We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"overspill for Malia"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had read many reviews and knew what to expect from Panarama hotel, I expected it to be basic - which it was, but it was clean and the pool area looked nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful - however the major problem was that we booked this holiday on the understanding that this accomadation was quite and suitable for couples and families but found it full of groups of youngsters, we were advised there were a few young ones in when arrived and was told they would be leaving soon, however what we didnt know was that even more would arrive the week after. We were constantly woken at night by music, doors banging, knocking on doors and shouting from these younsters this seemed to go on throughout the night.
The staff did what they could and when complaints were made about the noise etc they did try to deal with it, we were told by one staff member that Thomsons are now advertising it as young and livelyhotel as Malia is full - so I think it will be like this fot the rest of the summer.
The location is briliant for beach, bars, shops and restaurants and we would have enjoyed are holiday much more if we could have relaxed at the appartments and around the pool rather than having to constantly go out to escape the noise etc.
Stalis itself is really nice with lots of good places to eat and drink - try Themis beachbar for cocktails - the staff there are so friendly. However if you are booked in shortly expecting a family or couples holiday and don't want to feels as tho you are on a 18 - 30's holiday I would recommend contacting Thomasons and asking them to change your accomadation. I spoke to others in the same situation who felt very let down Thomsons. Thomsons are out of order I will be contacting them with my comments and wont be using them again which is a shame as if the hotel had been couples and family as advertised I would have gone back mainly because of location and friendliest of staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Me and a friend stayed at the panorama hotel in july 2012, it is a 3 star rated hotel by thomsons, so we expected it to be clean and spacious. However on the night we arrived, we were not allowed air conditioning as the reception was closed, even though it was 35 degrees at night. We were then showed to our room, it was hidiously small, the beds were pushed together, with a tiny wardrobe which was condensated and smelly, which ment we could not use it. The bathroom was dirty with mould around the bath tub, and our toilet did not flush. The whole room was generally dirty with bits all over the floor. The bath tub is half the size of a normal bath, with no shower curtain, so we had to sit in the bath and hold the shower head as it sprays out all over the floor as there isnt a curtain. The walls are very thin, the hotel owners have two dogs which barked at all hours constantly waking us up. Our sheets didnt get changed all week. It is a self catering hotel, but you cant cook in the rooms as there is know where to prepare food or eat it! The room also smelt of smoke, which gave the room a dirty feeling. We payed alot of money to saty here and felt very disappointed.

Room Tip: Dont ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stalis is a nice quiet place to relax to. Nice little shops and bars and all friendly as they try to coax you for business. The hotel is clean a nice pool and 3 mins from a nice beach. My wife and I enjoyed it compared to Malia just down the road full of reckless youths, quad bikes and music noise from 12 mid day to early hours. Not the place if you want to sleep nights. With this hotel the thing to watch out for are the rooms at the back near to the main road as there is now a night club newly opened. People we spoke to could hear the road traffic, early rubbish collections and the music. We near to the pool were ok. Costs whilst there. €50 week for the air con. €100 for the 2 weeks and rent for the telly, and you have to buy your own toilet rolls. Beer about €2.50 meals avg about €8 each. But nice quiet, clean good pool and beds but watch the room location. If you want to tip the cleaner do so at the start of the holiday and give it to them personally and they will look after you. Dont leave it in the room after as it tends to disappear after the boss inspects.. If you are going self catering, go out the back of the hotel to the main road look left and there is the fruit and veg big shop that the shops and hotels buy from. All your fruit and veg everything for €4 whereas a large tomato supermarket may be €1.40 At the back on the main road are the bus stops to Haleriki, about €7 return. Nice modern air con bus

Room Tip: Watch out for the rooms at the back near to the main road noise and the new night club next door. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a great time at the Panorama in September 2011, hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull, apartment was basic but value for money. Near the beach, plenty of places to eat. We are thinking of returning this year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked 7 nights here for our honeymoon and my first ever trip abroad from 11th May 2012. Stalis as a resort is amazing and we will definitely be going back however I do not think we will stay in the panorama again. The room although a lovely size was very basic and the beds are extremely hard, we waited 6 days to get clean sheets and towels and only got them after complaining twice. However we were assured that the maids were new for the season and were still getting used to how things were run. So hopefully they will improve as the season goes on! The bar staff were lovely and very helpful and we enjoyed the pool area although towards the end of our stay it needed a good clean and the beach bar that was advertised was closed for our entire stay. This place has great potential and is an ideal location for exploring the surrounding area or having a relaxing time on the beach just needs a few tweaks to the rooms and maid service and all would be great!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel was ideally located with lots of bars, restaurants and the beach within touching distance. The room was very basic - there wasn't always much hot water and the beds weren't very comfy, but they were clean and we had a maid service and clean towels around every 2 days. We didn't spend too much time in the room other than to sleep, shower and get ready so it wasn't too much of an issue that they weren't perfect. The rooms do have a balcony and small kitchen area and the pool area is nice and clean. There is also a restaurant although we didn't use it and a beach bar opposite on the beach but it wasn't open this early in the season. The location more than made up for the basic rooms - there are two long beaches in Stalis with a "strip" of bars and restaurants. Stalis is around a 45 min walk to Malia and around an hour walk to Hersonnisos, or 5 mins in a taxi which costs around 5 euro. There is also a cheap and good bus service that accesses the 3 resorts as well as extending further afield to Heraklion and Agios Nikolaos for example. Would recommend Stalis for couples both old and young, families and groups. Although nowhere near as lively as Malia there is still plenty going on and a good choice of bars and restaurants that open til late, but those looking for a big wild nights out might be disappointed and would probably be better suited to Malia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We went on a lads holiday to Malia in July 2011. There were 8 of us all together, 4 per room. The hotel was absolutely brilliant, after reading reviews we were a bit concerned that the hotel might not be so friendly with us, as the hotel is advertised as a family hotel and we wasn't sure if the hotel would appreciate a big group of lads showing up.

But this wasnt the case, they hotel staff were brilliant with us! Not once did they complain about any noise we were making. They had no problem with us buying booze from the supermarket and drinking it on our balcony on a night whilst listnening to music and chatting. We were leaving the hotel at about midnight each night to go into malia, which is really when the strip started to get going. The nights in malia were amazing, so many bars/nightclubs to choose from! The malia strip is massive, ive never known a strip so long! For groups of young people I cant recommend malia enough, it really is amazing.

Stalis is about 40 mins walk from the malia strip so we got taxis most nights. As there were 8 of us we had four in each taxi, so it only cost us a couple of euros each! We also had a night out in stalis to mix things up, and stalis is a really good night out too. Nowhere near as big as Malia but still plenty of bars and clubs to go in. The drinks were also a bit cheaper.

The hotel was clean and tidy. The cleaners cleaned the room and made the beds everyday. The hotel food and drink was great and reasonably priced. During the day the bar staff poured our pints out into plastic pint glasses, which had an ice jacket inside to keep the beer cold, and they even let us sit in the pool whilst drinking!

The stalis beach is right opposit the hotel, its just a case of walking down a flight of stairs and you were there! The beach was really good and theres a watersports place nearby which had jetskis and banana boat etc.

Overall the hotel is perfect for a group of lads/girls. The hotel staff are freindly and seem genuinely happy to have you there. And they are just happy to let you do what you want. They dont pressure you into putting money behind the bar, although im sure they made plenty of money off us whilst we were there. We were quite glad that our hotel was outside of Malia, just because it was a bit more chilled out during the day, before you went to Malia on a night to party! Plus the hotel was quite a bit cheaper seeing it wasnt directly on the malia strip.

If you want a group holiday to Malia, definetly book to stay in the Panorama! Amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CoddSquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama Stalidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama Stalidos

Address: Stalida, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panorama Stalidos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Panorama Stalidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panorama Stalidos Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing