We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we had a great stay!”
Review of Pension George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension George
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Karteradhos
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we had a great stay!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a great time at Pension george.
When we arrived with the ferry, george was already waiting to pick up all the new guests. We really appreciated this free service as it was very chaotic at the port. We were very glad we didn't have to figure out how to get to the pension.

When we arrived we were immediateley welcomed by Helen and their daughter who showed ut the rooms. They're very friendly people!! Helen also really helped us on picking an excursion and giving some more tips on what to do on the island.
(the 'see santorini in 1 day' excursion and visiting Santo winery (with the priceless view) are fantatstic!)
There were always ready to answer our questions.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The airconditioning worked great and there's a fridge which is always useful!

The pool was great to dive into after a busy day. it was very well maintained.
The little garden with tables to sit was very cute.

Santorini is a beautiful island, definitely going back some day!

We had a great stay at pension George and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    85
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
164
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beauraing, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel is situated at a 20-25 minutes from Thira - a quite enjoyable walk despite the traffic on the road. Pick up from and to the airport are free and a most appreciated service.

Rooms are clean, quite large and all have a fridge - highly used in the summer ! Some also have a small kitchen. There is always the possibility to get some dishes from Helen. Beds are a bit hard though - something your back will remember if you're not used to it..

Helen will help you with all the excursions, vehicle renting, etc. - giving you most useful tips to get around the island.

This is a quiet place and the clients are mostly very nice (although I had a group of not so quiet people during 3 days of my 10 days stay ... so I guess it really depends on who are your neighbours) and the pool is a gem in the end of the day to cool off after a day of visit.

All in all, an excellent option if you don't absolutely look for the caldera view. The village itself is full a charming Greek atmosphere and is worth a visit - nothing funnier than to get lost in the maze of the little alleys !

Room Tip: Back rooms have the sun in the morning and shade in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiaora-sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Booked with Helen and George on recommendation of a friend - who's still a friend! Pension George is a small but beautifuly clean hotel about 20 minutes walk from Thira. Our studio room (13) had everything we needed including a full size fridge to keep drinks cool, a balcony to the rear of the hotel - so sun in the morning and shade in the evening. Pool was spotless and never crowded. We were transfered to and from the hotel by George which is a really nice touch - take less than 10 minutes.

As on other reviews, there are a couple of restaurants very close to the hotel that are reasonably priced - as you head up the hill to Thira the prices increase in line with the tourist level. Views from the hilltop restaurants are fantastic - but you will be paying top price for food and drink. If you check out restaurants a couple of streets back from the main drag prices fall off.

We can recommend Pension George without worry, but best thing is to contact Helen who gets back to you by email pretty quick if you have any queries.

Sandra and Bob (Wirral)

Room Tip: Rooms 12,13 & 14 get sun in the morning, 11 & 15 in the evening,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple13630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

If you're looking for an inexpensive option in Santorini, you can't go wrong with Pension George. It's a cute, well-maintained and nicely decorated little hotel about 15 minutes (walking) to the capital Fira.

Our room was clean and had a nice little balcony with a table overlooking the pool.

And the owners George (from Greece) and Helen (from England) are very friendly and helpful. Their daughter picked us up from the airport.

Now, the bad: We had a single roll of toilet paper for two days and had to ask the front desk for a replacement. They also took away our towels on the second day (presumably to clean) but didn't replace them.

I'd also highly recommend against the breakfast. We paid 12 Euros for what was easily the most disappointing breakfast of our trip. Toasted white bread with packaged jam, tea and a cup of yogurt about the size of your thumb. I wouldn't dream of making that for myself home in Canada, why would I want that while visiting a Greek island?

Overall, we were satisfied with Pension George.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahatrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our second trip here and just as perfect this time around. We received a very warm welcome at the airport where we were transported to the pension, and our hosts Helen and George offered perfect hospitality. Our room (number 11 - has a mezzanie level with the bed on, nice and quirky!) was spotlessly clean, with a view over the pool. Yes it is basic but there was nothing we required that the room didn't offer, including a lovely balcony, very welcome air conditioning and even a safe. And the bed was really comfortable.
Pension George offers breakfast, arranges trips and has a bookcase in reception for those who may have run out of reading material. It's a couple of minutes from great local restaurants and aabout a 15min walk from Thira, the capital. Buses and car/motorcycle/quadbike hire all available close by too.
It offered my husband and I relaxation in a homely environment, lovely warm and sunny weather - and all for a fantastic price.

Room Tip: Room 11 overlooks the pool and has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparklyjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My 17 year old niece and I stayed at Pension George in Santorini for three nights in early June. We loved it. The hotel is run by a great couple (Helen and George). George was waiting for us at the port when we arrived and we were back at the hotel and checked in in no time. The room was clean and beautiful and very reasonably priced. The town (Karteradhos) is a good 20 minute walk from the Fira on a busy road but it was nice to stay out of the really touristy centre. George also recommended a little local restaurant in Karteradhos called 'Savas' which was excellent. If I return to Santorini I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caminowalker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The pension was the perfect spot to start our Greek adventure.
The rooms are very spacious and clean. The pool is unbeatable after a long day in the sun. While it is not located in the village of Fira it is definitely walking distance. It took my husband and in10 minutes from our door to the central bus station in Fira. While it isn't a picturesque walk it is clean and safe. Save yourself the bus fare if you are able to walk. Th transfers from the port were great! Recommendations from Helen and her daughter for tours and places to eat and see were perfect. Restaurants in KarterAdos are good and cheaper than most in Fira.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelCarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 39 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
1.4 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension George

Property: Pension George
Address: 30 Zambeliou | Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Karteradhos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension George 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pension George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension George Hotel
George Hotel Karterádhos
Pension George Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing