We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stalis is not real Crete!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amazones Villas Apartments
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Family holidays on July! as we have a little daughter (3y) we decided for an easy place to stay; not so far from the Heraklion airport aproximately 25 mins driving; the beach easy to reach but actually you need to walk 10-15 minutes to reach beach facilities. The apartment are confortable and clean but with really simple furniture. Breakfast not very good! Stalis in not the best place to stay in Crete; I think that there are better locations to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank kris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had our mum along with our family for the October half term, and Dimitris and Natasha may sure she got a ground floor room to help with the walking, and avoiding stairs. The food and spirits were lovely, as was the weather 28-30C!, and my kids loved be able to jump in the cool pool each evening under the fading sun. Rooms are very clean with all the things you need for a really fun self catering week, and the supermarket is only a two minutes away - so if you forget anything - just buy it.

Room Tip: I put Fitness centre as average since it is tricky to count the pool as centre, but you could easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elangonel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ended up staying in these apartments due to over booking at Alantha Apartments in Aghios Nikolaos. We were very happy with the end result as feel these were actually a lot better after visiting Aghios Nikolaos. George, Dimitri and Natasha made us very welcome. our apartment was spacious with everything you need, exactly the typical Greek accommodation. in a good position to town 5 minute walk to the beginning of beach and nightlife never made it too the other end of strip as too far too walk back. plenty of nightlife in Stalis for whatever your looking for, we really enjoyed nights at the Irish bar Dwyers which had live music and friendly atmosphere, and made sure your glass was never empty. we ventured out of the town for five days and saw many beaches stalis in comparison has a very nice sandy beach, however you are crammed in on sunloungers and brollies. sea good fun as waves are large and powerful, not so good for young small children. prices are relatively cheap still sun-lounger hire 4 euros with brollies food ranges 7 - 15 euros depending where you eat and what you eat, beer 2.50 spirits 4. best supermarket is in the town worth the walk back as lots more to choose from and cheaper. BEWARE, we hired a care during our stay from caravel what a rip off. despite signs its not 100% insurance covered its not net and there are extra costs please don't be misleading by the sign outside of shop, as we were told by Anastasia it does not say inclusive so this gets them out of any thing misleading. we ended up paying another 100 euros above our quoted price that we had already paid a deposit for to make sure we were fully insured. something that should of been explained in the beginning. so please beware. this did not spoil our holiday but we would of gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank growlerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Amazones Villas apartments and thanks to the positive reviews we knew pretty much what to expect, and weren't disappointed with our choice. The apartment was roomy and just what we needed, and we intend to return next year if we can. There was a problem with the mattress on my bed but it was soon changed for a much newer one which was more comfy.
We were welcomed by George late in the evening when the coach dropped us at the rear entrance to the apartments and George saw us struggling with our luggage. He immediately helped out despite being off duty and the welcome was lovely, very friendly. Dimitris booked us in and we were shown to the apartment. Yes, it was a little tired and needing some updating but clean and tidy and ideal for our stay. One thing I would like to see tho is mattress covers on the beds rather than sheets directly onto mattresses as this would help the mattresses stay cleaner and fresher as well as being comfier. There are no mugs, only small cups, and stainless steel teapots, but for those who like to make one mug of tea or coffee, it might be an idea to take your own or buy a souvenier one to use and then take home. No tea-towel supplied or pegs so take your own or get them locally. Oh and take anti mosquito things, they were a nuisance despite my efforts with Vit B, and various deterrents. We bought a spray and used it every evening before we left for our evening out and locals suggested we crushed garlic onto saucers to leave by the beds. It seemed to help but we both got bitten as did other guests. Corfu was as bad last year tho so it's par for the course. The fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle and four ringed hob make any food preparation easy altho you won't want to cook much, there are so many lovely tavernas to visit to try the Greek food. Among our favourites were Romantic Corner (nearest to the apartments with good food and staff), Mike-Kostas (wonderful food, and staff, we had several great evenings there - thanks Kostas, Spiros and Nicos), Dianomeas (quite amazing Kleftiko cooked in a pot), Knossos Cafe/Restaurant - quite a long walk but well worth the effort and again we visited more than once and had fun and good food.

The pool area was fairly quiet when we there from 21st Sept and people chatted and were friendly so a pleasant time could be spent in the water or out. George or Dimitris was always on hand to help out with drinks or snack orders, or any questions we had about the area etc. The delightful Natasha was always friendly and helpful despite being kept busy with working on reception and caring for her children and everything that cropped up. The cleaners came often and changed sheets and towels every few days, emptied bins and cleaned floors in fact our sheets etc were changed the day before we left which surprised me.
I would recommend this place to anyone, it was on a par with the great apartments we found last year in Corfu, and we fell in love with Stalis, Amazones and the people we met there. Take some trips on the Happy Train, we enjoyed the trip into the mountains to the village of Mochos, and the ride round the villages of Malia, Stalis etc. We made our own way on the local bus to Agios Nikolaos and then up to Plaka and on a boat to Spinalonga. What an interesting place, we spent a long time there and found loads of things to photograph.

When we left Natasha and George came to the coach to wave us off which was a lovely touch and we felt as tho we were leaving family behind. As I said before, we will certainly be visiting again if we can next year. Thanks to all at Amazones - we miss you already.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleDiamond60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent a week at the Amazones Villas apartments in September and had a great time.
George, Dimitri and Natasha are very good hosts, are attentive and you make you feel most welcome at all times.
The location of the apartments is good as they are away from the hustle and bustle of Stalis town itself, about 5 mins walk away, but there are some restaurants and supermarkets nearby and it is a 45 minute walk into the big town of Hersonnissos where there is a harbour, plenty of shops, bars etc. The apartments are a little dated now but have enough equipment for preparing meals if needed.
The only downside is the general level of cleaning is of a poor standard, I always thought it was standard practice that if you left the towels on the floor they would be replaced. Unfortunately when we did this they stayed on the floor where we left them and as they were damp we had to hung them out to dry when we got back. My brother in law did not have his towels changed for 4 days and had to ask for some fresh ones. The bed linen was only changed once during our stay.
There are 2 really good restaurants within 5 minutes walk, Pelagos & 9 Muses and a small beach just before you get to Stalis.
There were plenty of sunbeds, a good pool and a selection of bar snacks.
Summing up it was a pleasant holiday with friendly staff but I feel the owners need to get a grip on the cleaning before it gets out of hand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary_martin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned from our 11th visit and are already booking our next visit. Family run apartments by a couple Dimitris and Natasha who treat you as family. They are always ready with a smile and willingness to make your holiday perfect. Clean apartments comfortable rooms with good kitchen facilities, great swimming pool and minutes from the beach and a great choice of restaurants. Very friendly town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival greeted by the owners and made to feel very welcome .
Apartments were everything that you would need, hygiene was excellent and rooms were cleaned daily.
Completely satisfied and party nights were great.
Thanks to all jacquie and john

Room Tip: Air conditioning would be better situated in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCNALLYBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.3 mi away
Neon Hotel
Neon Hotel
#33 of 52 in Stalis
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#14 of 52 in Stalis
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koni Village
Koni Village
#17 of 52 in Stalis
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Villas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Villas Apartments

Address: 359 Irinis Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range: $29 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazones Villas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amazones Villas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Villas Apartments Hotel Stalis
Amazones Hotel Apartments
Amazones Hotel Stalís
Amazones Villas Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing