We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed in our choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amazones Villas Apartments
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Amazones Villas apartments and thanks to the positive reviews we knew pretty much what to expect, and weren't disappointed with our choice. The apartment was roomy and just what we needed, and we intend to return next year if we can. There was a problem with the mattress on my bed but it was soon changed for a much newer one which was more comfy.
We were welcomed by George late in the evening when the coach dropped us at the rear entrance to the apartments and George saw us struggling with our luggage. He immediately helped out despite being off duty and the welcome was lovely, very friendly. Dimitris booked us in and we were shown to the apartment. Yes, it was a little tired and needing some updating but clean and tidy and ideal for our stay. One thing I would like to see tho is mattress covers on the beds rather than sheets directly onto mattresses as this would help the mattresses stay cleaner and fresher as well as being comfier. There are no mugs, only small cups, and stainless steel teapots, but for those who like to make one mug of tea or coffee, it might be an idea to take your own or buy a souvenier one to use and then take home. No tea-towel supplied or pegs so take your own or get them locally. Oh and take anti mosquito things, they were a nuisance despite my efforts with Vit B, and various deterrents. We bought a spray and used it every evening before we left for our evening out and locals suggested we crushed garlic onto saucers to leave by the beds. It seemed to help but we both got bitten as did other guests. Corfu was as bad last year tho so it's par for the course. The fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle and four ringed hob make any food preparation easy altho you won't want to cook much, there are so many lovely tavernas to visit to try the Greek food. Among our favourites were Romantic Corner (nearest to the apartments with good food and staff), Mike-Kostas (wonderful food, and staff, we had several great evenings there - thanks Kostas, Spiros and Nicos), Dianomeas (quite amazing Kleftiko cooked in a pot), Knossos Cafe/Restaurant - quite a long walk but well worth the effort and again we visited more than once and had fun and good food.

The pool area was fairly quiet when we there from 21st Sept and people chatted and were friendly so a pleasant time could be spent in the water or out. George or Dimitris was always on hand to help out with drinks or snack orders, or any questions we had about the area etc. The delightful Natasha was always friendly and helpful despite being kept busy with working on reception and caring for her children and everything that cropped up. The cleaners came often and changed sheets and towels every few days, emptied bins and cleaned floors in fact our sheets etc were changed the day before we left which surprised me.
I would recommend this place to anyone, it was on a par with the great apartments we found last year in Corfu, and we fell in love with Stalis, Amazones and the people we met there. Take some trips on the Happy Train, we enjoyed the trip into the mountains to the village of Mochos, and the ride round the villages of Malia, Stalis etc. We made our own way on the local bus to Agios Nikolaos and then up to Plaka and on a boat to Spinalonga. What an interesting place, we spent a long time there and found loads of things to photograph.

When we left Natasha and George came to the coach to wave us off which was a lovely touch and we felt as tho we were leaving family behind. As I said before, we will certainly be visiting again if we can next year. Thanks to all at Amazones - we miss you already.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleDiamond60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent a week at the Amazones Villas apartments in September and had a great time.
George, Dimitri and Natasha are very good hosts, are attentive and you make you feel most welcome at all times.
The location of the apartments is good as they are away from the hustle and bustle of Stalis town itself, about 5 mins walk away, but there are some restaurants and supermarkets nearby and it is a 45 minute walk into the big town of Hersonnissos where there is a harbour, plenty of shops, bars etc. The apartments are a little dated now but have enough equipment for preparing meals if needed.
The only downside is the general level of cleaning is of a poor standard, I always thought it was standard practice that if you left the towels on the floor they would be replaced. Unfortunately when we did this they stayed on the floor where we left them and as they were damp we had to hung them out to dry when we got back. My brother in law did not have his towels changed for 4 days and had to ask for some fresh ones. The bed linen was only changed once during our stay.
There are 2 really good restaurants within 5 minutes walk, Pelagos & 9 Muses and a small beach just before you get to Stalis.
There were plenty of sunbeds, a good pool and a selection of bar snacks.
Summing up it was a pleasant holiday with friendly staff but I feel the owners need to get a grip on the cleaning before it gets out of hand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary_martin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned from our 11th visit and are already booking our next visit. Family run apartments by a couple Dimitris and Natasha who treat you as family. They are always ready with a smile and willingness to make your holiday perfect. Clean apartments comfortable rooms with good kitchen facilities, great swimming pool and minutes from the beach and a great choice of restaurants. Very friendly town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival greeted by the owners and made to feel very welcome .
Apartments were everything that you would need, hygiene was excellent and rooms were cleaned daily.
Completely satisfied and party nights were great.
Thanks to all jacquie and john

Room Tip: Air conditioning would be better situated in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCNALLYBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

On the outskirts of the town, this is a lovely retreat for both families and couples, Ran by Dimitri and Natasha along with the ever busy, energetic, and very jovial George.
There were many return couples here indicating the quality of customer support they give to all their guests. Our daughter and Grandson were here 2 years ago and I can see why they wanted to return. It was a very laid back atmosphere and you felt more like family than a guest. A lovely salt water pool which was never very busy but frequented during the day at some point by most guests. The bar service was excellent and certainly not as pricey as one would expect, and although I did not attempt one of their breakfasts they looked amazing value.
The rooms were well maintained and certainly were better equipped than I have seen on many Greek islands. Kettle, Toaster,Microwave,Hairdryer, and TV, as well as the fridge and 2 ring cooker. If you know Greek holidays you will understand how highly specced they were for self catering apartments. We had an evening flight back and even though fully booked for a small charge were given the use of a private room for the last day which helped enormously. Where possible they try to allow guests the use of their rooms as long as possible on the last day. The resort itself has many bars and tavernas within an easy walking distance and the beach is clean and lifeguards on duty. The sea can be a little unpredictable , calm one day and by the following evening surfers/bodyboarders out on the waves. We found it a nice base camp for seeing that end of the island visiting Spinalonga island during our 3 day car hire. If you want a really lovely beach follow the local road through Malia to the other side and there is an amazing sandy beach with a cafe/taverna on it. From the main rd it is signposted to the arcealogical site of Malia. We would certainly consider going back as our experience was very good and although Malia has a reputation Stalis although fairly close is a world away.Thanks Dimitri,Natasha, and George for meaking our family holiday that bit special.

Room Tip: top floor has a possibility of a seaview but if like us you booked 2 rooms the back path links the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tweetNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited this place in july and september last year.
In july it was my 2 boys and I, travelling with my sister(2kids) and a friend of her(2 kids).
I did a mistake when I ordered room, wrong dates and we arrived stalis 06:00 in the morning. We used a bit of time to get there due to mismatch between adress and GPS pos in my tomtom.
My boys and I was taken care of by Dimitris, and we got a 3room in stead of 2room wery quickly even the order was the night after. Exellent hospitality, food, drinks after our wishes.
The pool and diving board gave us a lot of fun, and the kids loved it. The minigolf kept the boys busy for many hours.

In september same great experience!

I am really looking forward to stay at your place for the third time with my new wife, 3 boys(14yr,12yr and 3 mth).

Best wishes, Håkon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haakon_H72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the amazones villa apartments in August this year, we had a 2 bed apartment and it was lovely, very big, very clean and sea view. The staff are lovely, really friendly and they encouraged all the guests to get to know each other so we finished most nights off back at the bar with guests and staff. The pool is great for kids, a slide, diving board and basket ball net as well as body boards etc which all the kids can use. Its about a 10 minute walk to the beach but it's a nice walk and there are bars along the way. Stalis is a lovely resort and ideal for children as most bars further down in the centre have slides mini golf etc. I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.2 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Neon Hotel
Neon Hotel
#34 of 52 in Stalis
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koni Village
Koni Village
#16 of 52 in Stalis
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amazones Village Suites
Amazones Village Suites
#3 of 9 in Piskopiano
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Villas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Villas Apartments

Address: 359 Irinis Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range: $37 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazones Villas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amazones Villas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Villas Apartments Hotel Stalis
Amazones Hotel Apartments
Amazones Hotel Stalís
Amazones Villas Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing