We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Apartments
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at Rainbow three times in total once as a single traveller and twice with a friend. I have to say its the nicest hotel I have stayed in in Stalis. It is just set back off the main road but because there are extensive front gardens, you dont get the noise of the road - on the subject of the main road, people always comment about it as if its like staying next to the middle the M1 or the centre of London..... in fact its nothing like that at all .... I live on a road which is ten times busier.... It really isn't very busy at all.

Anyway, I digress - Maria and the family keep a wonderful hotel, very picturesque and clean and the rooms are certainly large and airy. Cleaning is done on a regular basis and kitchen equipment is plentiful - if you need anything else you can just ask... simple!

Swimming pool always clean and the bar is well stocked and there is always a lovely selection of snacks both hot and cold and the surrounding gardens are always well kept and pretty.

When you come out of Rainbow, turn left and you will find a little supermarket which is ideally placed and next to that is a real Greek Ouzerie called Tsourlis Place - its lovely and the food cooked by George is absolutely delicious (all the local Greek people go there to eat which says a great deal)

Stalis HAS lost a lot of its Creten feel over the past ten or so years (I started visiting Crete in 1993 so its my 20 year Anniversary this year :-) But its still a great place to be certainly earlier in the season. Its very much a couples or singles resort and the beach is beautiful.

I agree with previous comment - visit Relax Bar but also Nemo, Themis, Kaliana, and Beachcomber to name but a few. You will however soon find your favourites. Wishing you all very happy holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Creteliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    68
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
149
195
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ingleby barwick
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice apartments and the superior apartment we booked was very spacious.Pool area ok plenty of sun beds to use and the people were friendly.
Only a short walk across road to the many restaurants and bars.
We would use these apartments again without any worrys .

Room Tip: book the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulwilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

As a lone traveller i did a lot of research into where i wanted to stay.

I needed somewhere which was easy to get to and from via public transport and which seemed safe.

I was not disappointed. Rainbow apartments were fantastic. I had a superior apartment over -looking the pool area. The apartment itself was immaculate. It came with a fridge, small hob, basic equipment ( cutlery, cups, plates etc, saucepan, frying pan....) and was would have been fine for a couple as well as a solo traveller. There was plenty of storage. The shower could have been slighty better ( i couldn't get the attachment to stay in it's holder!) but other than that it was great.

The cleaners changed bedding, towels etc every other day. I asked for an extra pillow which was not a problem - it's the sort of place where if you can't find or need something extra just ask!

There are two bars at Rainbow. The main bar is open all day for breakfast, snacks, and of course beer etc. A nice touch were the ice cold glasses straight from the freezer!

After seven this bar closes (so the entertainment does not disturb the majority of apartments later!) and the outside bar opens. It's very cute - like a little beach hut!

Entertainment is fun- you do not have to take part - but it was great for me as a single traveller to have something to do in the evenings instead of sitting in one of the ( numerous ) bars in Stalis on my todd. I would definately recommend the free pasta night & bbq on the Sat ( free wine) - all with crazy greek bingo afterwards - not as naff as it sounds!

I was truly blessed by the wonderful (small) crowd that were staying at the aprtments when i was there, but could see how ( especially in the high season) it could get quite rowdy!

Sleeping was fine, i didn't pay extra for the air-con as it was not too hot in the evenings - it was lovely to have a balcony to sit out on and gaze at the stars in the early hours!

5 mins to beach and numerous bars etc of Stalis - will review the ones i went to separately. Although pop and see George at the relax bar!

Don't bother bringing suntan lotion or a book as there is an exchange in the top bar - it had every factor you could think of!!

To me it was the perfect balance. I was there between the 7-17th October...

Eddy was a fab host and Delia, (who looks after the bar during the day and cooks the food) was a god send to me for all the tips and advice she had on where to go and places to eat ( go two doors down to the Raki bar - cheap, authenic cretian food, don't leave it until your last night!!!!)

It was my first time in Crete - in fact Greece! and as a single traveller it is perfect, the people are so friendy!

I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here I would recommend to anyone, beach is 5 mins away and pool area is lovely.Eddy and Netty are brilliant and make you feel very welcome.Apartments are very clean and cleaned on a regular basis.Plenty of Bars and restaurants in the area and the Robin Hood and Pegasus bar are worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauraCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rainbow Apartments are well worth a stay at. They are very clean & well equipped. Eddy & Netty are very good hosts in the bar. Next to a supermarket & the beach is 5 minute walk away along with the various bars & restaurants. We did have a front apartment facing the road but wasn't affected by the traffic,the main road is not the M25! Had a lovely view of the sea.
One word of warning, our stay was in October so the Mosquitoes have a feast on you. Take adequate measures for these.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alton504148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Rainbow apartments were lovely, a really nice pool area, maid service in the apartments every other day. Really well appointed apartments spotlessly clean and well maintained and kitted out. Great location only 5 minutes walk from the beach and bars and tavernas. If you go there you have to go to the BBQ and play Crazy Greek Bingo great fun (thank you Eddie and Netti) fantastic food, especially the burgers (thank you Delia) a lovely place to spend your holidays you can have a quiet time or if you prefer loads of fun and socialising - both are perfectly possible here. Thank you all for a fab holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane and Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Resort - Stalis is a great resort to base yourself in Crete, with it's golden beaches, wide variety of restaurants and tavernas, and prime location for sightseeing. I would recommend day trips to Spinalonga Island and the Capital, but if it's beaches and poolside sunbathing you're after, you are more than catered for at the Rainbow Apartments.

Service - the hotel had the friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure of knowing in Maria, Eddie and Annie. They were attentive, helpful, and best of all, were not pushy in any way. Examples - Would you like to come to our BBQ night? No? No problem, have a great day, hope to see you later! Even though they have two well stocked bars, if you prefer to visit somewhere different every night as we did, they will happily tell you of the best places to visit in Stalis, and if you have any problems, they will sort them without any fuss or hesitation. They all have a great sense of humour, and if you do enjoy partaking in the nightly events, they will make them come alive with their enthusiasm and energy. They leave it up to you to decide, but I would recommend partaking in at least one of them.

Location and ambience - you are less than a 5 minute walk to the beach and all the excellent bars and restaurants. Admittedly you do have to cross a moderately busy road (quiet by British standards!), but people moaning about using the underpass are just exhibiting laziness, as you only have to go about 30 seconds out your way to reach it. The whole resort is amicable and very safe, and although we went out of the school holidays, I can imagine it would be a fantastic place to bring children.

Room - Our room was clean, spacious, had a very cold fridge, and the air conditioning (7 euros a night, which is standard in Greece so I don't know why people are complaining) was excellent, and well worth the money. Our balcony looked out over the sea, and although there was a little noise from the traffic, it was not excessive.

Facilities - The pool is a decent size, open from 9am - 8pm, and there are plenty of sunbeds to go around. Adjacent to the pool is a bar, where you can order cocktails, soft drinks, ice creams and snacks, all at decent prices, and there is always somewhere there so you get served straight away. As mentioned previously, there are various entertainment evenings, ranging from the BBQ night, whereby you pay 10 euros and get all the wine (red, white and rose) you can drink for 2 hours, with delicious pork steaks and beef burgers, followed by some light-hearted bingo, and some greek dancing. You are all on a large table, so is a great chance to meet fellow guests and discuss the best places to eat and drink. Other events were a free pasta night, good if you are on a budget, a music quiz, and play your cards right, all fun events but you are under no obligation to take part,

Downsides - Bring insect repellent, as there are some biters around - this applies to most of Crete, but there is a lot of greenery around the Rainbow apartments were they like to buzz around and plan their nibble attacks.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool View if you do not wish to be near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woofinderdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#8 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Property: Rainbow Apartments
Address: 70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stalis
#2 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Apartments in Stalis Crete are a delightful, family-run holiday apartment complex with an inviting, friendly atmosphere. The Rainbow Apartments enjoy an enviable position near the sandy beach in seaside resort Stalis in Crete, Greece.At Rainbow Apartments tradition and innovation blend perfectly: 19 Standard and 22 Superior studios and apartments feature all modern amenities in a contemporary setting with timeless charm and impeccable service. The apartments offer splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea and the Bay of Stalis. Blessed with a mild climate year-round, Rainbow Apartments have a large outdoor swimming pool in stylish surroundings and with a mature, Meditteranean garden. Water sports and leisure opportunities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalis
Rainbow Apartments Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing