 5 Euros per person, but we didn’t ever use this (mostly up too early due to the excursions).
There are two computers that can be used for internet access in reception.
Lakithra is quite isolated, but that suited us. There is a 10-15 minute walk into the village for the mini market (not much in there, we did our main shop in Argostoli) and patisserie (I bought éclairs that must have been 1000 calories each!).
A word of warning – the two times we got the minibus it left early, so get up to the front of reception in plenty of time. The bus goes at 10.45 to the Mouikis Hotel in Argostoli, returning at 2. Some people wanted to go to Lassi, so were dropped off en route.
The only restaurant we went to in the village was Obelix – the food was great, they didn’t charge extra for the delicious bread and they even served us free watermelon at the end. We did have one locals’ party night which meant the bar music was belting out till past midnight. If we’d had more than the one it might have spoilt the experience – I mentioned this on the questionnaire I was given by the Village management.
All in all loved the Village and loved Kefalonia.
(NB If you click the Hotel Photos at the top of this, it brings you to completely different rooms in Lassi!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
1.1 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
1.4 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#102 of 141 in Cephalonia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#2 of 19 in Lassi
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simatos Apartments
Simatos Apartments
#1 of 29 in Lassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mouikis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mouikis Village

Address: Lakithra, Lassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Price Range: $38 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mouikis Village 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mouikis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mouikis Village Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing