We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in a perfect setting - lots of nice touches; a lovely family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #8 of 15 Karteradhos B&B and Inns
Bradford west yorks England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a perfect setting - lots of nice touches; a lovely family run hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel was lovely very Greek and although not fancy, it felt homely and welcoming and very, very clean and bright.

Our room had unspoilt views across to the sea with lovely french doors and beautiful blue shutters opening out onto the balcony. The bedding was lovely and bed comfy. There was a hair dryer in the room and satellite TV and even a fridge - great for storing cold drinks and snacks. There was even - get this - Free WiFi and free air conditioning (which you sooo needed in August it didnt go below 30 degrees at night) I thought all of this was a lot for a one star hotel.

We didn't book the breakfast which was an extra five euros, but it looked basic continental. To be honest there is a large supermarket two minutes up the road, we just bought milk cereal bread and juice and had our own breakfast on our balcony every morning. There was a bar and coffee machine which you could get drinks from at any time for a reasonable price, but no snack bar.

Another great thing about this hotel was the staff right from the cleaners to the owners. They couldn't do enough for you. They even picked us up and dropped us off at the airport.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Fira the main town on Santorini. The hotel is a short walk from the main road into town - about 200 metres which is lit but can be dark at night but you do feel very safe there....we just ran down the dark bit - much to the amusement of the locals who thought we were mad. It really is ideally placed to get to everywhere on the island though and a budget price compared to the hotels in Fira town itself.

You can get to everywhere you want on the island by bus - which are very new and air conditioned coaches. fares range from 1.40 to 2 euros. The bus stop is literally at the top of the road (2 mins walk from hotel) and run regularly until late at night.

Places to visit: Oia - the most beautiful place on Earth - legendary sunsets no beaches to speak of in the town. 1.40 euros by bus from Fira main station we went at 4pm nd stayed for the sunset; stunning town and shops, historical places of interest.

Perivolos and Perissa 2 euros on bus black sand beaches, cool bars, cheapest restaurants on the island. try Gods Garden. Lot of English here, but still very greek classy feel to it. sunbeds vary on this beach from 5 euros for two beds and brolly to 10 euros; although there are double beds and four posters that you can rent for considerably more. There is a small waterpark here too.

Kamari - black sandy beach 7 euros for beds and brolly 1.40 to get there by bus. cleanest sea you have ever seen.

Red and white beach Akrotiri - a must see for the amazement factor...can only get to white one by boat and its 5 euros each red beach can walk to. beds 7 euros get there by bus for 1.40 euros. Be sure to take food and drinks as there is nothing on these beaches but people.

Fira - 10 mins walk from the hotel - great shops very scenic and classy bit expensive but we found nice restaurant called the Parea which served great Greek food not to dear expect to pay at least 30 - 50 euros for a basic greek meal for two with wine. coffees and milk shakes in many bars were 8 euros.

If you go on a boat trip, take the cable car down to the port 4 euros and take donkeys back up at 5 euros they are well looked after and it all adds to a wonderful experience - if a little hairy.

car hire is 40 euros quad bikes and scooters around 20 to 25 per day but why bother when buses are so regular and great?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank badgerdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Although it is located a little away from the main town, Hotel Olympia is a charming little hotel with very helpful staff. It also has a swimming pool, and the hotel architecture is rather charming.

Recommended for travellers on a budget - it was a steal at 30 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

It is a 5 minute walk to downtown Thira (where everyone parties), yet it is in a secluded and quiet location. You will not find a better value for your money. If you are rich and money is no problem stay in Oia on a cliffside hotel and pay 10 times more. For the rest of you, rent a car for a day (20 E), drive around the amazing island, and let Hotel Olympia be your sanctuary.

The best part of the hotel is George. He is an amazon person and will help you in any way he can. Talk to him and become his friend. He cried when we left...he is the sweetest person. He made our trip.

Yes, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I spent my vacations twice, I will have a good souvenir but I know I will never come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonquille_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2010

very clean and quiet and great breakfast each morning. George was such a nice man and helped us plan our day. Pool could be alittle warmer but very clean

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregsgreecevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Our trip was filled with many crazy and stressful events, but this hotel was an answer to prayer. The staff made all the difference. They helped us to navigate our way through the crisis we faced.

As for the hotel itself. It was just outside the hussle and bustle. It was clean. It was so nice to be able to lay in bed open the doors and enjoy the Aegean sky (without being disturbed by drunk people in the streets). The affordability allowed us to be in a magical place, without having to sacrifice our savings - it was a sweet deal!

I really believe it was God who allowed us to cross paths with this family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Such a nice family run hotel in a nice quiet location. Short walk to Fira and there is also a bus stop close to the hotel from where it is easy to go for example to the beach in Kamari.

The only minus that I can come up with was the pool's water temperature. It was so cold that staying there longer than a few minutes was impossible! Maybe it is warmer in summer months.

I would defenately recommend to everybody and stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezme81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension George
Pension George
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lodos
Hotel Lodos
#10 of 15 in Karteradhos
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna Pension
Anna Pension
#3 of 15 in Karteradhos
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: Karteradhos 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Olympia 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia offers a traditional Cycladic setting conveniently located in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, yet only a few minutes walk (600 meter) from Fira.Hotel Olympia is within walking distance from restaurants, taverns, shops, currency exchange and bus service points.We offer two swimming pools, one catering for adults and the other for children where you will enjoy a relaxing atmosphere.We also provide spacious private parking, a lounge/bar area and a friendly staff willing to assist with any needs you may have.Our comfortable rooms are provided with daily cleaning, private bathroom, air-conditioning, mini-refrigerator, satellite TV, direct dial phone and private balcony overlooking the spectacular Aegean Sea. We also offer fax and safety deposit service.Transfers offered to and from port/airport between 08:00-23:00 free of charge.Internet Access Capability as well as Wireless Internet Connection in all rooms and public areas.Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Olympia Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing