We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Michelanis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Michelanis
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
CO DURHAM
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in June 2013. 3 weeks clean rooms, air con, central location family run and as with most Greeks they are always on hand when needed. Great swimming pool area quiet with plenty of Sun loungers all in good condition. Yannie and his parents are great. The hotel also has a Public BAR on the main beach road which is perfect for before and after dinner drinks. The photos put on by a horrible person are deliberately misleading you can tell that by the state of their room. I love watching people go by and could sit there all night. Thanks Yannie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in August 2013

The room was beautifully clean and spacious. Towels and linen were changed 3 times throughout the week. The pool area was very quiet and spotless with Yianni's dad George on hand to see to any needs.

The hotel is located right in the centre of the resort and ideal for the beach and the wide choice of tavernas. The rooms are set back from the main stretch but they are unaffected by any of the general activities in the area.

Yianni is extremely helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and ensure that we were comfortable and well looked after

Maria is an absolute star. She works in the bar at the front from late afternoon until closing. Always smiling and welcoming, interesting conversation and great to chat to at any time.

The Michelanis is a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to returning again.

A massive 'thank you' to Yianni, Mum, Dad and Maria for making our week such a memorable one

Jimmy & Karen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy26081954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel as a very last minute holiday. We were not expecting a lot, as we didnt pay a lot but we were pleasantly surprised.

We arrived at the hotel around 10.30pm and Jannis (the owner) was there to welcome us, show us around and give us a welcome drink. He made us feel very welcome straight away and Maria (the bar maid at the hotel bar) was on hand to tell us about the resort.

We were very pleased with out rooms. Yes they are basic but they are spotless! We had twin beds, plenty or storage, a kitchenette with fridge, sink and hot plate, plus a very night shower room.

After the first evening we decided that we would need air conditioning which worked out at 85 euros for 10 nights. This is quite expensive but it was worth every penny for us and as the hotel itself was so cheap, we didn't mind paying.

The pool area is great. I nice size pool with plenty of loungers. We were especially happy as most days we had the pool to ourselves. It was like having our own private villa!! After meeting other couples in the resort we realised that we were very lucky as they were complaining about people putting towels out early etc. The pool area at the Michelanis is locked through the night which means that people are not able to do this and people can get by the pool fairly. However, like I said, there was very rarely more than 4 people around the pool.

Throughout the day the pool bar is open. This offers a range of drinks (including alcohol), ice creams/lollies and snacks. The bar is run by George (or grandad as I liked to call him) who is an absolute gentleman! His english is VERY limited but he was on hand everyday to help us set up our sun umbrellas, keep things tidy and even provide us with 10am Raki (not a pleasant thing but our faces certainly made him laugh!!). There are also toilets and indoor and outdoor showers all by the pool.

I booked this hotel originally because of the location. IT IS PERFECT! Set in pretty much the centre of the strip, you are surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops. There is a supermarket next door where you can get a wide range of food and drinks. The hotel run a bar at the front of the hotel where Jannis would often provide us with free drinks and shots.

If you have never been to Stalis before I would recommend it. There is entertainment for everyone. There are plenty of bars offering from traditional tavernas to irish bars, beautiful traditional restaurants and takeaway places. Whether you are 8 or 80 I think it would be perfect. Everything is on one strip which is flat and easy to walk. Just behind the row of bars is a beautiful beach where you can hire a sunbed (very cheap) and an umbrella.

Michelanis studios/hotel is a great place to stay if you are looking for a basic room run by a wonderful family. If you are looking for somewhere with 5 star facilities then this is not the place for you, but if you want somewhere clean, in a good location with AMAZING staff, then this is perfect.

I would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: We were near the back and you couldnt hear anything. However, people in the rooms at the front were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac26806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Once again we stayed at Michelanis - the apartment was spotless, nothing is too much for Jannis and his family, the pool was wonderful and so clean, these apartments are situated in a great spot ideal for all the shops and restaurants and the beach. Jannis kindly let us stay for a small extra charge in our room for the last day as we had an evening flight which was so helpful. See you next year! Yamas!

Room Tip: The block nearest the pool is where we have always stayed, first floor apartments have balconies, ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

One of the best apartments we have stayed at - extremely clean - very private - nothing is too much for the owners. We actually stayed here May 2011 - couldnt get in 2012 but are so looking forward to staying here again June 2013!!
Location is fabulous - the pool is great - you can sit on the balcony in peace and quiet - its a little piece of heaven in Stalis!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Actually stayed in these apartments last summer but ony got round to reviewing them.

Stayed for a week during August 2012 with my fiance and had the best time. It was our second visit to Stalis, a resort we love - plenty of restuarants and bars along the main strip to keep you occupied in the evening - our favourite was Golden Marias (turn left and keep walking) where the food is outstanding and really good value!

The apartments themselves were basic but spotlessly clean and regularly cleaned. Toilet roll wasn't changed but we were self catering and therefore expected to cater for ourselves with loo roll! Owner Jannis was so kind and helpful. He waited up til the early hours for our arrival, to show us to our room and explain the air conditioning etc. Then every evening he offered us a free drink at the bar in front of the apartments, nothing was too much trouble for him! As we were leaving we had a problem with our transfer coach not arriving and he personally rang the Greek coach company to try and sort out our problem, before ordering us a taxi on local rates. He really made our holiday for us!

We would recommend these apartments thoroughly if you are looking for basic, clean accomodation, in a lively resort with a fabulous beach across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrismonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very nice peaceful and relaxing stay at Michelanis. Jannis the owner can't do enough for you and he makes sure your stay is an enjoyable one. The pool area is spotless and never crowded so it's easy to jump in when you need to cool off. There is a little bar at the front which is right on the main road. Another Jannis runs the bar and he can only be described as one of the nicest blokes you'll meet he's a real gentleman and again he can't do enough for you. It's a great bar to have a quick cold beer or two and watch the world go by before you head off for your evening meal.

Room Tip: Book early this gem is getting popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stalis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ritsa
Villa Ritsa
#21 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
#22 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
4-S Beach Apartments
4-S Beach Apartments
#30 of 66 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castello Studios
Castello Studios
#34 of 66 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelanis

Property: Hotel Michelanis
Address: Stalida, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Michelanis 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Michelanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Michelanis Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing