We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Santorini base”
Review of Pension George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension George
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good Santorini base”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after flying in and collected at airport by owners (then dropped to port at end of stay for free). Nice little spot but not near any beaches. A 25min walk to Thira. We rented quad bikes which is probably the best and most convenient way to see the whole island and can highly recommend even if you haven't driven one before (various rental places 2 min walk from hotel). The large room was very clean as was the pool. Air con was required and worked well. Located in quiet area of town and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    86
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
169
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very good value as rooms are cheap but there is no heat and we were there in a cool mid-May when the room and the beds were damp.Complimentary lifts from and to the airport are a nice touch especially on a first visit and George pointed out useful things (bus stop etc.) en route.Do not take the breakfast--it is the worst we have ever had and you are obviously meant to make your own arrangements.Nor is it cheap for what you get! Finally, if you have any requests for heat etc, they will be ignored!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a balcony that gets the sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyfur77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at Pension George on our way to Amorgos Island and then again on our return home. We very much appreciated the complimentary service of taxiing us to and from the airport and harbour.
Each of the 2 rooms we stayed in were very nice and clean, we had balconies with views of the pretty gardens and pool. Helen, the owner was very helpful and gave us all the right tips to make the most of our short stays.
Pension George is positioned in the middle of the Island so it is easy to visit all the sights, we enjoyed coming back to the quiet oasis of their gardens and pool after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneender39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Helen and George were great hosts. Loved our room and the pool. It is a little out of the way and the bus is not that dependable. We just ended up walking into Thira (slowly because of the heat). The hotel is quiet and clean. There are two excellent bakeries in close proximity for breakfasts and lunches. We rented a scooter for 20 Euro a day when we wanted to see the rest of the island. Very good value for what you recieve and worth the distance. Pick up and drop off at the ferry terminal too---a great help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Pension George - family of four (two teenagers) and have had a wonderful stay in Santorini. The Pension is beautifully presented and immaculately clean. Helen is really helpful and very available for advice and booking trips. The pool we used everyday and was great, could not have managed without it in the heat. There are a couple of traditional tavernas close by.
The only reason for 4 not 5 stars is the swimming pool caused our bathers to turn yellow, the beds were rather hard and there was an uphill walk to the bus stop. The walk was not long but doing it a couple of times a day did wear a little thin! Karterados is quiet and we loved being out of Fira.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Pension George is a little inconveniently located in Santorini, if you don't have a car. I had a car, and had to drive another 5 minutes or so up the main road to Fira for nightlife and then another 15 minutes or so to reach the black beach. That being said, the room was great value for the money, very clean, very nice and responsive staff. I would recommend Pension George to anyone who wants to experience Santorini but has tighter budget constraints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Due to the strikes in greece we were unable to get our ferry to paros as planned. Having stayed at pension george 5 years previously, we contacted Helen who was able to not only provide accommodation at such short notice but also arranged pick up from the port. The room was not as nice as the room we stayed in 5 years ago (small & no balcony) but was spotlessly clean and very good value at only €50. Pension George has a small pool area which was lovely on the hot day we arrived. Karterados is a nice village with a few restaurants and only a 20minute walk from Fira. I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#3 of 15 in Karteradhos
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#4 of 39 in Perissa
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Property: Pension George
Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Family Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension George 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing