We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday I've ever been on!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dionysos Village Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best holiday I've ever been on!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Myself and my friend Emma stayed here between the 9th and 23rd August 2011... I can honestly say that it's one of the most beautiful places I've ever been... both the resort itself and Lassi!!! The resort is an amazing place... the staff are so friendly and so helpful (especially Leo and Dennis)... the pool is amazing... the food at the greek bbq and buffet is gorgeous and you have to watch Hollis perform at rock night on a Friday... he's got the most incredible voice!!! Even the holiday rep Dan was lovely too!! The walk up the hill is quite hard work... but I can assure you it's well worth it for the breath taking views!!! It's not a massive resort... but this works to its benefit... as you will get to know everybody round the pool!! Lassi itself is a great resort... the beach at Makris yialos is beautiful, clean, safe and so well organised with the costa costa beach club!!! It only takes 10 minutes to walk to the beach from the resort!! The wide selection of restaurants are lovely and if you like drinking... go to So Simple... it's the best bar... but doesn't properly get going until past midnight!!! Argostoli is only a short taxi ride away and it's an amazing place... it's full of bars and restaurants and even has some really good clubs... Bass Club and Sin City!!! It's also a fab place for shopping!!! Thanks again to the staff for making our holiday so amazing xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    105
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
238
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived during the afternoon and were shown to our studio ( Achilles 1 = best location) by the charming Leo.
The view was amazing and you could see right over the bay to Lixouri. Our room was spacious with a really comfortable king-sized bed and plenty of wardrobe space. We had a proper built in shower cubicle which is unusual in Greece. The kitchenette was basic but was fine for making snacks/soup etc and we ate out every evening anyway in the many restaurants in Lassi. I would recommend Butler's House, Ionian, Trata and Retseta for good meals and excellent service.
The pools were fabulous and the pool bar served snacks and drinks throughout the day. There were plenty of free sunbeds and shades and even though it was the height of summer there was always spare ones.
Night-time was something else. Every room faced the sunset which was out of this world and in the evenings the wonderful Leanne & Nikos served up their famous cocktails at the pool bar until the early hours (my favourite was the Blue Whale).
There was a weekly BBQ and also a fantastic rock night with brilliant singer Hollis where you could dance the night away.
The beaches are great and cater for all tastes from water sports on the sandy bays to snorkelling in tiny pebbled coves. Avalon have the best deals for island trips but to see Kefalonia at its' best you should hire a car and visit hidden villages and out-of-the-way beaches. Red-sanded Xi beach and the Mellisani Lake are a must-see.
Everyone mentions 'The Hill' and yes, it is steep but as long as you are prepared for that then the views totally compensate for it. We used to walk down (10 mins to road and a further 5 mins to beach) and taxi back (5 euros) but many guests walked back up. Argostoli is a 45 mins walk away over the top of the hill and one of my favourite parts of the holiday was seeing the turtles swimming around the fishing boats in the harbour.
Everyone was so friendly, from the staff, the guests and the islanders themselves and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pool bar are best and Achilles was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woodentops_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The place was lovely as everybody states with stunning views and friendly staff. However I have to moan about the hygiene aspect as both myself and my partner had a stomach bug during our second week and lost the second week as we were stuck in our apartment. This was not a problem as sometimes these things happen, the problem was that the maids never mopped the floor as the items we had dropped were still there a week later, along with squashed bugs left from previous customers of our room. It became even worse after we had been sick as when you wake up at 3am and are sick which unfortunately misses the washing up bowl and goes on the floor and wall there is only so much you can do with tissue and washing up liquid. We had reported it but the maids just disinfected the toilet and left again, leaving my redecoration of the wall and floor where it was. I know bugs are supposed to die after leaving the body for 24 hours, but I only hope it was disinfected properly after we left, along with the washing up bowl and if not I really apologise to the poor people who had our room after us, I did try and get it disinfected for you!

One word of advice for everyone; do not use Mina's supermarket! It is highly priced and you can find items much cheaper in the supermarket just past Mina's or further in the centre of Lassi, (we used one in the centre opposite a junction for the beach and more restaurants which was run by a lovely man and his family as items were a lot less money than Mina's)! I wouldn't have minded using Mina still had I not have brought a faulty phone card from her which didn't work and when I took it back minutes later to ask for her help she basically called me a liar and said she sells hundreds and never has any problems, not excepting that there is a chance one of her hundreds could be faulty! Due to this I refused to go to her shop again as she was so rude and unhelpful to me so I highly recommend people stay clear of her!

Other than this we had a lovely holiday as the place itself is lovely (as you can see from the photos people have added) and hope if you do go here you have as good a time as we did in our first week and don't have a stomach bug like we did. xxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed at the Dionysos resort for two weeks at the end of July with my husband and teenage son. When we first arrived we were taken to a very small studio that is too small for staying in with a teenager. However I must point out that this was a problem with the booking we had made with Thomas Cook and not the resort itself as they made every effort to get us more suitable accomodation of which I am very grateful to them for.

It is very clean througout the whole resort (maid service everyday) and as mentioned the although the hill is hard work (especially after a few beers at the end of the night) it is worth it as the view is stunning. The pool area is excellent, not too noisy and for once we did not have to play sunbed wars as there were always beds available throught the day.

Although basic the kitchenette was more than adequate for 3 people to make the occassional lunch however the cafe bar on sight is also very good with decent size portions of snack foods. The cafe bar also had various theme nights which seemed to go down well although the music could do with a bit of modernising.

In Lassi itself I would recommend Aqua Marina bar and restaurant as the food was fantastic (especially the Veal Picante) with a lovely atmosphere and wonderful service at a very reasonable price.

If I was to return to Kefalonia I would definately choose to stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a studio if there are more than two people as they are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellsbells7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at the dionysos village with my two friends (all aged 24). We stayed for a week from 31 July to 7 Aug and had a wonderful time. The complex was just as good as last year if not better. It was lovely to have been remembered by the owners and welcomed back with open arms. This year we stayed I'm Achilles 1 which was spotlessly clean,spacious enough for 3 and with breath taking views.
We spent a lot of time at the glorious pool area, the pool is huge and there were always sunbeds available during our stay even though some people were reserving beds at 8am (a little unnecessary)! The pool bar serves a wide range of delicious drinks and snacks at reasonable prices for example: frappes, milkshakes, juices, toasties, sandwiches, salads, pizzas-there's something for everyone.
This year an option to have breakfast was given to all residents even self catering you just turned up in the morning. Breakfast was served in a spacious, clean, relaxed resturant over looking the pool and sea. There was a good selection of continental and cooked breakfasts the most expensive being €6. You could also dine in the resturant in the evening where traditional and fresh Greek dishes were served. We didn't eat here as we liked to venture into Lassi. The BBQ night was once again a great evening- plenty of food and fun!

We would definitely recommend you take a taxi into the capital €7 and walk through the pine trees to the watermill and lighthouse (best done in the evening when it's cooler and beautiful sunsets over the sea). Then return to the capital and eat on the square about 9pm there is a wonderful atmosphere.

I feel I must mention the hill!!! We only walked up it once on our holiday as taxis are cheap enough we paid a maximum of €5. So the hill should not deter you from staying here, it is a fantastic resort that you fall in love with the moment you get there and feel very sad when you come to leave.

Well done Dionysos you are doing a fabulous job - I will hopefully return next year too!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lealou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This really is in a great location with unbeatable views to the West and extremely tastefully and carefully designed resort and rooms, esp. Apt no 4 at the very top. The views are well worth the 12 minute walk up and down the hill, you come home fitter as you walk off the food each day. A friendly team and the regular laid-back rock singer doing covers on a Friday night is worth hearing. Mid-July 2011 weather was pure sun and touching 40 degrees (105ish F) each day. At least 4 or 5 great sandy beaches all with tavernas and 'trendy Xi beach (ferry across the bay from Argostoli and 10 Euro taxi) is worth a visit. You can walk over the back of the hill from the Dionysos to quite charming, busier Argostoli in 30-45 mins if you've got a hat! A superb holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We visited the Dionysos last year to scope out a wedding venue, and we definately found one! We knew we wanted to get married in Greece, so we went ahead to arrange to get married here. It had everything we wanted, a quiet location, beautiful views, wonderful staff and of course the Greek weather!

'The Hill' that everyone goes on about was never an issue for us, its not the easiest of walks by any means, but if you don't want to walk it, then get a taxi. The reward is at the top!

We all hired cars for a few days and went to see a few of the 'places to see in Kefalonia'. The car hire was very cheap, make sure you haggle! You can easily get 50euros off the initial price they give you, just make sure you get a car with AC, and check that it works.

Fiskardo is definately worth the drive, just dont try it on a 50cc moped, as we did last year, big mistake. They do speed boat hire for the whole day for 6 people for about 40euros, we found this out too late in our stay to try it, but i would recommend it if you are in a group.

The Dionysos in the perfect location for anyone staying in Lassi, its out of the way from all the roads and bustle of lassi, and its only a brief walk down 'The Hill' to what i would say is the nicest beach in Lassi, 'Makris Gialos'. A long gorgeous sandy beach, with some lovely places to eat and drink, and watersports too, which we thouroughly enjoyed. if you like good drinks and cool music, go to 'Costa Costa', they have plenty to choose from and a dj on all day, would recommend this place for young couples or groups. We were told to try an evening out here at sunset but we never got round to it. We also had some of our wedding photos taken on this beach, looked great!

Get down to Argostoli if you want to see turtles, we had never seen them before, amazing to see creatures so old, upto 180 years.

The 'Glass Bottom Boat' trip is a great day out for everyone, id would definately recommend this to everyone who goes to Kefalonia, we have done it twice now, amazing. Just try not to have a hangover, you will enjoy it alot more, You will get to see dolphins aswell, hopefully.

You have to try a Gyros Pitta aswell, we had one atleast every other day. Mmmmmmm

We had our wedding ceremony at the Dionysos in the 'Castle Area', this was exactly what we wanted, and looked great on the photos. Maria & Dennis are lovely, they made this day really special for us, which reflected in how much of a fabulous day everyone had. Dennis' food was superb,as we knew it would be. The wedding cake was the nicest cake iv ever had, bar none. Everything was perfect, i would do it all over again tomorrow. Maria also kindly lent our party her 'Marias Garden Villas' all to ourselves for the day a week before our wedding, which was great, check the reviews.

The Dionysos is exeptionally clean, the cleaners do a great job, cant fault the cleanliness at all. Their gardener does a great job too, looking after all the grounds, beautiful!

The pool, bar area is perfect for everybody, Leanne, Maria 2 and Niko were great. Theres lots of space around the pool, so you can always get a sun bed. The sunset at night is gorgeous. Entertainment is really good too, the Greek dancing gets everybody in the Greek mood, and no matter what you say, or where you sit, you will end up dancing.

The Dionysos is the best hotel to stay at by far. Absolutely amazing! Loved every second of our stay here.

Room Tip: The Aphrodite and Athena blocks are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobBagshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.7 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Village Resort

Property: Dionysos Village Resort
Address: Haravontas, Lassi 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lassi
#3 Family Hotel in Lassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dionysos Village Resort, built in 2008, is one of the newest resorts to be constructed on the beautiful island of Kefalonia, Greece. The complex boasts 55 spacious suites with exquisite on site facilities, such as large pool area, bars, restaurant and more. Each room lets you experience the breathtaking panoramic views of the Ionian Sea and distant mountains. A short walk from the resort brings you to the most popular beach on the island (Makris Gialos) and the energetic town of Lassi with its shops, supermarkets, tavernas and nightclubs. The ideal location and extensive amenities makes Dionysos Village Resort the perfect retreat for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Dionysos Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Village Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing