We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension George
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I think that this is a fabulous pension. It is away from the madding crowd, but accessible to all.
Fab pool. Choice between studios that sleep up to 4. Great for mum and dad plus kids.
Can be 4 beds, for teenagers
Room 16 was where we stayed and it was fab. Great balcony over looking the pool but not visible to all.
Hosts George, who picks you up and returns you to the airport. And Helen who speaks fluent English as that is her native tongue.
Are wonderful they can't do enough to help.
There was a total of 11 of us ranging in age from 11 to 54. And we all had a great time.
A little walk about 150 mtrs, to catch the bus to either Thira, or Kamuari. Cost is 1.60 euros.
This is the third time my friend has stayed here.
Will stay again.
Lovely

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank grumorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    85
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
161
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Pension George for one week in August and we had a wonderfull time. Pension George is family driven with excellent hospitality. They are happy to help you with anything, anytime. The transport to/from the airport was also included. Pension George are located in Karteradhos, only 15-20 minutes by foot from Fira. The location is great for travelling around the island. We rented a scooter, and could easily get around. The hotel is very clean, and the rooms and hotel area is nice including a lovely pool area with sunbeds. We would highly recommend Pension George!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matssandvoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay at the end of July at the Beach Apartments was wonderful. The property is surrounded by olive, pomegranate, fig and hibiscus trees and well maintained by George. We were two families traveling together with children ages 10-15 and loved the tranquility the property offered. The apartments are spacious and very clean. The location is a bit far from town but worth staying at if you rent a car or scooter. It is somewhat what Santorini was like 20 years ago as the island is more populated than I remember. The upper bedroom window has a fabulous view of the sea. It is in walking distance to a few beach restaurants and a mini mart. I believe there is a bus stop within a 10 - 15 minute walk if you wish not to rent a car for your entire stay. George is a great host and provided our families with fresh tomatoes and figs which were delicious! Transfers to the property from the port and to the airport were included in the rate.

We were greeted by Helen and Georges' daughter who made arrangements for the rental cars and booked a boat tour for us. She is also responsible for the lovely towel swans you are greeted with on your beds. The apartment is cleaned daily and fresh towels are provided. A safe is provided and the air conditioning is welcoming in the July heat.

The owners have just finished constructing two additional cave style apartments on the property which are quite nice and I believe are ready to rent.

If you are looking for a quiet place away from the busy town this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imi1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

nice swimmingpool, but you have to share it with a lot of people sometimes (the guest of the villa rosa, the building you see on the picture on tripadvisor of pension george, come there too, We thought it might be owned by the same peole...). Friendly staff, in the center of karterados, 20-30min walk of fira. Rooms were more like nice dorms, old furnished but very clean, thin matresses. The doors slam really hard at night so if you come home from a late night at fira, you wake up the entire hallway even when you try not too (or vice versa, when you are a sleep and someone comes home late and sleeps in a room on your hall...). We had a terrace but without light so at night it wasn't possible to sit on the terrace after sunset.
The hotel provides free transfer from and to the hotel which is very good.
A bit overpriced for what you get (comparing to other places we went in greece and on the island)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from a blissful stay at George's Beach Apartments which are about 100 metres from the beach and a couple of kilometres from the unspoilt village of Karterados. It was lovely there, very peaceful as there are only about 4 apartments on the site. There is a swimming pool set in delightful gardens, or rather a garden plus smallholding which George tends with great devotion. It is a little bit of paradise....reminiscent of Santorini as it was thirty years ago. (George and his English wife Helen also have a hotel complex in the village within walking distance of the village square and local shops and tavernas) If you choose the beach apartments you will need transport to get to shops etc.
The mezzanine apartment was well equipped with kettle, toaster and plenty of plates and cutlery. The apartment was cleaned daily and we were supplied with ample clean white towels and bedding each day.The air conditioning was efficient and quiet. Everything was spotlessly clean and in excellent working order.
This is a family run business and the service they provide is efficient, graciously delivered and well judged.They will collect and return you to the airport and arrange car hire as well. An excellent choice if you want to sit on your balcony, enjoy the fragrances of a balmy evening and listen to the sound of the sea....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The best week ever.

Very convenient location in the Karteradie village. Convenient to Airport, other cities on island, (short walk to Fira), scooter rentals, car rentals, multiple restaurants, mini marts, bakeries, a few bars and a coffee shop.

Hotel has one of the best support staff I have every found. From the airport pickup, daily maid service, pool area, clean room, balconies, optional breakfast -it was a true delight to spend time here.

No fitness center beyond the pool, and walking the nearby roads. But with hills to run to the beech, or Fira, who needs a fitness center?

Room Tip: Select a pool view, and enjoyable balcony, or more private - perhaps smaller - balcony facing away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Definitely recommend this small family run hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel so dont expect 5 star amenities and furnishings. However, the hotel is great value and you can expect great service with a friendly smile.

The hotel provides free transfers to and from the airport and ferry port. We were met at the airport by Dimitri, who took us to the hotel. He is a great guy, very friendly. The room was nice and big and the pool was great. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. They helped us plan activities and gave good recommendations for eating out. They even had a free bottle of wine waiting for us in our room when we checked in, which was really lovely.

We stayed in a studio apartment that had a kitchenette and balcony overlooking the pool. There was an in room safe, airconditioning and fridge, which we used for our own breakfasts. The room even came with a cat that liked to sleep on our balcony in the mornings.

The hotel is situated in a quiet area about 15 minutes walk from the main town of Thira. The walk into Thira is not too onerous, but you can get quite sweaty when its hot. There is also a bus stop about 200m from the hotel, but the buses are not always reliable.

Nearby the hotel are a number of convenience stores and quad bike/car rental places and also few good restaurants. We mostly ate at the local Karteradhos restaurants (Skaramagos) though because they were cheaper, better value and nicer than the restaurants we ate at in Thira. In our opinion Thira restaurants are overpriced and touristy.

If you plan on relaxing by the pool or even going down to the beach, reception can provide you with beach towels to use free of charge. This was really handy for our day tour.

My only complaint with our stay would be that we would have preferred a double bed. As it was we had 2 single beds that didn't completely push all the way together. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our time at Pension George.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
1.4 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Property: Pension George
Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension George 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing