We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ THIS BEFORE BOOKING”
Review of Rainbow Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Apartments
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I booked a Studio Apartment for August/September 2011.
On arrival, we were allocated an "apartment" that could only be described as a storage room.
The room was 16ft x 10ft, at the rear of which was a bathroom which was a mere 4ft wide. We could easily put our hands flat against opposite walls without straightening our arms, and it was impossible to open or close the door if someone was standing at the sink.
The only window in the room was 3ft high by 6 inches wide, and was located at the side of the kitchen sink, so that, in order to look out, it was necessary to climb onto the sink draining board!
The only other natural light came from a frosted glass panel in the top of the door.
The "spacious" terrace (as described on the website), was 2ft wide at the narrowest point. On complaining at reception, we were informed that we had only booked a "Standard" Studio, and not a "Superior" one.
Silly me, for not realising that it was necessary to book a "Superior" apartment in order to get a window!!
After complaining for 5 days, we were eventually moved to a moderately larger apartment.
During our stay at Rainbow, we discovered that approx. 50% of the ground floor apartments faced on to either another apartment directly opposite or on to a blank wall!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in these apartments from 16th to 28th August 2011
It was our 7th time staying at the Rainbow. The rooms are very clean and spacious, with balconies or patios overlooking the pool or sea.
Maria is always friendly and helpful and if you have any queries she is always on hand to help sort things out.
The apartments are in a great location, only 2 mins to the beach or shops.
The pool and sun beds are kept very clean and tidy
The staff that runs the pool bar and the night time entertainment Thomas, Eddy are great, nothing was too much trouble.
The free pasta night and the weekly bbq are a must- the meat cooked by Eddie is superb and there is plenty of salads and jacket potatoes to go with it. Also free wine for 3 hours.
The crazy Greek bingo is great what a laugh. A great way to meet everyone.
The apartments are in a great location, only 2 mins to the beach or shops.
We will be returning next year, that's for sure."

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nanx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We are just back from a week in the rainbow apartments. We stayed in a superior studio apartment which was very modern and spacious. We arrived late and was told we would have to stay in a standard apartment for the first night. We didn't have a choice and to be honest they didn't really care. If we had to stay in standard apartment more than one night i would really not of been happy they are not of a good standard. Yes you have to pay for the air-conditioning but it is really worth it as the room will be cool within 5 mins of it being switched on.

Definitely don't have a shower in the morning unless you want a cold one!! Takes until at least the afternoon for the water to heat up which is very annoying.

When i booked i requested a pool view, not ground floor and a sun facing apartment. We got none of these requests we had a ground floor, not sun facing and faced the main road.

Also what is very annoying is if Maria isnt there no one else can really help you with anything. Maria seems to run the whole place.

Would we stay here again yes we prob would as it is definitely more comfortable than other apartments.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a superior apartment a superior studio is bigger than a standard one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al3822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we returned from a trip to these lovely apartments on 30th august. my partner and 5 children went ranging in ages from 11 to 16. the standard apartments are basic but spotlessly clean. small but powerful shower. maid service which included full linen/towel change was every 2 days! i think i would book into the superior rooms next time just for a bit extra. even though the bar was open till late and we overlooked it we heard no noise. double glazing is fab. a safe is 14euro for the week and air con 7euro a night. pool was lovely. there is a general air of total relaxation eminating from the place. Delia who cooks from 9 till 7 is fantastic..food is lovely and so is she. i don't know how she pulls it off. barbeque night is great. beware though you have to be first on the karaoke if you win the crazy greek bingo.haha. pasta night which is free was excellent too.
as for the busy road..it's not that bad and there is a crossing place to the left of the apartments near a laundarette or further on a underpass. noise from the road is very minimal.
the whole team..Eddie,Nettie,Thomas and wonderful Delia..thankyou so much so a truly lovely holiday..not forgetting the very friendly Maids and Maria and her Father.

ps: the best place to eat is Maria's, once you cross the road ( not under the underpass) it's straight down the side street and is the first large restaurant on your the left, on the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Although air conditioning, a must for August, was extra we had a very pleasant stay. Rooms very clean and spacious, friendly staff and no having to rush to get a sun bed around the pool in the morning. Whole complex well kept. Apartments were across the road from beach and restaurants. The road can be quite busy but there is an underpass nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior apartment with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

booked direct with Maria this year, was a little nervous but no need, panicked when she emailed me the day before we travelled to say the taxis were on strike but recommended a resort hopper and even said if that failed she would collect us herself, brilliant service once again, the superior apartment 312 was wonderful, spacious, very clean and quiet, even on bbq night where the wine flows freely. The maids never seem to stop, and are very friendly, although we prefer the beach (for the breeze only) stayed by the pool on a couple of occasions and very nice, no chavs or louts bombing etc, all nice family type people.
I would buy an apartment off Maria if she let me??? mmh I may email her - lol
Even the waiters in Marias Golden Beach remembered us from last year, and 3 familys from last year were there at the same time this year, if thats not a recommendation I dont know what is.
Just lovely once again - thank you Maria XX

Room Tip: try for superior room where poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Been back a week and missing the place already. Eddie, Nettie, Cookie and Maria run this place to make sure your stay is as happy as possible. We had room 106 above reception and yes there was a bit of noise but we had a balcony that went all the way around, pool in the morning, mountains to the side and sea view as well. prices around the area are not that bad, Marias golden beach was excellent, Mythos had excellent food and you can have a good laugh at the Red Lion and Robin Hood. Take the kids down to Nemos as well for crazy golf. A big hi to Andy and family and hope sheffield do well this year( also he holds the golf record for nemo) and a massive hi to Brendas Bacardi Babes, thanks for a wonderful time. Do the crazy Greek bingo at the BBQ and pasta night great times had. Only downside was lack of kitchen equipment in rooms. All in all a great holiday thanks Eddie and Nettie, hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you go in superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rackoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#7 of 52 in Stalis
440 reviews
0 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Address: 70 Irinis St, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stalis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $25 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Apartments in Stalis Crete are a delightful, family-run holiday apartment complex with an inviting, friendly atmosphere. The Rainbow Apartments enjoy an enviable position near the sandy beach in seaside resort Stalis in Crete, Greece.At Rainbow Apartments tradition and innovation blend perfectly: 19 Standard and 22 Superior studios and apartments feature all modern amenities in a contemporary setting with timeless charm and impeccable service. The apartments offer splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea and the Bay of Stalis. Blessed with a mild climate year-round, Rainbow Apartments have a large outdoor swimming pool in stylish surroundings and with a mature, Meditteranean garden. Water sports and leisure opportunities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalis
Rainbow Apartments Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Stalís
Rainbow Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing