We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place and will be going back”
Review of Villa Manos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Manos
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2007

I can't believe some of the negative reviews I have read on here. Are these people living in a parallel universe? I have travelled all over Europe and have stayed at good places and bad places and this place is above average.
My fiance and I arrived in Santorini in July for one weeks stay and were picked up free of charge from the airport. The hotel offers this to all guests no matter what time of the day, so that means they are on call 24 hours a day.

Upon arriving we were shown our room which had a beautiful view of the rest of the hotel and the scenery around it.
The rooms are simple but spotlessly clean and the hotel is within walking distance from the town where all the bars, cafes and little boutiques are.
Poppy and her husband were very helpful as we wanted to hire a motorbike/car and they recommended some places where we could hire from.
Overall, Poppy was super friendly and always asked us if we needed anything. I once said to her at midnight that I wanted to make coffee but couldn't be bothered to go and buy sugar, so she literally took me into her kitchen and filled an entire mugful of sugar for me and kept insisting that I take it and stop being silly! This is how friendly she is.
Am going back next year and will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mariandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 687 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2007

if you are looking for great value rooms with a lovely pool to relax by after sightseeing and not too far from thira town then i can highly recomend here. poppy, the owner and her lovely family will look after you!
do NOT expect the Hilton, just expect good clean rooms, with a basic breakfast on hand if u want it and a super pool,
lots of help and local info from the owners who are superb!
it really is a nice place to stay and in a quiet location with great sunrise views to the east coast and the island of anafi, do go on the caldera full day boat trip on pegasus or odyseus boats and see the sunset at oia town 12 km from thira, quad bikes are great and safe to get around the island. hotel is less than 15 mins walk from thira and the bus stop is almost outside if yr that lazy! poppy u r a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rog747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Have just returned form a one week stay at Villa Manos Santorini and was left with a last impression of 'being in it for the money'
Negatives:

1. money requested for the whole one week stay on arrival. Poppy asked us to pay the 140 euros per night even before being shown the room
2. A family travelling with us were initially given a terrible room next to their living quarters. So it is essentail to check before you arrive
3. There is no bar facilities and they shup up shop at 9pm so you cannot get anything to drink after this time. The pool bar was also closed for the whole stay with a meek excuse of being noisy at night
4. As per other reviews the shower is terrible
5. Do not believe that the hotel is a 15 mins walk to Fira. I walked this back and it took me 25mins (downhill) The road is also very dangerous especially if you have children and uphill on the way to Fira
6. the so called beautiful village of Karterados is also a 20 min walk in the dark back as no street lights
7. They sell the property as selfcatering and in our room we had 2 cups, 1 glass, 2 plates and 1 knife - for 4 people.
8. Poppy tries to sell every foible as 'her lifes work etc and will not doubt reply in a similiar style to this.
9. In summary the pool is lovely but too far away to walk with families to anywhere and expensive with no amenties. They also charge you for breafast on top at 5 euros eack and do nothing to make you feel welcomed. I would avoid

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rosieroo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

The owners were excellent at picking us up at the port when our ferry arrived and drove us to the airport to get our flight to Athens at 6:15 am. The pool was spacious and wonderful. But that is end of the good news! The rooms are very poorly decorated or supplied: no telephone, no clock radio, hairdryer, two dorm style single beds, only two sheets-no blankets or covers, each guest got only one towel (hard and not very clean) which was folded at the end of the bed as there was no towel rack or hooks in the tiny bathroom. The shower was very small and looked dirty, with a very discoloured towel (floormat). We even ran out of toilet paper. The matresses were hard and the little single pillow was flat and hard. We have never stayed in such a sparsely furnished room. The breakfast for 5 euros was horrible, one slice of processed cheese, a fried egg, coffee and hard toasted bread. We asked for a room with a view, it turned out to be view of the road.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank apcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Not only did I love the island of Santorini, but Poppy and her family made our stay so wonderful and relaxing. They were so warm and inviting and incredibly helpful as to where things were on the island, bus schedules etc. and even picked us up and dropped us off at the port at no cost to us. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely come back here if and when I make it back to Santorini. Thanks Poppy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hairikalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

This hotel is located in a perfect location. It is very close to the Fira city, with bus stop just outside the door but it has a very quiet enviroment hotel that you would feel very romantics with your lover when you are swimming in the lovely pool!
The hotel owner's family are so friendly and helpful! They provided pick up from port and drive me to port when i was leaving! Room are clean and everything are just so good! and you won't believe their low price while they have so many good points. I have travelled to Santorini four times and I spent three times staying in this lovely hotel. 100% highly recommand.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank King_Man_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We were in Santorini for two-and a-half days in June 2007, traveling with a 10 and 12 year old.

We'll echo everything about Poppy, her family, and their hospitality, which is to say that it's extraordinary.

First, the family works incredibly hard during the peak tourist season. They pick up/drop-off their guests at either the ferry or the airport which basically means being on call 24 hours. The planes often arrive late (connecting from the mainland) so it's not unusual for Poppy and her husband to be driving to the
airport at 2am or 5am. In Greece we learned that GMT stands for "Greek Maybe Time" so everyone goes with the flow, including the airlines :-).

Despite the crazy tourist season, Poppy is always helpful. Her and the family will assist with getting cars, arranging day trips, advising on where to eat, best beaches etc. Villa Manos stands out for the quality of service provided.

The facility is really very clean and the pool was top-notch. Our kids loved it and it was a welcome respite from the heat.

Speaking of heat, it was over 100 degrees F when we arrived. Normally, an air-conditioned room is 8 Euros extra
but Poppy was just waiving that for every guest at the hotel. Another example of Poppy's thoughtfulness.

We'd been traveling for a couple of weeks so had the hotel do our laundry for 12 euro which is incredibly fair considering what hotels on the mainland would charge.

The rooms are a decent size, we were a family of four and we had two rooms with two kid beds and one adult bed. Frankly, you're not spending much time in the rooms anyway and we found ourselves just popping in and out.

The rooms were clean, functional, and sturdy with nice tile floors and appropriate furnishings. The bathroom is reasonably sized but the shower is small so you might find that a tight fit. I'm 6'3" and it worked for me so it should work for most anyone.
Each room has a deck as well and it was nice to sit out on in the evening.

The hotel is obviously not on the caldera so if you want that "cave" experience, look at places up on Oai. Some people we met spent a night on the caldera in an expensive cave hotel (just to have had the experience) and then moved on to
hotels like VM for the rest of their stay.

At Villa Manos, you either have to walk into Fira (Thira), rent a moped, quad, or car, or take the bus which stops conveniently 150 meters from the hotel.

Getting around Santorini is easy so don't worry about that. We rented a car (30 euros regular rate) and gas was the most reasonable of any place we'd been in Europe (France, Italy & Athens). I think it was around 1 euro/litre. There are lots of
quads and mopeds in use on the island.

There are plenty of grocery stores around so picking up goods for eating, beach toys, pharmacy is easily taken care of.

All in all, an incredible hotel for the price, the pool, and the hospitality. It comes with our highest recommendation for families with children, young couples, those on a budget.

Poppy - if you're ever in Seattle, you have a standing offer for us to host you and your family. We greatly appreciated the hospitality.

Finally, Santorini is even more beautiful than we imagined. We only spent 2.5 days there but if you weren't in a hurry at all, I could see spending a week and just relaxing at the beaches, exploring Old Thira and the ancient digs, seeing the volcano, and enjoying the sunsets.

<end>

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SeattleWA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.5 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
3.0 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#20 of 75 in Kamari
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.8 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
4.2 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Manos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Manos

Address: Karteradhos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range: $28 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Manos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Manos in Santorini is a traditional yet newly built hotel. Kept in spotless condition and family run, it can be found in the center of Santorini island. Hotel Villa Manos can be found in the area of Karterados, with its' traditional square, tavernas, the bakery and small shops. Hotel Villa Manos is within walking distance of Fira the island capital. One can found the local bus stop right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Manos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Manos Hotel
Manos Hotel Karterádhos
Villa Manos Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing