We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Apartments
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just arrived home after a wonderful stay at the Rainbow.What can i say that hasn't already been said,smashing place to stay would highly recommend.The staff are second to none from Maria the owner to Delia the cook.Special mention has to go to Eddie and Netti who couldn't do enough for you.We arrived at 1 in the morning and Netti made my young son Evan chips no hassle at all. BBQ night is a must (Our family went both Saturdays we were there) and for 10 euros food is excellent and plenty of it,entertainment is great craic as Eddie can always make fun off a bad situation as we found out when we had a power cut the second Saturday night we went.
Our apartments were very nice clean and well kept a credit to the cleaners who came in every other day.Our room was a superior studio (307) which had plenty of room for my family with all mod cons except there was no toaster.Air con is 7 euros a day which we thought was well worth the money as you really do need it.
We stayed at the pool everyday which is well looked after and clean with plenty of sunbeds for all.I would have one complaint about the pool is that they really need to put a fence or something up at the apartment side of the pool as there is a nasty drop on the other side of the small wall.
The apartments are close to the beach and bars which are only a few mins stroll away.You do have to cross the busy main road but there is an underpass just up the road or you can cross at the steps just before the underpass.There is a supermarket next door to the rainbow which sell everything you need it is a few cent more for most things than the bigger shops but hey its handy so we always used it.
We never had any food at the apartments (except BBQ nite) as we like to get out and about when we are away.I must say the standard of the food in Stalis was very good,we didnt have one bad meal.Our favorite places were for lunch we liked Akti Bar or the little sandwich shop facing Akti and in the evening we really liked Amici Ristorante and Maria's Golden Beach.
We had a brill time staying at the Rainbow and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MJbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    68
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
149
195
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at Stalis where The Rainbow Apartments were our base for this time and have to say they were much better than I expected. Upon arrival we were met at reception by Maria (I think she was called) who was very swift in getting us checked in with no problems.
We had paid the extra for superior rooms and were not disappointed, I would fully recommend you upgrade for the bit extra if you can afford to do so. The rooms were extremely spacious and were cleaned every other day, we had room 303 and this was ample space for three people aged 17 - 24, our other half of the party were next door in 302 and this was even bigger with being a corner plot. Rooms were kitted out with fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, LCD TV, shower, basin and WC, air conditioning is also available at 7 euros per day which we paid and found this to be of good standard.
Although we spent the majority of our days at the beach the pool area is very clean although the pool is on the smaller side it is not an issue with the apartments only having 40 odd rooms the pool is never too busy not to go in. Sunbeds were not an issue either, the majority of guests are British meaning no 6am get ups to go an put towels out :P
We only attended one of the themed nights which was the BBQ night and for 10 euros you could not argue at all with the food or entertainment, Eddie provided a great night one that I will not forget.
Location wise the apartments are excellent with the beach less than 5 minutes away, the road outside as stated in previous reviews is busy but there is a crossing which leads to steps approx 200 yards away which as long as you have got road sense this is not a problem to cross.
The bar food we tried was very good but the apartments did not offer a full breakfast (which I enjoy on holiday) for this we went to Robin Hood approx 5 min walk from the hotel on the main strip which was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 99h23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from Stalis and stayed at The Rainbow Apartments. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Ideally positioned and just a 5 min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. We stayed in one of the superior rooms (302) which was huge. Our daughter and boyfriend had a similar apartment next door although this was slightly smaller but still more than adequate. The pool is a bit on the small side, but with around only 40 apartments it was not an issue. There are plenty of sunbeds also so no getting up at 6am to do the towel run. Saturday nights are BBQ night and Eddy puts on a great night, well worth the €10. Also as the apartments are so close to the beach and bars etc it's only a short stroll each day / night. Turn right out of the apartments and walk approx 200 yards down the busy road and cross. Down the steps and your are 100 yards from the beach. I can highly recommend Maria's Golden Beach restaurant on the corner as you approach the sea. Also Akti bar across the road does brilliant lunch time snacks. The Robin Hood Pub a further 100 yards up the beach road does top notch breakfasts. We loved our time here and will be back very soon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the rainbow apartments between June and July this year with my wife, These are without doubt the best apartments in Stalis!! This is our second visit to the Rainbow and our third to Stalis and I must say the appartments are clean, spacious and in a fantastic location!! They are cleaned every other day and toilet roll is provided throughout your whole stay which is unusual for Greece

Air conditioning is available for 7 euros a day which is a must as it was so hot, and a safe is available for 30 euros. If you need to keep your room on for the final day if your flight is in the evening then this only costs 15 euros which is more than acceptable!!

The food at the apartments is very nice and reasonably priced with a large menu to pick from, the staff at the Rainbow are all very friendly and accomodating. The pool area is also very nice, with plenty of loungers, with a good sized swimming pool. Overall I would highly recommend these apartments.

I also feel I have a duty to mention one small issue and this is that the pool is not the cleanest, you do need to spend time getting flies and bees out of the pool and i think this is due to a filter problem with the pool that does need addressing. The staff do go into the pool and scrub the walls due to this problem as they do get a little grubby to try and make up for this filter problem. With this in mind do not wear a white bikini as this will dis colour and go yellow, many people around the pool did have this problem whilst we were there!!

Please do not let this deter you, this is a minor problem which I am sure will be addressed, the location is fantastic, only 3 to 5 minutes away from the main strip and the beach!! A fantastic holiday and we wil definetly go back in the future!!

AD4478

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AD4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wat a little gem of a place, backed by mountain views and a very short walk to beach and restaurants . Lovely pool area with good bar/ food serving area round pool, serving breakfast right through to meals. Would have given all 5s on ratings and if u get a superior apartment then yes 5/5 . Double balconies big rooms etc .stalis restaurants & bars , shops all on seafront , with some stunning sea views while u eat and drink . Fantastic apts and stalis is one of our favourite places. Danny, from notts

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danmeglozanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 17th-30th June, This is our 3rd visit to Stalis & definately the best.
Arrived just after midnight, Eddy & Nettie could not have been more helpful, even cooked us a meal.
We booked the superior apartments & were defintely not dissapointed, very good size, very clean & had everything you could possibly need. The whole complex is extremely well looked after & clean.
But the staff are what makes these apartments the best, Eddy ,Nettie, Delia & Maria could not be more obliging.
I would recommend that you try the free Pasta night & BBQ ( excellent handmade burgers,Delia obviously takes after a certain famous namesake ) . A good night & a good laugh.
Have to mention the maids, came in every other day & made a great job.
Overall couldn't fault it, great resort & excellent apartments.
A last big thanks to all the staff, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank homer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here June 12th to 19th, first visit to Crete and certainly won't be our last! The apartments are very well looked after, facilities are excellent, but its the people who make it special. Eddie, Nettie, Delia and Maria look after everyone and make you feel very welcome, its like leaving family at the end of the holiday. Stalis is a lovely town, the beach is beautiful and you are spoilt for choice for somewhere to eat. Would highly recommend a visit to Rainbow apartments in Stalis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Property: Rainbow Apartments
Address: 70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stalis
#2 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Apartments in Stalis Crete are a delightful, family-run holiday apartment complex with an inviting, friendly atmosphere. The Rainbow Apartments enjoy an enviable position near the sandy beach in seaside resort Stalis in Crete, Greece.At Rainbow Apartments tradition and innovation blend perfectly: 19 Standard and 22 Superior studios and apartments feature all modern amenities in a contemporary setting with timeless charm and impeccable service. The apartments offer splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea and the Bay of Stalis. Blessed with a mild climate year-round, Rainbow Apartments have a large outdoor swimming pool in stylish surroundings and with a mature, Meditteranean garden. Water sports and leisure opportunities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalis
Rainbow Apartments Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing