We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of Matamy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matamy Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stalis is a top resort, match this with a brilliant hotel and you will be as happy as a pig in it with this hotel.
I slept so so well in these bed comapared to others i have stayed in before, the location of this hotel is secound to none, clearly in the hot hot days yu are going to want the air con on, so windows being open is not a issue ( i noted that in another review) I dont really understand how someone can complain about being in the heart of a resoirt and then aout the noise. The bars turn music down and shur doors after midnight so most noise is ontained. I for one have never found it to be a problem,.
The pool i think is reflective of the amount of people who actually use it with the beach being so close. The fact that you have a cheecky little sun trap with a sea breeze< i really think this hotel holds everything for the sun whorisper wants.
The bar well look around and see the flags, t-shirts hanging on the walls i think this will pretty much tell you that a lot of people have spent time here and appriciated thier hosbitality they have received by a wonderful couple who both work tirelessley throughout the season.
The rooms are cleaned to a more than sufficent level as far as i am concerned, and anythign you are not happy with Costa and Stella are more than approchable.
It is a top class hotel with top class people. All you want and need is on your doorstep.
Go and see for yourself. It really is brill.

B x

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diggers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Returned from stallis this week costa and stella are the perfect hosts a family friendly hotel with toys available for children to use amazing location and excellent service.many wonderfull resaurants and bars in a lively resort to suit all age groups.cant wait to return to see costa stella girls and of course the red lion pub xx best holiday ever see u all again next yr xx

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catchitscratchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just back from a week in Stalis staying at the Matamy Beach Hotel, I had looked up Tripadvisor before booking this hotel and decided to try it based on the reviews already there.
Unfortunately it was just not up to standard, more like a 2 star.
The owners were very nice and friendly however the hotel itself fell short of what I was expecting.
Location: Good right in middle of Stalis bit noisy with music coming from the bar up to early hours in the morning had to shut window in apt to block it out. The apartment I stayed in was on the ground floor and was very dark and dingy, only one small window with a curtain which you had to keep closed due to being on ground floor. If you are coming here don't go for the studio apartments which are all probably on ground floor, terrace was way too small, if you do go here to stay book a room on first or second floor with a balcony and sea view, more privacy.
Beds: Clean and change of towels every day which was good.Beds horrendous, had to move about in the bed all night, they were really uncomfortable, not good if you have a bad back.
Bathroom itself not as clean as it could have been, not very clean shower head.
Pool: Far too small
Small Beach area with beds: This was good and right next to the sea and you did not have to pay for the beds as they belonged to the hotel.
Safe to say I would not go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villainette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Literally just arrived home to Glasgow this morning after a week at Matamy beach. Me and my best friend had such a great time. We were right in the middle of stalis, near the beach and restaurants and shops and only 5 mins in a taxi from malia. Matamy beach is a great setting, and Costas and Stella are lovely!! They were always chatting to us, and they are very accomodating. Nothing is too much trouble. They actually upgraded us to a one bedroom from a studio. Which we really appreciated! :D ... They also make great cocktails! Amazing views from the pool bar as well. We had a great holiday! Such lovely clean apartments, and the cleaner is so nice too! I would definetly recommend these apartments. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having just returned from a trip to matamy beach i must say what a loverly stay i had,Kosta,Stella and the girls were the perfect hosts.The rooms are clean and tidy withe plenty of room, cleaned every day by the friendly staff, locaton is perfect .I must say after reading some reviws i not sure what people expect, as this is avery nice family run appartments that are of a very good standard,i would recommend the appartment to ayone who is looking to stay in stalis, Thanks again to kosta and stella see you in september

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beechy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Matemy Beach Apartments in June 2012. This is the second time we have been to Stalis and stayed at the same apartments previously as the location was perfect for my elderly mother. The owners Costa and Stella were particularly welcoming, carried our cases to and from our rooms and also when the coach came to take us home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room we stayed in was fairly basic but clean and everything was in working order. We experienced no noise from either of the bars next door to the apartments and slept well all week. The location of the apartments is great as they are central and the beach is onbly a short walk away. The view of the sea from the outside covered area is spectacular especially when the sea is a bit rough due to the breeze. It is lovely and cool here and made a pleasant change from the scorching heat of the sun! All food and drinks were brought out to us quickly and there was never any rush to have to pay.Nothing was too much trouble. The pool is sometimes chilly due to it's location but you certainly needed cooling down anyway as the temperatures were nearing 40°C when we were there. I actually liked the little hotel beach area and all sunbeds seemed to be in working order to me! This was overall an enjoyable holiday for both myself and my mother. We will return to Stalis and stay at Matemy Beach apartments again. Thanks to Costa and Stella for a thoroughy enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Was our second time to stalis and could not get into our favorite hotel the latania so got one as close as possible with sea views . Thats all this hotel had going for it . Rooms ok if a little small with a microwave with no plug socket and a small bathroom . Once you got outside your room to use the bar and sun loungers thats when it hits home how much you know your in the wrong hotel . Bar area was a creche with toys for the owners two girls but also tv tuned to cartoons all day and chairs pushed together to act as beds so they could sleep . A pool table used as tv stand and pushed into corner . When we arrived the pool area was clean with a blue hose used to wash path area , once done said blue hose was left laid across paths and grass areas for next 14 days as for pool you needed to shower when you got out to get all bugs off you , you then got to the loungers were out of the 25 I would say 2 worked fully . Most was ripped or bent or lacked vital parts so you sit up right . Stalis is fantastic with great people and thanks to the latania and manos and Tim for getting us a great room for our last day stay as otherwise we would have had 8 hours with no where to go . Costa at the matamy could not do this for us and when we took keys back could not even drag himself away from the fag he was rolling to wish us safe journey or if we had a good stay . Stalis will see us back but we know were to book now

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#13 of 52 in Stalis
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
#6 of 52 in Stalis
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamy Beach Hotel

Address: 20, Agiou Ioannou Str. | Beach Road, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matamy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matamy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamy Beach Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing