We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irilena Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Irilena Studios
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not expecting too much ,as last minute booking for one person
Totally exceeded my expectations!
Clean apartment
Excellent view-sunsets amazing
Very friendly and helpful owners
Good kitchen facilities
Quirky apartment layout(separate living room and bedroom) linked by corridor
A bath! Not just a shower.....absolutely great
Good situation on the edge of Lassi(Argostoli end)
No swimming pool, though could use numerous in the area and anyway the sea is just down the road

Room Tip: From what I could see there are no bad rooms ,despite my confirmation stating inland view,I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed in these apartments 4 times. The first few times 2004-2007 they were vary basic, but they have undergone a great refurbishment and are of a very good standard. I stayed with this time with 2 21 year olds & an 18 year old & we all loved it here. ( I have stayed in Greek hotels that were supposed to be 3 star, but they were not as good a standard as this.)
The views are amazing, and it was lovely to get in the jacuzzi each evening to watch the sun go down while cooling off.
The only down side is that there is a very steep hill up to the apartments, so these would not be good for people with walking difficulties, unless you had a car.

Room Tip: Room 18 is fab if you need a double room & a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to the lovely resort of Lassi for a week and stayed in these apartments. We were shown to our room by one of the staff and whilst he was there my boyfriend thought he lost his wallet with all our money for the whole holiday (he had actually put it underneath his hat). Knowing this, the guy that worked there had chased around for the coach to find it and bought us some supplies to get us started and was incredibly helpful in the moment of panic. Amazing value, stayed for a week with transfers and flights included for £270. You get more than you pay for in this case!

The view is spectacular, we stayed on the bottom level of apartments and even then you can still see the sea, the room was cleaned regularly and the jacuzzi was great. The only thing that was a shame is that they gave us two single beds.
For those who are put off from booking this due to the complaints in some reviews about the hill, i am extremely lazy and get the bus when i can and i did not find it too bad at all, worth it at the end, best view in lassi!

Have to mention Odyssey which is one of the bars in Lassi, absoloutely wonderful nice atmosphere, looks lovely and Niko the barman is a true friend! would recommend everyone go there. Another bar to mention is Ozzys, which is right down from irilena studios, on our last night they opened half hour early especially for us, only having met us the night before so we could have a drink with the best sunset view.

Would reccomend taking the ferry over to Lixouri, unfortunately i didnt have a car so wasnt able to get to the many beaches they have such as Xi beach which has its own natural mudbath. It was lovely to experience the culture of Greece would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I booked our holiday at the last minute - all too expensive on internet so went onto our travel agents. Told them our budget and was offered the Irilena Studios in Lassi.
We have holidayed in Kefalonia 8 years ago, knew it was very hilly and was a tad concerned, however, we did want to go to Greece so made the booking.
Once we got home we immediately looked at the Trip Advisor reviews The review did reassure us it would be an ok apartment. We tend not to rely on dated reviews, no more than 18 months old.
We flew out from Gatwick with a company called Travel Planet, no problems and they looked after us very well. The flight is approx 3 hours. Arrived other end, very straightforward as its a small airport we were out within 20 minutes and onto our minibus.
A previous report mentions being dropped off at the foot of a hill. This is true, when you see the width of the hill in daylight you appreciate the difficulty a bus would have. To be honest the hill is not bad,however, not recommend for the elderly or anyone with breathing or walking difficulties. I read somewhere that a torch is recommended for night time, not true unless there is a power cut. Yes it is a struggle to get your self and your luggage up the hill, but once done, that is it for the week - on the plus side - when you are leaving - its downhill.
At the top of the hill we were greeted & shown to our room. Room 7, best room ever with a seaview. Having travelled to Greece for some 20 years, we have always stayed in basic accomodation, we do expect this as we tend to pay around £300 each for our holiday. We did pay £398 each for this holiday, in our books this was good value as the online prices were in excess of £500 each.
The views from room 7 are absolutely fantastic and great to wake upto in the morning. Our room was a 2 bed with a large kitchen, fridge, kettle & sandwich toaster, plenty of cups and plates etc. The bathroom was the best we have ever had, not only was it large, it is a proper shower cubicle with sliding door, at best we have only had a shower curtain, the majority of the time no curtain at all. Air con was priced at £35 euros for the week, definatley required for the 1st week of Sept, the safe was 10 euro's, to be honest, not needed as you are so high up and if you lock your doors each day when you leave, no problem.
Room is cleaned daily, towels changed mid week. The cleaner is a lovely lady named Efthia, she would arrange my wife's nightwear differently each day. She does not speak English but has a very kind nature about her.
No need to bring any clothes pegs with you or washing line - ample available - if you run short - you can always ask for more.
The Irilena apartments cater for the English, Dutch and German, you never get to meet anyone (except your neighbour on the balcony) No swimming pool or bar.The good news is you get a good nights sleep.
The nearest swimming pool was the Lassi Hotel, we went there once but nothing compares to being by the sea.
As the hill is fairly steep, once we left our room in the morning we would not return till late evening. Therefore all eating was done away from the room.
You will note the Hotel Irilena, these are both owned by Athina, again a very lovely lady, both are named after her daughter Irilena. Athina does not speak much English, but will do all she can to accomodate a request you may have. If you are on a late flight home, you may want to book the room for longer on your last day, expect to pay 20 euro's we thought this was very reasonable, Athina said the money was to pay the cleaner and not for herself. The best time tio ask her is 48 hours before you are due to leave.
You will see the Nikos apartments on the hill, sitting outside each night was Savvas, his wife Eleanor and sometimes Nikos their son. We would always converse in Greek with them much to their amusment.
The brochure mentions the beech being close by, true, bit of a walk to get to.The best beech to go to is the Makis Gialos some 10-15 min walk, left at the foot of the hill and keep going til you pass Mina's supermarket, it is signposted.
The sunbeds were priced at 6 euro's for 2 with umbrella, however, luxury sunbeds with padding for 8 euro's again with umbrella. Waiter service on the beech. Makis Gialos is the only beech I know of to offer the luxury sunbeds. All other beeches we went to were priced at 6 euro's.
Expect to pay 2 euro's for a tin of coke/fanta etc on the beech - supermarket price is 80 cents.
There is no bakery in Lassi, however, bread doughnuts etc can be purchased from any of the supermarkets. Expect to pay around 1 euro each.
From the foot of the hill, facing the sea, you will find all the taverna's supermarkets etc to the left. To the right there is nothing, except Agostoli the capital and is about a 15 minute walk. If you are in Agostoli between 9am and 11am you should be able to see the 2 turtles by the fishermens boats - look out for the crowds.
Regards taverna's and best places to eat, they all offer similar menu's - prices vary slightly, but all in all they are all pretty much the same. That said, everybody seems to have taken a dislike to Oscars. It may be their over the top marketing campain that puts everybody off. You walk along the street and they hand you their fly sheets, you walk past the restaurant and look at the OTT advertising, I went for a swim one day, came back form the sea to find their flysheets had been placed inside my book. Although they prvide lots of variying entertainment (as per their flysheet) this was a taverna we steered clear of, purely because there are so many others to choose from and we felt we wanted to be in control of where we ate each night.
We hope this review has been of help to you.We can honestly say, we had such a lovely time in Lassi that we will go back there next year, at least to try out the other reataurants we missed out on.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - preferably room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayersWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Kefalonia is a nice island with very friendly people and this is great spacious clean studio accommodation in a good location, reasonable cooking facilities, great shower never a problem with hot water, good wardrobe storage. Excellent view from the balcony which is at its best at sunset, best studio accommodation I have found in Greece so far. The hill climb is fine so long as you do not have any walking difficulties. Close to shops and restaurants, a 15 minute walk to Argostoli but make sure you know the route or you will easily double it or worse.

The beaches (Yialos is biggest, best and furthest) at the resort are okay most are small (something to think about if the resort is crowded), the sand is a bit gritty (San Antonio the best of the closer ones), water is lovely, you will need to think of hiring beds and umbrella (which are not big enough) as there is little shelter from the hot sun. The studios have a sun terrace which gets the sun all day with a Jacuzzi to cool off in. Nefeli was my favourite restaurant in Lassi but others were fine also, just personal preference, average 2 course meal with wine for two 20-26e. Try going down to the fish market in Argostoli for some sea bream, pick up some fresh olive bread from the bakery over the road, some Thyme from the roadside and a lemon from the nearest tree, who needs a restaurant.

The turtles in Argostoli will put on a show between 9-11 while the fishermen are berthed. The bus service around the island has a very basic timetable and not always clear what the route is but the drivers are great at helping out, you can get to the castle and monastery easily but make sure you can get a bus back. I recommend the day tour around the island by Kokkolis travel, best value and gives a good overview of the island. Otherwise feet will only get you so far and you will need to consider hiring a vehicle but watch out (locals drive fast) I was not impressed with tourist driving standards at junctions, turnings and particularly roundabouts (you give way to people entering not an easy concept).

Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms appear well soundproofed very quiet, most rooms face the sun and get shaded during midday, top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuffolkPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had studio number 1 which was very well maintained with walk-in shower and double bed. Kitchen included a kettle and mugs. Cleaned daily and fluffy towels replaced frequently. Small balcony with iron railings so no privacy from neighbours. Safety deposit box 10 euro for a week and AC available for 5 euro a day. No pool but a jacuzzi with couple of sun loungers.No reception.
It is set on a hill too steep for a coach so you have to carry your cases etc. up, but worth it for the amazing view. Kefalonia is a large beautiful island. There are many good resturants, our favorite was the Ionio. Despte Greece problems prices were good. Main course average 8 Euro, Litre of wine 9 euro and pint of beer could be found for 2.50euro

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of July/start of August 2009. We each paid roughly £370 each for the package with Olympic (to give an idea of the cost I'm basing my opinion).

The hotel is located right at the very north end of the Lassi road, just before where the road turns the corner onto Argostoli. The studios are at the end of a hill road just opposite the Dolphin Supermarket/start of the Fanari Road. The only problem with the accommodation is this hill road. It is by no means a 'deal-breaker'; merely the only real flaw - it is a road roughly 100m long, with a gradient of, on average, maybe around 30-35* - more at times and less at times. The location is good; as I have said it is the closest you can be to Argostoli without actually being there whilst still being within a 10 minute walk of the vast majority of the bars/restaurants/tavernas lining the 'strip'.

We stayed in room 6. This was in the furthest up block of the property, on the first floor. The view from our balcony was exceptional. Our balcony was in the front of our studio - ie we only had one entrance/exit. However this was not a problem, as ours was the only room accessible on that particular path, so at no point would anyone be walking 'across' our balcony/past our door. The view looks out to Lixouri and its peninsula and you can watch the sunset without having to leave the room! Our room had 2 main rooms and a bathroom. The first room had a double bed and some storage furniture, the second room had a single bed and basic kitchen area (fridge, hot plate, sink, cutlery/crockery etc), while the bathroom had a sink, toilet and standalone enclosed shower cubicle. It had all been refurbished earlier this year. When we arrived, the shower pressure was very erratic - however, we mentioned this to the rep at the welcome meeting on our first full day, and by the time we returned from lunch a new, fully working, powerful shower had been installed!

As the room is split in two, there are two air conditioning units - one in each room. These must be hired individually. As there was only the two of us, we only paid for the unit in the 'master' bedroom - they charge €50 per week.

The maid changes the bins daily and the sheets/towels generally every other day. However, if, like us, you leave your air-con on during the day so that you're not walking into a furnace at the end of each day, you need to put the remote control out of sight - she turns the a/c off when she tidies the room, which is extremely irritating when you've been sunbathing all day then walked up the hill to the property, expecting a wall of cool air and finding nothing but the same hot air as outside.

There is no pool, but there is a small sunbathing area with 4 loungers (dark, so they get very hot!). We did most of our sunbathing here as it was more convenient than walking the minutes or so to the nearest beach (Gradakia). There is a jacuzzi in this area, but it is only open for a few hours during the middle of the day and is certainly closed over by roughly 1500 daily.

Local amenities include the aforementioned Dolphin Supermarket (down the hill and over the main road), a bar called Ozzie's at the bottom of the hill road with probably the best sunset views in Lassi (he does takeaway burgers/sandwiches/fries etc - though on our final night, a deliveryman on a scooter arrived at the studios with an order for someone. I assume this was from an establishment in Argostoli as I didn't see anywhere in Lassi offering delivery/takeaway), as well as the whole of Lassi's bars/restaurants once you start walking down the Lassi road. Also, you are welcome to use the pool at the Metaxa apartments, which is about 150m down the Fanari road. The pool is reasonably-sized, there are plenty of sunbeds and there is a pool bar which does soft drinks/alcohol/ice creams as well as sandwiches/burgers/snacks.

As well as the tavernas etc there are plenty of car hire and excursion companies on the Lassi road. I would definitely recommend you visit the excursion companies and check their prices before booking with your rep, if on a package. The rep was selling the same trips at inflated prices at our welcome meeting - because she was aware that her prices were inflated, she kindly told us that if we booked a trip at the welcome meeting, she would take €2 off the cost - I think she blatantly did this because she knew that once we left the meeting and started to explore, we would see the prices other companies were charging.

Lassi is also quite close to the airport. This was a blessing - the airport is hardly busy (a handful of planes per day?), and the transfer to accommodation took merely 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark_EFC_1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.2 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorenzo Hotel
Lorenzo Hotel
#8 of 19 in Lassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liberatos Village
Liberatos Village
#85 of 142 in Cephalonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irilena Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Studios

Property: Irilena Studios
Address: Lassi, Lassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Irilena Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irilena Studios Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing