We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Studios & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Studios & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

just returned from a two week holiday at the sunshine apartments, we went as a group of seven, and had two 1 bedroomed apartments. The apartments were kept very clean and we were made to feel very welcome. There was plenty to do in Stalis and as a family we often went to the beach which was just up the road, sunbeds were free on part of the beach and a big thankyou to Steve who often bought drinks to us while we lazed on the sunbeds. In the evenings we ate out and had some very good meals our favourite was The Kaliana, the staff were very friendly and the food was lovely. A big thankyou to Kostas who went and got my husbands medication as he had an accident and hurt his ribs.nothing was to much for him to help us. all in all it was a very relaxing holiday and we will definately be back.
T@W families

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 457alf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    25
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
94
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Heywood. England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned having spent two weeks at the Sunshine Apts. We stayed in one of the studios. The room was clean and roomy with plenty of wardrobe space. There is a functional kitchen area, although we only used it for making coffee,Fridge/freezer table and chairs. Wetroom was a good size. All apts and studios have a pool view. The rooms are cleaned very well every other day and fresh towels are provided every four days or so. The complex is family friendly and being average size everyone becomes friendly.
Kostas and Manos are extremely helpful and friendly. The complex has a bar area and snacks are reasonably priced.
The location is brilliant as it is very close to the beach and the main area of the resort without having any of the noise.
The resort itself is lively. We tend to go for the greek cuisine and we could not fault any of the restaurants we ate at. I never heard anyone said they had had a bad meal anywhere.
We did walk out of one restaurant after having placed our order and received no food after an hour. They did say there was a mix up but we decided to vote with our feet.
A lot of the restaurants are on the sea front, some you can actually get tables on the beach.
There is something for everyone in the resort of Stalis, there are bars with live music, bars with kareoke, bars that do quizzes and bingo and bars where you can just sit and people watch. There are also clubs that are open all night for those that wish to stay out.
There are also plenty of supermarkets and souvenir shops.
Be prepared for the fact that all the bars and restaurants have ' employees ' attempting to entice you in. All are quite friendly and realise you are not going to eat/drink at their establishment every night, they merely wish to show you the menu and ask that you consider it for another time.
You are doing well if you can get past the ' restaurant Creta ' without Ben dragging you in for a free Raki, ( without pressure to eat there ) which I did partake in quite a lot.
I would highly recommend all the restaurants that we ate in, but to name them all, would probably do the ones we didn't visit an injustice.
The best review I can give for the Sunshine Apts and Stalis itself is that I will be returning, hopefully very soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Skywalker1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The best thing about the Sunshine Studios is its location as Stalis beach is only 150m away. It is also extremely close to supermarkets, shops, pubs and tavernas.

As far as the accommodation concerned, the apartments are quite basic, but clean. What you get for your money represents good value, which is the main thing. The swimming pool is on the small side, although this is not a huge problem with the sea being so close. (We found the beach a much more pleasant place to spend our days anyway as it was much cooler there.)

We stayed on the ground floor, and we experienced some problems sleeping due to the noise of inconsiderate guests as well as one of the owners dragging sun loungers around the pool at 7.30 every morning (but we did sleep with one of the balcony doors open, due to the heat).

This accommdation has received lots of 5 start reviews. I would have considered a 4 star review, but what I felt was missing was the personal service (which is funnily what everyone else on this site has been praising). When we arrived, the check-in procedure was done with the minimum conversation possible and we were abruptly shown to our rooms (although perhaps understandable as we checked in after midnight). I did expect some follow up from the management the following morning instead, but there was none. Most of the week, we did not hear from, or speak to, the owners, and we still don't know what any of their names are.

It is extremely easy to work things out for yourself in Stalis, but it would have been nice to have received some basic information from the management, especially concerning the studios themselves. For example, we were not told that the air con can be turned on if you pay a supplement (we found this out from another guest on the final morning). We just assumed our air con unit didn't work. We also assumed the TV was broken, but perhaps we needed to rent a remote from the resort. We weren't worried about the lack of TV at all, but the lack of air conditioning meant we had some hot sticky nights and suffered from noise disturbance. Sure, we could have been more proactive and made some enquiries, but would it have really been too much trouble for the management to run through a few basics with us upon check-in (or to leave a leaflet in the room explaining these things)?

Despite this, if I were to return to Stalis, I would happily stay in the Sunshine apartments again - as I said above, you won't find a place to stay with a much better location than this and it is good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

They are in a great location as other reviews have said - just down a small road nearly opposite the beach away from the noise of the strip.

We travelled as two couples and booked two studios for 7 nights. Both studios were identical although one was on the ground floor and the other on the top floor. The one on the top floor was more private (the ground floor one was right by the pool bar) and had lovely views of the hills. They were modern and well decorated with a decent size balcony. The maid cleaned our rooms and changed the towels every other day and bedding was changed once in the week. The bathroom was larger than those in greek apartments that I've stayed in before and even had a bathtub.

Safe hire was 15 Euros and air-conditioning was 45 Euros per week. As we had arrived late, we didn't pay for the air-conditioning until the following morning, therefore were only charged 40 Euros which we felt was very fair of them. We also paid 20 Euros per room to keep the rooms on until late the day of departure as our flight wasn't until 00.55. This made our last day much more enjoyable as we were still able to spend the day on the beach.

The pool wasn't huge. It was very well kept, big enough for a quick dip to cool down and, as it is only a small complex, it wasn't over crowded; we always managed to get four sun loungers together. We booked bed and breakfast, not sure what to expect, but it was great. Breakfast was chosen off the bar menu with the choice of a full english, continental, egg and toast, bacon and sausage rolls etc. We also got orange juice and coffee or tea every morning too.

We ate out on the main strip every night. Our favourite restaurants were restaurant Creta by the sea (turn left as you emerge on the main road and it's just on the right) and Artemis which was quite a bit further up the road on the right. The Irish bar 'Dwyers' has a good atmosphere if you like live music and cocktails (two for 7 Euros). The Beach Comber also had live music on during the week and had an extensive range of cocktails although a bit more pricey (I recommend the champagne mojito).

If staying in Stalis again, we would definitely return to these apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with additional two beds in living/kitchen area.
Comfortable, cleaned every second day with fresh towels and sheets, good fridge, kettle etc, bathroom typical greek not huge. but does the business, decent balcony with plastic table which was a bit small for four adult size people
Loads of sunloungers and decent pool for size of premises.
Pool bar with good snacks, bbq night a great laugh
The owners are very friendly and helpful.
Less than 5 minutes from the beach
Select supermarket close by with everything you could want.
Good tavernas close by Knossos, Artimas, Anatolia (a bit posh), Kostas on a Saturday for Greek dancing and Marias Golden Beach.
Good bus service to Aghios Nikolias or Hersoniis, trips to Spinolonge etc easily bookable, we used Altino Travel Services

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abershandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

well once again at the sunshine studios & apts, one week, very quiet, lovely pool, pool bar for great snacks, kostas does all the cooking so your in for a nice suprise, he looks after you very well,no waiting for someone to serve you, very friendly staff, nothing is to much trouble, rooms cleaned every other day, very close to beach road were all the night life is, 5 mins, and all the greek restaurants,rooms are large with safe, aircon, kettle, no need for cooking, pool bar for snacks and loads of eating places on beach road, this is or 3rd time staying here, and love it, we wouldent stay anywere else, give it a try you wont be disapointed. stalis beach is 10mins away, best beach i have seen ,loads of sunbeds, overall a great holiday, 6 times in stalis, we love the people and the beach,and of course the greek food.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool, twin rooms and family rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely clean apartments. Everything you would need. Great swimming pool and the rooms were lovely. We paid extra for the use of the safe 15 Euro. Stalis is a wonderful place to visit. We will return and would stay at the Sunshine Studios & Apartments again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#8 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Studios & Apartments

Property: Sunshine Studios & Apartments
Address: Stalis, Crete 70 007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Studios & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sunshine Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Studios And Apartments
Sunshine Studios & Apartments Hotel Stalis
Sunshine Studios & Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing