We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views, extreme cleanliness, ultimate relaxation and all at incredible value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vlamis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vlamis Villas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning views, extreme cleanliness, ultimate relaxation and all at incredible value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you have any intentintion of looking for a private villa anywhere near Chania then please let us save you hours of trawling the Internet - BOOK ONE OF THESE VILLAS!

We are seasoned travellers spending around 6 weeks per year travelling to many different countries on many different types of holiday, 2 adults and 3 kids (12, 10 and 2).

We have travelled to Crete last year and stayed in Elounda (East side of Crete) and were recommended by locals there to visit the West side of Crete - Chania.

There are so, so many privately owned apartments and we were fortunate to fall on Vlamis.

The communications from Penelope and help with all our needs was brilliant. She had a baby cot and high chair ready on arrival as well as wine, water and fresh fruit in the fridge for us.

Either Penelope or her lovely parents were on hand to give us any advice on local areas, places to visit or reataurants. The family spend much of their time looking after the villas, pool and grounds ensuring they are immaculate. We were even lucky enough to get a ride in one of the family speedboats!

Basically, if you are looking for ultimate relaxation at a VERY clean place that accommodates almost anyone then this is the place! Outstanding VALUE FOR MONEY!!

The only negative is that if this place gets too many good reviews then we may struggle to find it available again.

Thanks to the whole family and we will be seeing you again! X

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wonderful and very relaxing Very quiet and beautiful location! Sunsets were amazing! But you definitely need a car if you stay there (it's about 30 min driving to Chania, 10-15 min driving to the nearest big village Chorafakia). The villa is well equipped and functional, and I loved the swimming pool with sea water - very refreshing in the morning and relaxing in the evening. We enjoyed amazing views from our balcony which was also very well equipped and big enough to serve breakfast for 4 persons (we booked 2-bedrooms apt). Furniture and bathroom facilities were in excellent condition. We had cleaning twice a week. Penelope was very helpful and provided us a lot of useful information about the region, nearest beaches, shops, etc. And we found a bottle of water and local wine in the fridge upon arrival, that was very pleasant. Wifi connection was a bit slow, but we found out it was a common thing for Crete, wifi was very slow everywhere except the airport. I had great time spent with friends, and I would definitely recommend a stay to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anathapendik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have now holidayed at Vlamis Apartments on 3 occasions and I am certain we will return again and again. We appreciate the calm, quiet and relative privacy that the apartments and the location offer as well as the superb kindness and service offered by the owners, the Vlamaki family. We have previously holidayed as a couple in July but in June this year, 2012, we rented all 4 apartments and spent 2 glorious weeks with our adult children and young grandchidren. In total we comprise 8 adults and 5 children ages 6 months to 5 years and we all agreed that the apartments and location were perfect for all 3 generations! We spent time outside of the apartments playing in the spotlessly clean, sea water pool, reading and relaxing on the poolside (plenty of space, sunbeds and sun umbrellas for all of us), climbing around the rocks, swimming in the sea (not for the fainthearted), making use of the excellent bbq facilities and seating area at the back of the apartments and walking to nearby Blue Beach where in addition to swimming in the sea and playing on the beach we were able to enjoy the delights of Thanasis Taverna, located on the beach. Arrangements for a hire vehicle, collected when we arrived at Chania airport, were put in place beforehand by the Vlamaki family and in addition to shopping for food, some of us used the transport to visit Chania town, Marathi Beach and a variety of tavernas in and around Stavros. In previous years we have also used our own transport to visit a variety of places further afield. Whilst it is possible to travel around the area by bus and taxi, we have always found it easier to have our own transport. The apartments have excellent facilities, they are cleaned regularly with frequent changes of laundry and they are well maintained. The location, on the seafront and in a very quiet area on the outskirts of Stavros, is superb. Indeed the view from the balconies, especially when the sun is setting, is a delight to behold. The Vlamaki family are so kind and have always looked after us very well, both prior to and during the holiday. They have on each occasion sorted out arrangements for car hire with a local firm, always at a good price, provided extra facilities for our very young grandchildren and on request ensured that fresh food supplies were available for our arrival. During the holiday, they are responsive to our needs whilst remaining discrete and flexible. We think that Vlamis apartments at Stavros are a very special place in which to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 770Pat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location of this group of 5 apartments is perfect if you want a peaceful break. It is about 0.9km away from the nearest taverna and a good couple of km away from the village of Stavros, which has a handful of eateries and a couple of good mini-markets. There's an infrequent bus service, so a car is highly recommended. There's a car port to help keep the sun off the car. The complex's position is private and there is very little noise apart from birds, crickets and the sea breaking against the rocky shore directly in front of the property. It is close to Chania airport, so you do get the occasional plane taking off and landing. There are ample comfortable sunbeds and a few sunshades and they are well spaced so that even when fully occupied you will feel as if you have privacy. The complex is down a short road from the main (streetlit) road into Stavros, and there was some minor building work on the main road - however it wasn't at all intrusive whilst we were there.

The pool is spotlessly clean, a sea water pool which discourages insects - a first for us and we liked it very much. It is surrounded by lawns and shrubs, and has a good shower to wash off the salt water.

The accommodation itself is roomy for two people. A twin room (we were in No3) had two good quality beds (they looked new), good firm mattresses, two pillows each and fresh, well-laundered linen twice a week. The bedding was not "tired", as described in a previous review - but if it had been, I'm sure the owners would have immediately changed it. Aircon is provided in the bedroom, and is adaptable, with a timer option. A good hair-dryer and iron are also supplied. The living area had a big solid wooden sofa (we used pillows to make it more comfortable for us, but this is personal taste) and a table and 3 chairs, all solid good quality. The kitchenette has plenty of crockery, cutlery and pans, a large Fridge freezer and a small oven/hob - cooking straightforward food would not be a chore, but don't expect to tackle anything complex. The balcony has a large solid table and we had two woven chairs - though other villas had older plastic chairs, so they may be in the process of replacing them? There is a small porch area at the back of each apartment so you can take the shade/sun all through the day, as you choose. There's also a washing line and pegs. Take pool towels, as these aren't provided, and hand washing powder as there is no washing machine in the apartment. That said, when you spend a week living in swimmies, t-shirts and shorts, it's not really a problem The bathroom had good quality fittings and the (solar-powered) shower water was always hot and plentiful whilst we were there.

The owner's family and friends were regularly there during our fortnight, but were not in the least intrusive. The family was extremely helpful, giving us directions, information and advice when we asked and making sure we were quickly oriented in our first few days. They were kindness personified.

The complex is close to Stavros, but also a few minutes drive from Chorafakia, which has a garage, small supermarket and a few more tavernas and cafes (Irene's Place and Boy are recommended, also Sunset for lunch). There is a small good taverna at Tersanas also. The 500ml carafes of local wine in the tavernas at 3 euros are a bargain. Most amenities (pharmacy, cashpoint etc) are available in Kounoupidiana, about 15 min away. Chania is about 20-25 minutes away, and is utterly charming. The Byzantine Museum, the Archaeological Museum and the Maritime Museum are affordable and well worth a visit. And the walk to the lighthouse is free and good fun. The maze of back streets behind the fort is lovely too. We ate at Tamam - inside! - and were impressed with the food - try something different, it's worth it. Mediteranee on Daliani was recommended to us but was closed when we visited.

All in all, a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing holiday - we slept like logs every night - with excellent hosts. We are planning another visit - hopefully in June - and can't praise it highly enough.

Room Tip: If you are travelling out of season, some rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky_bramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Well, we re a Greek couple looking for a quiet place to spend our two weeks holidays. Vlamis apartments was just the perfect choise. The views from all around the apartment and the surrounding areas is just amazing. Most of the times we're going out after the sunset because we didn't want to miss not even a single day starring at it. The owners are just great and we spent a night all together having BBQ. We love Chania and in our next visit we will choose Vlamis again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were two couples and we spent our August holidays in this unique spot. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings are some of the words I could say to anyone asking for this great apartment complex (not very busy, just 5). All together shared a sea water pool which to me is an advantage. The sea in front of the apartments is not easily accessible that's why it's great to have fresh sea water pool. The area is very quiet and there are a couple of sandy beaches in about less than a mile away. A few taverns also can be found very close, still remember Greek gyros in boy's house. Definitely going back sometime.

Room Tip: if you need more privacy pick the junior villa on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Vlamis Villa Junior (note there are other Vlamis Villas on Crete) is in a fantastic spot near Stavros with great sea and sunset views over the large swimming pool. There is also access to and a protected inlet (ie quite calm) and the ocean via the slipway at the foot of the Villa, but it's not a beach. By car it is about 25 mins to Chania and about 5 mins to local supermarkets, beaches and a good range of restaurants which is important because this is full self catering. The local bus comes by twice a day, but a car is probably a must. There is plenty of parking, some of it under cover. Driving around Crete is pretty easy with only a few very narrow roads. Nothing is terribly far, eg 90 mins to Samaria Gorge and two hours to Heraklion.

The booking agent, manager and owner are lovely people and very helpful with more than enough English for the average tourist. But, the owner and friends spent a fair bit of time at their villa, which felt a bit intrusive.

But, this little gem could be so much more with better furniture (eg cane beds, mostly singles) and accessories (the mattresses, linen and pillows [one each] were WELL past their use by date, the kitchens were very basic given this is self catering) and a bit of maintenance, eg shower heads and clothes lines. There are only one or two washing machines and they are inside apartments, so not accessible to all guests.The solar hot water systems are shared between rooms, so can find yourself without! Beach towels and internet access to all villas would be nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer suite or the one with a washing machine, depending on your priorities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaliTaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavros
0.2 mi away
Kavos Hotel
Kavos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Akrotiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cretan Pearl Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nanakis Beach
Nanakis Beach
#2 of 21 in Stavros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vlamis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vlamis Villas

Property: Vlamis Villas
Address: Akrotiri, Stavros, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Stavros
Hotel Class:3 star — Vlamis Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Vlamis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vlamis Villas Stavros, Greece - Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing