We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Beach Villas - Beautiful setting, splendid accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Blue Beach Villas are set in idyllic surroundings overlooking the bay and mountain at Stavros in Crete. We stayed at the villas for two weeks and were delighted with the accommodation in all respects. Initially we were offered a cabin style apartment that lacked space and a sea view. We were disappointed but matters were quickly rectified and we were offered a larger apartment overlooking the sea for an additional nominal cost. The apartment was extremely well-equipped, spacious and comfortable. It was maintained to a very high standard and cleaned daily during our stay. Towels and bed linen were changed regularly every two or three days.

The apartments were very capably managed by Katerina who is an absolute gem and would be a credit to any employer. Any requests were met promptly and helpfully with great charm and superb speed of service. We used the pool, which was safe, clean and also well-maintained.

We chose not to eat at the Villas as, in our view, the Taverna menu was better suited to families with children. Other English guests who did eat at Blue Beach said that they felt that the food was below average and that the service was poor. No worries as there are an ample number of tavernas and restaurants within easy reach that are of good quality. We did have an issue with our bar bill. If you run a tab at the bar we’d recommend keeping a record of what you consume as the system relied on scraps of paper and the server’s memory that’s prone to error.

Stavros is not a highly commercialised resort and all the better for that. There are a few tavernas and a couple of local shops. A hire car is an absolute must for those wishing to travel the island and enjoy its rich culture and history and majestic scenery.

One advantage for us is that Blue Beach is focused on providing high quality accommodation and doesn’t function as a “holiday camp” as some do. We loved it. We would recommend that potential guests discuss the villas being offered to them in detail to avoid disappointment. In terms of costs, internet access and air conditioning are both chargeable extras (Euros 10 for 200 minutes wi-fi and Euros 8 per day for air conditioning).

We would wholeheartedly recommend the Blue Beach Villas to other travellers who are looking to enjoy a peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings. Stavros is an ideal location from which to explore Western Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Larkins_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

My partner, his mother and I booked at Blue Beach based on the website and our correspondence with Manolis. We had never been to Greece before -- and this was a terrific introduction to Crete. The impeccably maintained and spacious apartments have balconies that overlook the water. The view to the peninsula (where the final scene of Zorba the Greek was shot) was breathtaking. Blue Beach is, literally, right on the beach, but without the crowds of other places on Crete. (We went in August, high tourist season, and were shielded here from the hustle and bustle.) A larger inlet is a short hike away in Stavros.

And the food -- oh! There is an amazing Israeli-Arabic-Greek restaurant just a short walk along the shoreline that is perfect for conversation at sunset. A short drive away is Tesnaras, with two amazing tavernas. Chania is only slightly farther away. We enjoyed being on the Akrotiri peninsula because it gave us the opportunity to both explore the island and then come home to rest. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

I'd recommend Blue Beach to anyone -- it is affordable and comfortable, remote enough for a romantic getaway, yet accessible enough for families who prefer something outside the usual tourist scene. If you go, be sure to talk to Linda in the office -- she's a wealth of information and was an invaluable resource throughout our trip, both to the surrounding areas of Crete and far beyond.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celestepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We loved the Blue Beach! We stayed in a large apartment since there were five of us with a patio overlooking the taverna/swimming area and spent some fantastic evenings drinking wine and watching dusk fall over the Aegean. This hotel is great for a get-away. There are definitely hotels with better beaches right out front, but probably not for the price! There was a better sand beach within walking distance and several gorgeous beaches a short drive away (I would strongly recommend having a car if you stay here; it is out of the way and that's part of it's charm). We appreciated the two bathrooms in the apartment and the kitchen. We felt like we got good value for our money. The only thing we wished is that there had been more frequent cleaning service, but it is a self-service apartment and we're pretty sure that if we had asked for them to clean it they probably would have--we're pretty low key. We had some significant issues flying in from Kos that resulted in us getting stuck in Athens and necessitating a very early-morning arrival--we were worried that we would get there and not be able to access our rooms but they had made arrangements for our admission and we were able to get showers, etc. right away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

After visiting Crete for ove 30 Years, and living there for many years, I visited Blue Beach. A ood place. Particularly worth a mention are Julian and Linda who keep the place and business running in tip top shape. Thanks, and keep it up you guys. See you again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurencebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We have been going to Blue Beach for a number of years and always find it excellent. If you like a holiday where you can swim and generally relax and get away from things then you should enjoy it. We found Linda and Julian particularly helpful. Linda looks after reception with Katarina and Julian solves any problems eg. our hotplate blew a fuse and Julian replaced it with a better model. I noticed one of the other reviews mentioned low water pressure. We did have this in the early days but now the pressure in the room we have is fine. Room cleanliness excellent. Pillows on bed a bit hard but you get used to them. The mountain at Stavros is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKZorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We spent 6 days of our holiday at Blue Beach Villas since we wanted a place by the sea, quiet and kid-friendly…and we found it. I made a booking for a sea-view 4persons apartment, but this was a "brilliant sea-view" (as you may see at the photo, veranda view). We “used” the waves as a lullaby every night. Staff was really kind. Katerina welcomed us at 9.30pm. Our apartment was really big, much more than we expected from the hotel's website. The bed was a little less shorter than the usual, but it was no problem for us because we are not basketball players!!! Also, we had every day the visit of ants at the kitchen, even when it was nothing there for them to eat.
Blue Beach is a real nice apartment complex. We didn't use the clean, swimming pool, because we went or at the small sandy beach in from of the hotel(free umbrellas & sunbeds, taverna) or at the Tersanas beach (nice, calm, sandy beach, about 4 km, umbrellas & sunbeds and some facilities), or at Kalathas beach (nice, sandy, more crowded beach, about 7 km, umbrellas & sunbeds, some facilities and taverna). Although it was middle August, we didn’t saw the pool crowded and noisy. I think the too nice beaches of Crete explains that.
We had 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 single beds.
There was also a very spacious living-room with 2 couches that can be used as extra beds. A basic kitchen set up was available with frig, 2 burner stove top, electric kettle and basic dishes, pots etc. But with no “briki” to make a greek coffee.
We had a bathroom and a W.C. The curtain-shower could have been larger, as there is the space in the bathroom for that opion.
Our veranda was in front of the beach (see the photo), with a table, some chairs and an umbrella (although we didn’t need it).

The complex has also some other facilities like a place by the pool for breakfast, snacks, fresh juices, ice-cream and drinks.
I’m sure that I’ll come back. And I’ ll tell to my friends about it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EpaminondasX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We spent first part of our holiday at Akti Hotel, Agios Apostoloi (4km from Chania) since we wanted to explore Chania region (north and west coast) and stay near Chania town for evening going out. This was the good plan. Agios Apostoloi has 4 great sandy beaches, one of them is really long and very nice, not affected by norther wind (the beach is nearest to Chania). We went to almost every beach along northern and western coast, with famous Elaffonisi (on the Lybian sea). BTW, Elaffonisi can be overcrowded, but still worth seeing, note that the road to the beach across the mountain is spectacular (and also very danger). Chania is very charming, but as we also went to Rethymno, I think Rethymno has greater old town. We chose BB Ap.for the rest of our holiday as a remote peaceful destination, which it certainly was, in fact it was really too remote. Since I made booking too late I couldn't get the room with "brilliant sea-view" as I wished, but I cannot complaint, room was on the 1st floor (Villa Christo) , as I asked, and had partial sea-view. Staff was really kind. Our room was fairly big, but not as we expected from the hotel's website. The problem we faced was the size of the bed: it seems like they were made for dwarfs, too narrow and too short!!! Also, I found averall hygiene of the apartment very poor. Besides that, BB is a real nice appartment complex, which facilities we didn't use (why go to the pool when you have all the beautiful beaches of Acrotiri and else??). The small beach in front of the hotel has rocky sea-bed, so it is not worth crashing your leg while swimming, also, sun goes down early because of the taverna behind the beach, so you can't enjoy in the sunset on the beach (when you, for example, come back from some other beach). For a real good beach, you should go somewhere else, approx.5-20km away from Stavros. The notorious "Zorba the Greek" beach is a little bay with shallow water, overcrowded with locals, so again, not satisfactory. Stavros has 2 markets and nothing else. Near Stavros is Horafakia, nice village on the top of the hill, from where you can go down to Tersanas village where you can find small nice beach (not crowded untill afternoon). However, Acrotiri peninsula is really nice and if I ever come back to that part of the Crete, I would rent appartment at Marathi, charming little sea village located on the Eastern part of Acrotiri (less remote than Stavros and with an atmosphere) with very good 2 sandy beaches and great beach tavernas. Of course, for other wonderful beaches, go somewhere else, for example Georgiopuli - several km long and wide sandy beach on the way to Rethymno (30km from Chania) that never get crowded. Acrotiri peninsula has several monasteries, poorly marked on the road. You will easily find Agia Triada monastery, worht seeing. However, if you like to go to Gouverneto, other remote monastery, you should ask monks from Agia triada to show you the way and if you are lucky, to warn you that you should leave you car and walk down through the steep gorge several km. When you finally reach monastery, don't expect any human there since you'll find only the (fantastic) ruins with no drinking water and no place to rest and you have to go uphill the same way you went down. So, be careful, bring enough water with you and big hats, otherwise you will be dehidrating and got heat stroke!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AletaSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavros
0.1 mi away
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kavos Hotel
Kavos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Akrotiri
181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloni Suites
Aloni Suites
#1 of 1 in Chorafakia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Paradisio Baby & kinder hotel
11 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cretan Pearl Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Beach Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach Villas & Apartments

Address: Stavros, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Price Range: $62 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Beach Villas & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Beach Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments. Hotel Stavros
Blue Beach Villas And Apartments.
Blue Beach Hotel Apartments
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments Stavros, Greece - Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing