We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Great Location!”
Review of Pension George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension George
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel. Great Location!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Pension George. We were picked up at the airport by Dimitri and taken to the hotel which was very kind and convenient. The hotel is in a very quiet part of Karderados which is fantastic! In the village there are various restaruants and shops but the main town of Fira is only a 15-20 minute walk with many bars on route.

The Hotel itself was very nice. Helen was very nice and incredibly hospitable. Lovely pool area of which we had to ourselves for most of our week stay. We had a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival in our room which was very thoughtful!

We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Santorini!! Top stuff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    88
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
173
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Its located about 15 minutes to walk to Thira centre. Owners are Helen and George who are super helpful and extremely nice: George even picked us up from the port at 01:30 at night without extra charge!

Everything you need is really closeby: car rentals, restaurants, supermarkets, bakeries.

We can only recommend this place in all aspects: spotless clean, good location, extraordinary service, nice rooms, great atmosphere.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after flying in and collected at airport by owners (then dropped to port at end of stay for free). Nice little spot but not near any beaches. A 25min walk to Thira. We rented quad bikes which is probably the best and most convenient way to see the whole island and can highly recommend even if you haven't driven one before (various rental places 2 min walk from hotel). The large room was very clean as was the pool. Air con was required and worked well. Located in quiet area of town and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very good value as rooms are cheap but there is no heat and we were there in a cool mid-May when the room and the beds were damp.Complimentary lifts from and to the airport are a nice touch especially on a first visit and George pointed out useful things (bus stop etc.) en route.Do not take the breakfast--it is the worst we have ever had and you are obviously meant to make your own arrangements.Nor is it cheap for what you get! Finally, if you have any requests for heat etc, they will be ignored!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a balcony that gets the sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyfur77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at Pension George on our way to Amorgos Island and then again on our return home. We very much appreciated the complimentary service of taxiing us to and from the airport and harbour.
Each of the 2 rooms we stayed in were very nice and clean, we had balconies with views of the pretty gardens and pool. Helen, the owner was very helpful and gave us all the right tips to make the most of our short stays.
Pension George is positioned in the middle of the Island so it is easy to visit all the sights, we enjoyed coming back to the quiet oasis of their gardens and pool after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneender39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Helen and George were great hosts. Loved our room and the pool. It is a little out of the way and the bus is not that dependable. We just ended up walking into Thira (slowly because of the heat). The hotel is quiet and clean. There are two excellent bakeries in close proximity for breakfasts and lunches. We rented a scooter for 20 Euro a day when we wanted to see the rest of the island. Very good value for what you recieve and worth the distance. Pick up and drop off at the ferry terminal too---a great help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Pension George - family of four (two teenagers) and have had a wonderful stay in Santorini. The Pension is beautifully presented and immaculately clean. Helen is really helpful and very available for advice and booking trips. The pool we used everyday and was great, could not have managed without it in the heat. There are a couple of traditional tavernas close by.
The only reason for 4 not 5 stars is the swimming pool caused our bathers to turn yellow, the beds were rather hard and there was an uphill walk to the bus stop. The walk was not long but doing it a couple of times a day did wear a little thin! Karterados is quiet and we loved being out of Fira.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#8 of 15 in Karteradhos
41 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Property: Pension George
Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Family Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension George 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing