We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spend two weeks at Hotel Zorbas and we had fantastic time at this place. The hotel has the best sandy beaches in the area just in front of the rooms. Also, the swimming pool is huge with marvelous views and sunsets.The big playgrounds are perfect for children. Our room was big, very clean, well equipped for cooking and comfortable. Gardens are beautiful too. I think that the owners are the most friendly people in Greece that took care for everything we needed! If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jone_S197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Manager at Zorbas Beach Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Jone,

We appreciate that you gave some of your time to write down your comments about your stay in Hotel Zorbas Beach Village.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at our place as we always try to offer the best possible level of service to our clients.

Your encouraging comments will be shared among our staff and, no doubt, will make them smile !!

We look forward to seeing you again one day at our beach complex.
Wish you our warmest greetings.
George Lagonikakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as we stayed in a villa nearby a few years ago and knew that the location of the hotel is very special, however, the place needs serious updating.Very basic kitchen, one has to plug out one appliance to plug in another (hotplates, kettle, microwave..),, there were one pan and one pot to use so you basically eat out all the time which is OK if you do not have small children as there are a lot of good tavernas nearby. The roof in one apartment leaked when it rained, the bathrooms are very basic too.The area the hotel is in is great, lovely quiet beaches and only 15 min from Chania. We will be back but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordana30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Manager at Zorbas Beach Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us.

I am sincerely sorry that we failed meeting your expectations and I would like to express my earnest apologies.

Unfortunately, I received your complain after your departure and through tripadvisor when it is already late to fix these problems. If your apartment was such a problem we would have gladly accomodated you with another and we would have upgraded your room type.

Your feedback is valuable for us in order to continue the effort towards continuous improvement and excellence in our services.

Your remarks have been already taken into serious consideration for our renovation works and also shared with the concerned services.

We wished that you had also taken into consideration the variety of services that we offer compared to our relative very low prices before forming your opinion.

Your review gives us the opportunity to confirm to every viewer or possible future guests that we put all of our effort to make the vacation of our guests very relaxing and enjoyable.

Should you decide to come back to Crete, please feel free contact me at my email address (info@hotel-zorbas.gr). It would give us a great pleasure to have the chance to welcoming you again in our beach hotel and change your opinion about our place.

Once again please accept my deepest apologies.
Kindest regards,
George Lagonikakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nicosia, Cyprus
14
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quiet, clean, comfortable at a very good price. I'll be back summertime for more vacation.
Excellent place to relax with a wonderfull view of the sea and nice beach. Not too far from the city of hania. Offers you a good sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very quiet and relaxing holiday. The apartments are located right next to the sea/beach with nice views from the balconies. The complex itself is well maintained with pleasant 'gardens' and colourful paintwork. The pool area and pool water were very clean.

The studio was very basic but adequate considering the time spent inside and it was cleaned every day. Towels are provided in abundance as well as basic bed linen. Pillows are like pancakes. Not a problem for us but if you are a fussy sleeper I would recommend you bring your own.

The staff are all friendly and helpful.

The pool bar serves very good food - except for one night when we were given a plate of bones... (don't have the 'lamb') but this was a one off and in general the food was excellent and a good price. N.B. bring your buffet pants as the menus are always a cheesefest and they are very generous with the free calorific extras. The Thanasis bar next door also serves good food. Alternatively, you can walk to Stavros village for more good eateries.

Note that although the place is 'on the beach' and next to the sea it is not located on a vast expanse of sandy beach, it is quite rocky. However, this did not matter as the small cove by the pool is sandy (just small) and the water is lovely - great for snorkelling lots of fish on offer, just beware of the pedicure putrid flesh eaters. This beach was very quiet (this may have been due to the late season) and empty most days. People flock to the Thanasis beach next door (<1 min walk) because this has free sunbeds and umbrellas. People with cars also flock to the Stavros beach and Zorbas filming beach as these are much larger - you can also walk to these beaches ~ 20mins.

For serious sightseeing and exploring you will need a car. We did not have one as we only wanted to reclinay on the beach and there are a good selection of beaches and food places within walking distance. There is also shop in Stavros village ~ 15 mins walk. The only problem encountered with no car was that there is no cashpoint anywhere. We had to take a taxi to Chania ($20) - you can get the bus $2 if you can get up early - to find a cashpoint. However, this made for a change to have a day in the town and it is definitely worth a visit for photos/gift purchasing opportunities etc.

The only negative points encountered were that the pool bar was sometimes not open for lunch as advertised. Lunch is advertised as 12.30 - 3.30 but some days we could see from the beach that it was closed. This was probably because there was no one at the pool and no demand for lunch, I am sure that in busier seasons it would be open. It was always open for dinner in the evening and breakfast if you pre-ordered it the night before.

Lastly, the air conditioning was not included in the price of the booking and we were told on arrival it was extra. We did not have it and managed fine. This is not a reflection on the hotel but check with your booking company whether it is included or not.

N.B. This is more a family/couples place - there is no booming nightlife or packs of youths.
N.B. Beware of murderin’ dogs when walking to the village.
N.B. Penelope Cruz cleans the rooms. She doesn't say much but she is very efficient!

Room Tip: N.B. the posh apartments with separate bedrooms and better sized balconies are furthest from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TTwoscoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Manager at Zorbas Beach Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We would first like to thank you for the time you took for sharing your comments with us and potential future travelers. We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed a lot your stay with us.

Please be assured that we rate customer satisfaction as our highest priority. Please, accept our advice that you could have explained to us what kind of pillow you needed and we would have changed them for you !! Regarding rooms, we are putting great efforts to maintain the standing expected by our clients.

We do always want to improve our service this is why we follow all the comments positive or negative.

For one more time, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Hotel Zorbas Beach Village.

Warmest regards,
George Lagonikakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lived in famillie Hotel Zorbas from 15 to 29 September 2013th
Upon arrival we were greeted by George who offered us a larger room because we were 3 people George thought it was more comfortable for us.

The food as Maria do in resturanten are some of the best homemade food we have ever had in Crete.

You feel really welcome by these incredible warm-hearted people.

the swimming pool is clean sea water is the luxury of it

And the location is superb with stunning views and beautiful sunsets.

I Can only recommend this place to all who want peace and quiet scenic views and stay with the beautiful people


During our stay we decided to adopt a dog to Denmark, and we were very excited if it was welcome at the Hotel.

But everyone was again very helpful and understanding and really some true animal lovers.

sincerely,

Pernille Bibi Christian And the dog OuzoFortryd redigeringer
Nyt! Klik på ordene ovenfor for at redigere og få vist alternative oversættelser

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I paid 35€ per room and what I get was more than I expected for this money. Basic furniture, but a very large room. The kitchen is very basic too (our room was for 3 people and we had only 3 glasses, 3 forks,.. very basic but enough to cook). Every apartment has its own view of the garden, the pool is really big, the complex is right at the sea. Stavros beach is wonderfull and its at 2 minutes by car (you can go walking).
The only "negative" thing is that is far from everything. You need a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yomisma1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My parents and cousin stayed here in September for a week. I was a bit worried about the sea water pool burning my kids eyes so i booked in a nearby hotel instead. Big mistake. Luckily the owners were so friendly and understanding they told us we could come and go as we please using all the facilities. We spent all day there. The pool is amazing and didn't burn the kids eyes. The playground kept the kids amused for hours. The view is unbelievable. The staff are very friendly and always ready to help. The rooms have everything you need and are kept spotless daily. A car is a must if you want to do some sightseeing, that is if you can drag the kids away from the hotel. The location is in the middle of nowhere. You are surrounded by mountains,greenery and a rocky sea. All you hear is the waves and birds. A lot of effort was put into the gardens, every section of the hotel path has its own natural flora and fauna. The rooms have everything you need for comfort and have been kept traditional. If you are a bit funny with cleanliness this is the place for you. The rooms are spotless and kept that way everyday. This trip was a family trip and Zorbas managed to keep my kids amused all day and the adults got to relax and enjoy the most amazing views. I have booked for next year already :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavros
2.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
8.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cretan Pearl Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Paradice Hotel Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Beach Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Beach Village Hotel

Address: Stavros - Akrotiri, Stavros, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Price Range: $40 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Zorbas Beach Village Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zorbas Beach Hotel is a 3-star beachfront complex of 53 apartments and studios that lies on the most beautiful part of the Akrotiri peninsula in Chania. It is situated at the most privileged position that boasts stunning views over the Cretan Sea. It is located ideally right on a sandy beach, inside 30.000 M2 of private land. Set right a few steps from clean and well maintained scenic beaches, the hotel is surrounded by an unspoilt natural area which protects it from the city's noise and crowds. The crystal sea in front of it, the excellent home-made traditional food, a very personal approach, as well as the comfortable apartments and studios will make your stay an unforgettable one. Amenities of the Beach Complex: • Sea water swimming pool for adults and separate for children (1000 m2) • Outdoor dining area at the pool with high quality Cretan cuisine • Pool barstools, free pool umbrellas & sun beds, pool snack bar • Free high speed wireless internet access in the entire hotel complex • Free internet corner at the reception/lobby • Free parking area • Tennis court • Children's outdoor playgrounds • Outdoor chess board • Laundry and dry cleaning service • Organized sandy beach with free umbrellas and sun beds • Airport/ Port transfer service • Small library corner at the reception/lobby • Colorful gardens with local flora • Doctor (external collaborator) • Taxi and car rental services • Credit card accepted, fax & photocopies services • Trip Arrangements • Cretan Dancing Nights at the Pool Area • Free Maps • Fishing, bicycling, snorkeling & diving activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zorbas Beach Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel Stavros, Greece - Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing