We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after”
Review of Hotel Elvira

Hotel Elvira
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elvira
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We arrived at 6am. The rep took us to our rooms because the family who run the hotel were in bed. The keys were in the door waiting for us. Our rooms were basic but had everything needed. The rooms were cleaned 5 out of the 7 days we were there. The reception area was open from 7:30 am till midnight which is ideal for most family holidays.

The daughter was only to willing to help and gave lots of great advice about where to catch buses and ideas of places to visit. The mother was friendly and could understand the things you wanted but her English wasn't as good as her daughters. However, my Greek is non existent.

As another reviewer said if you learn a little Greek it will go a long way. Please and Thankyou goes far in most countries you visit.

The pool was a great part of the hotel. All of us enjoyed sitting around it and we all enjoyed the pool snacks provided at reasonable prices. (Many of the salad ingredients were grown by the owner.)

There is a bus stop to Malia a few hundred metres from the hotel and the main Beach road is only 5 minutes walk away with lots of traditional food outlets all along the front over looking the sea.,

If you are looking for a lively resort and a top hotel you won't find this staying here. But if you want quiet, relaxing and simple accomodation this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Elvira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

We arrived at about 4 in the morning, we weren't greeted by any staff, but there was a note. I think a greeting would have been much better, because myself, my boyfriend and our friend had no idea how to get the lights on...etc. had to get my dad to figure out that you need to put the key in for electricity.....not a good thing when ur so tired...
our bedroom was plain but very spacious, our linen changed once, and every couple of days the maid came in and tidied up. she even folded our clothes and laid them out for us.
The bathroom was awful...it was my first time in greece so i didnt know what to expect. but usually i thought a working shower was a given? they did replace it for us however...but untill then my boyfriend showered outside by the pool and i had to use the sink!
We had a nice balcony tho. but as we were ground floor we didnt have a very nice view.
Breakfast was very suprising to me, we had 1 hard boiled egg and a piece of plain cake?? and just a knife to eat it with....after that we went in search of a full english every morning. we found the Pegasus bar where the food is lovely.
The pool area is the hotels best feature....there is a separate childrens pool. but the main pool is the best. decent size and has approx. 7ft deep end :)
Snacks were available throughout the day, just a couple euros. this was much better than the breakfast.
What i liked was that the hotel was away from the centre of stalis, so it was quiet. but it was a very short walk to the stalis road where all the shops, bars, clubs are etc.
The staff go to bed early so there's never anyone around at night.
We weren't very keen on the staff for the first couple days but then they seemed to lighten up abit and made more of an effort to speak to you.
All in all we had a great time...who goes on holiday to stay in your room anyway?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zowie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Out of all the reviews I have seen, please read between the lines.
If you are looking for night life and wild evenings don't go here this is a family hotel, go down the road to Malia . Yes it is basic but come on most of you would have seen Mama mia the greatest hit last year , welcome to greece. We have just come home from the hotel this morning after a lovely holiday . All three boys had a fantastic time leaping in and out of the pool, and as long as they are happpy so are we as you couldn't have asked for a more friendley atmosphere whilst away from home, One thing I would say is try to learn to say please and thankyou in greek if nothing else for at the end of the day we all like to be told thankyou don't we. These people plus many more in Greese have spent many a year grafting trying to build up thier buisneses more than most would know please take this in to consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I arrived at 7am nobody was around to greet us, when we got to our room me and my friend (both of us being ladies) the lock was broken on the room door so we have to block this with our suitcases and chairs, so nobody could get in. We asked for clean bedding and this was refused as they are "trying to save the environment", so we had to sleep in DIRTY SHEETS FOR A WEEK !!
The room was FILTHY and very DIRTY. There was COCHROACHS in the room, when we told the staff about this they did nothing. Which i find to be absolutely disgusting and appalling.The plug sockets were broken so we only had 1 in the room.

We were told to depart from our room at 12 noon on the 7th Aug and our transfer was not due for 15 hours!!! We had paid for 7 nights but the staff said we only had paid for 6 and we had to pay 30 euros extra to stay in our hotel til 10pm.
THE STAFF WERE MOST UNHELPFUL AND MISERABLE PEOPLE POSSIBLE.
No apologies were made by them or by the rep who we never even met on our weeks holiday ???????
IT WAS LIKE FAULTY TOWERS EVERYTHING IS FALLING TO PIECES AND STAFF WERE AN UTTER JOKE.
PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL AND LET IT RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY AS IT DID OURS.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemgems17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a week! When we arrived we were welcomed by a member of staff( daughter) who was very freindly and helpfull. She spoke good english but her mother the owner didnt speak good english but did understand english a spoke a little. The rooms where basic but who goes on holiday to stay in there hotel room alday. Bed linen was clean when we arrived, wasnt changed through the week , but it didnt bother me. A maid would come clean and tidy the rooms every other day. The rooms where clean, with a wardrobe, with draws, dressing table, beside table etc! Air con was at an extra cost of 40euros a week but would advise that you got air con because its so hot! We didnt have any problems with creepy crawles, the only time you would i think if you didnt have air con and left your balcony door open all the time. The hotel pool was lovely, with sun beds right next to it. we also had bed and breakfast, this was ok bit boring though, bit of cake with jam, bread, cheese, ham and orange juice and tea but down the road you could get a full english breakfast for 3 euros. For a 2star hotel its worth your while, resturants, bars a loads of shops 2 mins round the corner ( not noisy at all at night coudnt hear a thing when in bed). Then malia, for the party life which is 30mins walk or a 5min taxi. we rented a quad for 55euros for 3days cheaper then getin taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Arrived on the 9th of September could'nt wait to leave on the 23rd.We arrived in the early hours,no one in reception.We had to find our own rooms(key left in the door) The first thing i did was go to the toilet,what a mess it was,black around the bottom.It did get cleaned but what a first impression.
The bed linen was grey with holes and tears and the towels were grey also. The breakfast was continenal which would have been ok if the coffee had'nt been just warm and weak (we had two breakfast to see if it improved,it did'nt ,so we ate out, more exspence.).
The beds are very hard and i dont know what they stuffed the pillows with, they were lumpy. Needless to say i will not be useing this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kevisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

stayed at the elvira last week.basic hotel but you get what you pay for.daughters very friendly but cant say same for the mother!.rooms very basic but beds and pillows uncomfortable.hotel on throough main road to malia so very noisy at night.hotel closed at 10pm despite advertising it opened til 12 midnight.on last night there had to pay extra to rent room to 6pm and sit around til 11pm .toilets also locked so if u need to use em watch out as mother not very helpful.quick to ask you for money for extras too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hampshireman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.0 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#23 of 52 in Stalis
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#15 of 52 in Stalis
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#7 of 52 in Stalis
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stalis
Hotel Stalis
#32 of 52 in Stalis
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvira

Address: 126 Irinis, Stalis, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range: $34 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvira Hotel Stalís
Hotel Elvira Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing