We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a view”
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Thalassa Hotel for 6 nights to get get some much needed sunshine and R&R. I can so both are a plenty on this side of Greece at this time of year with the weather being a balmy 28-30+ every day and nights down to 23'ish. The sea is refreshing and crystal blue around Lassi.

Hotel: I have read through the previous reviews, and to be fair the room we had didn't carry the theme the rooms in website photos. We had a ground floor Superior room, very spacious though and cool - perfect for the evenings with the outdoor furniture to overlook the bay. However, I think if we were to stay again we would ask for a second floor balcony for a more private/scenic outlook.

Breakfast is a highlight, if you are early enough you can nab a yoghurt mousse!

Beaches: Walking distance to Long Beach, and a couple of secluded beaches in the bay. If you fancy a snorkel you need to head about 2kms up the main road to the Sto Psito restaurant. You will find that beach has some pretty good snorkelling and is also sheltered so it's good for beginners/ young ones.

Restaurants/bars - pretty much all in Lassi we ate at and are all very reasonable, and there are bars also e.g Trentis bar great for the sunset) and Eden has a dancefloor if you keen to stay out past grappa hour.

Tours: The hotel can book tours etc if you need, we did a boat trip and it was easily organised for the next day.

Fitness: I didn't use the gym, but instead ran to the lighthouse and back (about 12km). Very safe on the road as there are not many cars, same road as the Sto Psito restaurant.

Airport: very accessible can be at the airport in 20mins. However, we found the experience outbound a bit disastrous vs the inbound experience as it is a quite small airport with 2-3 flights every hour, it can get a little crazy!

Back to the hotel, our overall experience as a base for our holiday, lazing by the pool, local food out and about, location to beaches, we would recommend this hotel and be back for sure.

4.75 / 5

Room Tip: If you are after a view, ask for the front facing balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    75
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
70
228
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely resort style accommodation with sea views. Gorgeous sitting / lounge / breakfast area overlooking the water, providing ideal spot to sit and relax whilst checking your emails (or uploading your holiday pics) - note this is also the only area you will have access to wifi.

We had room on 3rd floor with sea views - it was a spacious room with a small kitchenette. Very comfortable.

Breakfast was lovely and staff were willing to accommodate all special requests.

Staff very friendly and accommodating - from the moment of your arrival (taking you through island highlights and all available tours, that they were happy to co-ordinate for you, through to time you check out).

Accommodation also only a two minute walk to exclusive beach which has small beach bar and beach chairs.

This is a place we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Welcome drink, view, location (nice walking distance to a fantastic beach), room size.

Cons: The decoration in the apartment.

Advice: Change the blue, faded curtains and bed spread and paint the green window sills in a more neutral colour.

That will change the character of the room, which is actually quite nice. The first impression is a bit gloomy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had read the reviews for this hotel and had quite high expectations - after our taxi drive through Lassi I began to have doubts; however, after a drive down the lanes towards the sea we were fronted with a modern looking hotel right over the sea.
We were met by wonderful smiling and helpful staff who continued to do anything they could to make our 30th Wedding anniversary stay a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon suite which was beautiful - fantastic balcony and views over the sea.
The room was spacious, clean and had a fabulous shower. The standard of cleaning was excellent; sheets and towels changed every day/other day and toiletries replenished.
The bed was comfortable and pillows good, AC helped us sleep on high nights!
We were disappointed that there was not any dining facilities - the local restaurants are ok but a trip into Argostoli (6 euros) and there were lots to choose from (the hotel staff were happy to recommend/book and arrange taxis - we even had a day trip to Assos organised for us with a very helpful taxi driver).
The pool was lovely - crystal clear, warm but it would be nice to have had a pool service with drinks and nibbles.
We had expected fresh fruit and water in the room and although this was available if you asked it would be nice to have in the room, fresh each day.
We found the breakfast lovely - a wide range of hot and cold foods, fruit, breads etc - I agree that a table service would be good - it was not busy when we were there at beginning of July but i imagine it would be packed in the high season.
Wifi was poor - access only from reception/outside seating area - but not from our room which was above reception (it would have been nice to facetime our children in the privacy of our own room rather than publicly).
we were given a room on our last day for as long as we wanted as our flight was not till 10pm - Angela, Hara and Maria went out of their way to help us - posting our cards and retrieving a scarf left in a restaurant in Assos - all with a smile on their face!
We will definitely go back - cant thank the staff enough for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: best rooms on first floor - with balcony overlooking the sea - in the main hotel if possible althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel itself is well placed with fabulous views, the staff are very helpful and friendly.. We booked two twin rooms as we were in a group, on arrival we were issued a twin and a double, the double was not as nice or as spacious as the twin and so we asked to be moved, which we were.

Twin rooms come with a small kitchen which was a real bonus that had fridge, cooker hob, kettle, sink etc. rooms are well furnished with classic prints, a table and chairs, sofa and balcony. TV was good with lots of English speaking films.

The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard.

Two pools.. Nice loungers and shades, great pool snack hut and mini shop. The food is well priced and not expensive.

There are lots of bay's round the hotel to relax and swim in, very clean and tidy....10 minutes from the shops and restaurants

Breakfast is good,, and changes every day.

Overall it's a great place,, perfect for a week away in the sun..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumnjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Reading some of the tripadvisor reviews it seems that there are very polarised opinions about this hotel, which is a pity as our overwhelming opinion is positive. Yes there are some comments we can relate to but the warmth of the welcome, the fact that the reception staff would do anything to help our stay be more pleasurable - so yes the bed was hard- Talk to the lovely Hara in reception and a softer mattress cover was provided. Yes there were only scrambled eggs on offer at breakfast, but with that lovely view and open terrace it didn't seem to matter after a couple of days.
The pool was fabulous: deep so you could dive in and swim in two circle shaped joined pools both with a diameter large enough to really get some good excercise.
It was a bit of a pain not to have a good light food bar actually at the hotel but they told us that one is planned for next year Nearby Lassi has an overabundance of cafes all reasonably priced.
Overall our holiday was made by the charming, helpful and welcoming staff at the hotel. The worst part was having to be at the airport 3 hours in advance and the chaotic nature of a small airport trying to get 3 aircraft airborne within 10 minutes of each other.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Thalassa last week an i must say it was a joy. I had already emailed ahead and asked for a upper floor room with a sea view, boy were we not dissapointed. On arrival we were meet in the rececption and offered a glass of cold wine, which was really apprieciated, while we waited for Angelina to come. She greeted us like old friends(we have stayed once before) and then we shown to our room 501 when the curtains were opened we were greeted with a truely splendid view over the bay. The room was a little smaller, but you do not spend your time on holiday in the room, or watching TV. The bathroom was roomey and shower was enormous, we stayed 7 nights and our sheets were changed twice which is what you expect.

The breakfast is fresh and adequate with a variety of fare, i liked the cheeses and the meat, also the fresh fruit.
Now we come to best bit of the hotel i believe, that is the STAFF nothing is to much trouble for them, and every query/ question/ request is answered with a smile. I asked if we could have a late check out Angelina said even though they were full she would sort something out and she did by giving us another room for the afternoon so we could shower and change. The waitresses and the cleaning ladies were great always a smile on their faces and the 2 ladies in the reception were great. As i said before nothing to much trouble.
Kefalonia is a beautiful island and you must go out a sight see, take the ferry to Lixouri for 5euro return it is a great way of passing a morning.
Every one has their own opinion, but my opinion of the Thalassa Hotel is BRILLIANT, Angelina we WILL be back next year (room 501) please :-) Thank you all at the Thalassa.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room for the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.7 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lassi
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#4 of 19 in Lassi
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Property: Thalassa Hotel
Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
#5 Family Hotel in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALASSA HOTEL is set in the heart of the famous resortof Kefalonia, Lassi, where Makris Gialos Beach is a mustamongst the island’s visitors. The newly built complexThalassa Hotel, that consists of luxurious and spaciousrooms in two neoclassical buildings, captures the basicelements for an unforgettable stay.overlooking the majestic Paleostafida Gulf, Thalassa Hotelis an enchanting, cozy intimate island family hotel, ideal foranyone seeking for a fun and relaxing holiday. The warm familyatmosphere, the elegantly comfortable rooms, the colourfulgardens the breathtaking views makes Thalassa Hotel theplace for absolute relaxation and ultimate vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing