We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Michelanis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Michelanis
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very nice peaceful and relaxing stay at Michelanis. Jannis the owner can't do enough for you and he makes sure your stay is an enjoyable one. The pool area is spotless and never crowded so it's easy to jump in when you need to cool off. There is a little bar at the front which is right on the main road. Another Jannis runs the bar and he can only be described as one of the nicest blokes you'll meet he's a real gentleman and again he can't do enough for you. It's a great bar to have a quick cold beer or two and watch the world go by before you head off for your evening meal.

Room Tip: Book early this gem is getting popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stalis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

After reading so many good reviews on this website about this place we decided to book it. What a big mistake!
On arrival the room was clean (it is a very basic room), but the next time the room was cleaned was on Wednesday (we arrived on Sunday) and that's when the bathroom bin got emptied. They didn't even replace the toilet paper and we had to buy our own.
The manager was hardly ever there. His parents were there all the time but they can't speak English, so any problems that we had, we had to wait for the manager to come (he appears early in the morning and late in the afternoon when the terrace opens).
We had problems with the hot water (there wasn't any) and when we told him (when we finally found him), he was very rude and said that we should have told him earlier. The problem was solved for the next day (Saturday) but re-occurred again the next day (Sunday), when we left.
There is a nice pool, but the bar is never opened (only about an hour in the morning even if there are no people there).
Very disappointing stay. The only good thing is the location with plenty of nicer places to go.
If you have a bit of money to spend... stay at the hotel opposite, it looks better and considering that you need the air conditioning (€60/week) and a safe (€15/week) it is not such a good value for money after all.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay, you will need the air conditioning (€60 for one week) and the safe (€15/we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just back from another stay at Michelanis, as usual we had a great time there. A big thank you to Jiannis and family for making us most welcome. I can highly recommend these apartments, the rooms are comfortable and cleaned regularly. The pool area is beautiful, also its nice to sit at the bar at the front to people watch and enjoy the lovely cocktails on offer. Michelanis is set in the centre of Stalis and is minutes away from lots of shops and restaurants. We look forward to our next visit, thanks again Jianni.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just back from another stay at Michelanis. It was great as usual, have stayed here for four years now. Jiannis and his family are very helpful and friendly, if you do find anything wrong just say and they will do their best to fix it. Although I use the beach the pool is clean and good.The other good thing about the apartments is that they have their own bar at the front where you can enjoy a drink and watch the other tourists go by. They also have safety deposit boxes and air conditioning at reasonable rates. Cant wait till August till we go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the block nearest the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

“What a lovely place to stay”
We have been to the Michelanis now 3 times and it is in the most fantastic location, right in the heart of Stalis. It is a popular holiday resort and it all happens off one road which comes alive in the evening, it is though family friendly and laid back. Although the studios are centrally located it is very peaceful, and no disturbance at all from the road. I can say I never had one sleepless night while we were there. The beaches are fine sand and there are a few locations where you can rent sun beds and brollies for around 4 euros a day. Yanis who owns the studios is there to help at any time it seems and he is to be commended for his handling of the studios, which to my mind are 2nd to none in Stalis. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if ever we went back there. We went at the end June and stayed a fortnight and the temp was around 32* with a slight sea breeze which is welcome.

Room Tip: Hotel is in 2 blocks, 2nd block is a little farther away from road and is slightly more private than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saint49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

you will have no problems here staff and place top class service staff and all areas spot on use the bar you will be well respected the place is spotless. dont expect 5 star digs but there are well kept. the location is perfect right in the center 50 meters from the magnificent beach.many places to choose for all ages a real good place to go to in crete for a beach resort

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

great pool and bar very clean hotel very handy for bars and beach staff are very helpfull and the price is very reasonable

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Psaras Apartments
Psaras Apartments
#15 of 66 in Stalis
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
#6 of 52 in Stalis
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memories Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelanis

Address: Stalida, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Michelanis 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Michelanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Michelanis Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing