We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, The bad and The ugly”
Review of Lorenzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorenzo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Hotel Lorenzo 8-8-2012
THE GOOD...the hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was cleaned to an excellent standard with fresh clean towels every day....the receptionist Katerina is the loveliest most helpful lady you could ever hope for while on holiday.....the breakfasts are ok, plenty of choice (remember its not 5* all inclusive)...nice well kept gardens and enough sunbeds around the pool....also deck chairs and loungers+ one hammock away from poolside
THE BAD....having read other reviewers experiences we e-mailed the hotel two weeks and again two days before our trip asking for a sea view double room....didnt get it...they simply said this wasnt possible....what we got was our bathroom window being on next doors balcony and twin beds
we arrived at 20.30 to find our shower didnt work but in all fairness Katerina had it fixed with a brand new mixer by lunchtime next day
If you choose to stay here be aware that "HAPPY HOUR" at the bar doesnt apply to all drinks
we paid 13 euros for two pina coladas and watered down at that too...as was the draught beer
THE UGLY....if you like to sleep dont stay here....the beds are comfy enough but the resident roosters never fail to hear their alarm before dawn which sets the local dogs off barking in unison
all in all the hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Lassis bars and restaurants with friendly happy people and a short walk to the beach

Room Tip: try to get a high floor room at the back.....avoid basement rooms on the car park
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Lorenzo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 420 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Clean hotel, great location, very nice receptionists, breakfast is simple (some days better than the others and you should definitely go as early as possible), pool area is nice... All in all, great value for money. We were on the second floor, so we didn't have problems with the noise - all we heard was beautiful music in the evening coming from Aqua Marina restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Masa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having read so many positive reviews of this hotel I can only assume they were influenced by the reviewers impressions of Lassi rather than the Lorenzo Hotel.

We'll be staying in Lassi again, but not this hotel and I'm struggling to understand it's 3 star rating.

The hotel itself looks great from the outside but is dated once you step inside. Normally this isn't a problem but the attitude of some (not all) of the hotel staff is also dated, in that guests are there to be tolerated and times the hotel felt like it was being run for the benefit of the staff rather than the guests.

My first gripe is that we asked for a sea view off the ground floor but we were given a ground floor room with a view of a courtyard. The hotel was full so a room switch wasn't possible.

The room was basic but clean with a reasonably sized seating area outside but sadly no shade from the direct sunlight.

We were "treated" to 3 chairs and a tv (who watches tv on holiday?) but no fridge. Surely a room fridge is a pre-requisite in a Mediterranean hotel that claims to be 3-star? There was one domestic sized fridge-freezer in the basement that could be shared between all the residents, the smell from it suggested it wasn't cleaned very often. Maybe I'm being cynical but was the lack of a room fridge a way of encouraging guests to spend more money in the hotel buying cold drinks?

I've stayed in many hotels for both work and leisure and I can confidently say this was the worst bed I've ever slept in. An afternoon siesta always resulted in pins & needles from a prominent spring or three. Night-time was spent tossing and turning trying to find a comfortable position and every morning I woke aching all over.

The bathroom was tiny with no window, giving it quite a grim feel. The shower cubicle was fairly shallow and meaning the curtain couldn't prevent the floor being soaked - lovely.

Correct me if I'm wrong but a week's holiday should be an opportunity to rest and relax. A bit of a lie in is always a treat when on holiday. No chance in this hotel! Every morning at 8am without fail we were woken by the sounds of the hotel staff talking loudly whilst stacking the breakfast dishes. At 9am without fail the radio went on at a volume loud enough to pick out what the songs were but strangely the radio went off once everyone was up. Surely the radio wasn't being used as a means to get everyone up and out of their rooms to start spending money and allows the cleaners in? Perhaps I'm being cynical again?

My final gripe is our send off. We were a little slow vacating our room (10 minutes late) and were told in no uncertain terms that this was unacceptable.

We'll be back to Kefalonia again, we'll also be back to Lassi again but we will certainly never be back to the Lorenzo hotel again.

Room Tip: just don't
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 2 very sunny weeks at the end of June at the Hotel Lorenzo......

The Hotel is a ideally located for a short stroll to both the beach and the
restaurants but far enough from the main road not to hear any traffic
noise. It is quite a basic hotel which you would expect in Greece, however
we did find the rooms a bit on the cramped side and a little dated. There
is ample wardrobe space but very little room around the beds but we solved
that by putting some of the furniture onto the balcony (why do they always
have so many chairs in the rooms ??) The bathrooms are tiny even for Greece
although they did have a proper shower tray and curtain. Initially our room
was kept spotless and the bin emptied every day (only 1 bin though for all
your rubbish and toilet paper which wasn’t ideal) but the sweeping became
less frequent and just seemed to push the dust from one part of the room to
another. Don’t get me a wrong it wasn’t messy just annoying that the
cleaners had clearly been in your room and only done half a job. Our room
was on the ground floor (124) overlooking the courtyard which meant our
balcony was quite private however the noise from the reception was quite
bad first thing in a morning. As breakfast started at 8 the girls on
reception generally gathered for their morning chat at about 7:30 and
usually involved a lot of shouting , then the music starts at around 8
o’clock (Ma Baker by Boney M was a particular favourite for the staff !!!).
Also the noise from the upper floors was a bit of a problem (mainly people
dragging furniture about – probably to make room around the beds). We did
ask to move but they had no other rooms available.
The breakfasts at the hotel is self service (get your tray from the bar
first to stop any confusion with the staff) and as are expected for Greece
but there was no variety as we have had at similar hotels on other islands
in the past. Every day it was tinned peaches, Greek yoghurt, bread,
inedible corn flakes and tea/coffee - if you were lucky there was the
occasional boiled egg. You could eat indoors but there are a few tables on
the patio where you could eat which was pleasant.
The Pool area is quite new and is quite nice although not the cleanest
(never saw anyone clean the pool or hose down the patio areas the whole
time we were there) but the bar staff were pleasant and the prices
were reasonable. In general most of the staff were quite pleasant however
one or two were bordering on being rude, the daytime receptionist in
particular – everything always seemed like too much trouble (didn’t even
have the courtesy to ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out
!!!)

Kefalonia is a stunning island and is well worth a visit but we wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the reception area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrandMrsM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A little late writing this review sorry... Stayed at the lorenzo with a group of friends, how rooms vary in this hotel. Our room was awful, cant remember the, number but it had a mirror on the balcony wall under the bathroom window to make it look larger, or give it some light??? The balcony was tucked away in the corner under cover!!!! Our balcony chairs were under the bathroom window of next door, so when they went to use there bathroom it was very embarrasing!!!! The room was tiny but kept clean. Our friends room was lovely over looking the pool and sea with a fantastic balcony( i was sooo jealous) yet we paid the same. Breakast was o.k. but they never replenished anything, i asked for fruit(it was only tinned) but was told it was all gone!!!! They couldnt open another tin..... The pool area was nice, snack bar also nice. But would not stay here again. Lassi was lovely, and am returning this year, but to another hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We first visited the Lorenzo in 1992 and have just returned to celebrate our 20th wedding aniversary. Other than the addition of a swimming pool, we were pleased to see that not much else has changed at the Hotel or the resort itself. The rooms are simple and clean, if a little small but have great views if you get a sea view room. There are a few more restaurants and bars and a few are the same and even the three brothers in the Vagaleti supermarket are still there. It is in our view the best located hotel as only a short walk to a couple of beaches and just off the main road so close to all the resaurants and bars without being on the main road itself. Spoke to people who had previously stayed at White Rocks and Lassi Hotel who agreed they were too far out of main strip.
We did email hotel ahead to let them know it was our anniversary and on the day they presented us with a bottle of wine in an ice bucket filled with flowers. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much problem. We found this to be the attitude of all the Greeks we met in the restaurants bars and on the beach (Atonis & Tommy to the right of the stairs on Long Beach).
This was our first holiday in 16 years without any children and it is certainly highly recommended for a peaceful and relaxing break, can't wait to return and shan't leave it so long next time !

Room Tip: As k for sea/pool view on a higher floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cdufall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is our 7th year running to lassi. & the past 3 have been @ Lorenzo hotel. Overall this hotel in terms of value for money, location & cleanliness is excellent. The staff run by exclusively women are a joy with nothing being any trouble. Yes, if you are looking for 5star accommodation, Lorenzo will not be for you. If you want a pleasant base, ideal location, spotlessly clean accomadation at fantastic value for money, this place is seriously worth considering. Will probably be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newlookerLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: $55 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorenzo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lorenzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing