We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome, super-clean, great value - loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension George
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, super-clean, great value - loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We flew to Santorini and stayed at Pension George for 2 nights at the beginning of our stay and 1 night at the end (we headed to Amorgos for the rest). Helen and George were excellent hosts - they picked us up from the airport, dropped us off and picked us up at the ferry terminal when we headed to Amorgos and then dropped us off at the airport again when we were leaving. This was a luxury for us as we're more used to finding our own way on public transport.The hotel is lovely and quiet - big, spotlessly clean rooms with balconies and fridges, lots of trees and flowers around the pool. The village feels more like the outsirts of the island's centre and has car hire, a fantastic bakery (specialising in delicacies from Crete), a couple of tavernas and the hotel is a 5 minute stroll from the bus stop where you can catch a bus into the centre (bus trip is about 5 minutes). We will definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Santorini, including my parents. The hotel is good for couples - both young and young at heart and families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baozi_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    85
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
161
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

We're just back from a 2 week island hopping trip and our first stop was Pension George. Vivi, daughter, generously picked us up from airport and a few days later dropped us off at port, taking so much stress out of the trip. Our 4 year old daughter was over the moon with the facilities, the pool is quiet, spotless and the surrounding garden and shady terrace is fabulous. Our room was basic but more than adequate, immaculate. For the price we paid it was a fantastic start to our 2 weeks. Thanks so much to Helen for her local knowledge and friendliness and George whom we met briefly but seemed like a long lost Uncle when he met our Sophie! Thanks to the family for our stay with you. We will without hesitation recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed here twice during our island hopping holiday. On arrival George met us at the airport and delivered us to the port when we left, this saved us four taxi rides and any worry about missing flights or finding places etc. Given how inexpensive the room rates are and how expensive petrol is I don't know how George can afford to run this service.

Helen, George's wife is a warm unflappable, everybody's mum English woman, nothing is too much trouble and the places she recommended us to stay on the other islands were equally good and great value too. She knows everybody and seems to have friends everywhere.

The pension is deceptively large with a great pool, many of the rooms are up on the second floor making them a little cooler and more airy. George and Helen's daughter folds your towels into the shape of swans and puts fresh flowers or flower petals in the rooms too. Everything is very clean. Others have mentioned trouble with the water, we only once experienced this when I think everybody was trying to shower at the same time. After a couple of minutes everything was fine again so nothing to worry about really.

It is a little way outside town but there are local scooter and quad bike hire places very close by and a bus stop if you don't want to walk or drive. If you want to eat breakfast outside the hotel there is a fantastic bakery 5 min away with fresh baked croissants, cakes, pasties and good coffee plus there are several cafés /restaurants for dinner. Closer to town would probably be rather too noisy for us to sleep anyway

We hired a small motorbike first visit from the place closest to the hotel, it was noisy and not too well maintained, second visit we hired an excellent quad bike from a place a little higher up the road on the other side from the first place. Prices were about the same.

We would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend it as an ideal central base to explore the island if you don't want to be in the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed at Pension George for two nights with my brother. We are two students doing a backpacking trip. Pension George offered hotel amenities for hostel prices!

Our room was simple but clean and functional. The property was beautiful, with a great pool and terrace. There was free wifi but breakfast and air conditioning were charged extra.

Pension George is in the town of Karterados - it was about a 20 minute walk into Thira. Karterados itself doesn't have much to offer, but definitely check out the taverna around the corner from the Pension, across the from car rental office (sorry, forget the name!).

Pension George is definitely a good stay on Santorini if you're a budget-conscious traveller!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingjaysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Pension George for the last 3 years whilst holidaying in Santorini. We can't rate it highly enough. George & Helen have always made our stay relaxing, enjoyable & very pleasant. Definitely consider Pension George wehn planning a trip to Santorini!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Choosing Pension George was one of the best decisions we made on our trip. George was kind enough to both pick us up and drop us off at the ferry terminal for no cost. Helen was always available when we needed anything. We stayed in room 12 and it was amazing. We had the whole loft to the two of us. The balcony had the most amazing view of both Fira and the Mediterranean ocean. The kitchenette saved us a lot of money. There is a big grocery store just up the hill. I only have two complaints about Pension George, the shower facility was not to great. The showers were very small and you would usually find yourself wrapped around by the shower curtains. My other complaint is the beds. The beds are very had and pillows lumpy. That being said, you just can't beat the price. We spent only $40 euro night.

I would recommend that while you are there that you rent a 150cc ATV. Although the Fira was only 15min walk away, the ATV made it very convenient to get around the whole island. The ATV is sooooo much fun too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workcyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

This place made my trip a memorable one on Santorini from the first foot step off the ferry 'till the time I departed. Pension owners George and his wife Helen went above and beyond to assure I had hassle-free, relaxing stay. Not only do they run a fabulous, well cared for and clean pension with comfortable beds, gorgeous flora and a tidy but nice pool area, but they also, at the time, picked you up and drop you off from the ferry docks and the airport, free of charge and kindly refusing even any tips. the pension is a short, relaxing walk from the town of Fira, about 10-15 minutes away. I would definitely return here should I return to Santorini in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fineshot2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
1.4 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Property: Pension George
Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension George 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing