We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“McDonalds Scotland - Ladkins England Reunion 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Studios & Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunshine Studios & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“McDonalds Scotland - Ladkins England Reunion 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

have just returned today from holiday at the Sunshine in Stalis, and can say without any hesitation, that this is an absolute little gem of a place. a big thanks to Kosta and Imma who will do anything they possibly can to make your holiday the best ever. From the moment you arrive until you leave, they cannot do enough for you, and at any given time of day. The bbq night is a must, with Kosta doing the cooking, you are sure to be satisfied, the food served up was fantastic, and finished off nicely with a raki [happy days]. met a lot of nice people during our stay, including family and friends of Kosta and Imma. this was our fourth time in Stalis, but first time at the Sunshine and will definately be back next year. Ideal location for everything in resort. See you next year

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
94
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

What can be said that has not already been said , believe all the reviews , we booked on the base of them and they are all true an absolute Gem . The family that run it will do anything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible, they will go out of there way and more.
So a big thank you to Costa's his lovely wife and very pleasant children , my first time there but I'm sure it won't be my last .
Book with confidence .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyweston77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

once again great holiday this was our third visit and was just as good as the first we will be back again met some great people and hope to see them again at the sunshine hopefully next year thanks to all the staff who made us welcome as always cheers

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and well maintained to a high standed would recommend to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked the Sunshine Apartments in Stalis purely on the basis of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. They did not let us down and it therefore only seems fair that we should echo those views and write our own review.

We booked a last minute 10 night holiday in Stalis in May through Booking.com although we booked our resort transfers separately (much cheaper!).

The apartments are ideally located up a little street just off the main road so everywhere is accessible but you don't get the noise! The apartments are very very clean and like most greek standards, basic (the cleaning lady came in almost every day) and the towels were changed every other day.

There are only a few apartments which make the Sunshine apartments a very intimate and pleasant place to stay. They were about half occupied when we were there so there was plenty of room to sunbathe (on the grassy area at the rear). The pool is small but adequate although we only needed to take a dip once as the weather wasn't that hot.

We chose to have breakfast included in our holiday - either full English or continental, purely for ease although there are plenty of places serving breakfast within a very short distance. It was actually nice to have breakfast and have a chat with Kostas each morning. We tried both the English breakfast and the continental preferring to stay on the continental as it was lighter. Kostas was more than accommodating and willing to change anything that we wanted (like the bread!).

Kostas and his wife Eimear are the most amazing of hosts - extremely chatty and very very friendly. We can definitely see why people return year after year. Eimear eve came over to us whilst we were sunbathing in the garden to bring us some cakes that her friends had brought - very kind and generous.

Kostas was also very very helpful in explaining to us how we could climb the mountain (which we did!). On a cloudy day, we walked all the way up the mountain (and back!) to his village - Mochos. We had lunch at the Taverna Kelari in the square which was very enjoyable.

Unfortunately because of the time of year, we didn't get to experience one of the greek nights but we did have a couple of drinks in the evening.

We had a great holiday in Stalis and although we probably won't return (too many places to see!), we would definitely definitely recommend the Sunshine Apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have been here. These apartments improve each year.
This year we found just Kostas and Eimear mainly running the show, (no sign of his brother), with a little outside help a couple of evenings, behind the bar - but not forgetting the trusty cleaning lady.
This led to substantially later bar opening hours than previous years, but a more relaxed evening atmosphere, particularly on BBQ night, when Kostas really came into his own with the Raki in a teapot!
As always the place was spotlessly clean throughout.
The on-site food was swiftly prepared & reasonably priced.
These people canot do enough to help. This year they were personally overseeing, and taking care of a guest & her young daughter, to to visit her husband at hospital miles away, who had been taken ill early in his stay, for almost a fortnight ♥ all in-between running Sunshine 24/7, bringing up 2 girls, and Eimear working evenings at Slainte! phew!
This place comes highly recommended.
Tip: A trip to Krasi on the Happy Train this year, with a walking tour & lunch in the local taverna during the 2.5 hour stopover, made a nice cool change to just lounging around all day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDogsDooDahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second stay in Stalis but first time at these apartments.They were recommended to us by locals that we met last Septemeber.
We arrived later than expected but Costa (the owner)was waiting for us.First impressions told us that he was a very approachable guy.He soon took us along to out room,carrying some of our bags.Our first few days were very quiet so the pool was OURS..well nearly!! We got to know Costa,his wife and two lush little girls..also very friendly lush people.We noticed that nearly every party that came in after us knew Costa and his family well!! To me this said it all :)
.We went to the BBQ,the first this year,it was one of the guys on holidays birthday so was made a little bit more special by everyone.We started with crusty bread,greek salad with fete cheese and jacket potatoes.Then the meat started to come,and come and come...and would anyone like more??? Then the raki.....phew...Costas home made!!! The guys encouraged one another with Costas help....Not many liked it that much but the guys all had more...and some even had more !!! The conversation was then all Raki.A couple of the ladies on holiday came to the table and said "taste this" It was Raki with cinnamon and somthing else I think...It was nice..so I was told..The appartments were kept clean,the maid called every other day.She also was very friendly even though she did not speak English.
On our second week a lass started to work behind the bar in the morning and evening.She also was really nice,she fit in as if she was part of their family.
There was no fighting for sunbeds or anything like that.A few beds are around the pool and the rest at the back on the grass.Every balcony looks out onto the pool which is nice.The possition off the appartments is great.Off the main strip at the top of a no through little track/road.The area of the strip that we like to be at night for the bars was right there.Ideal for us.The pool was cleaned daily by Costa,if Costa wasnt behind the bar he was doing something,never stopped so always on hand if needed.
You do need to take a hair dryer,not a problem as now you know..lol.
If you book these appartments I can promise you will not be disapointed..unless you are one of these that loves to find faults...You then will be disapointed because you will NOT find any.
Happy holiday :) Give our love to Costa and family..oh and not forgetting Lillie the appartments pet cat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billysue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at these great apartments, the owners costa and ema were very helpful with everything we wanted, costa even drove us up to a mountain village 1 eve so we could have dinner,, went with 3 other girls and although i would not return as a group i would definitely return with a partner and stay at these great apartments again... xx

Room Tip: First or second floor seemed better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stiletto62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#8 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios & Apartments

Property: Sunshine Studios & Apartments
Address: Stalis, Crete 70 007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Studios & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunshine Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios And Apartments
Sunshine Studios & Apartments Hotel Stalis
Sunshine Studios & Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing