We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our third visit to the Anastasia in four years and every time we enjoy our stay more than the previous time.
It feels to us like a second home, and start really looking forward to our next visit almost as soon as we return home, In face we only got home 3 days ago and have already booked our next visit for October 2014.
The service starts before we even arrive because Diane and Niki on reservations and reception email us and check if our needs have changed since our previous visit. my wife has some health issues that needs special considerations and the staff go out of their way to allocate us suitable accommodation, nothing is too much trouble for these wonderful people.

Even though we were delayed arriving on this last holiday and didn't get to the hotel until 12.30am, Mike the night porter was pleased to see us, and provided us with a hot meal whilst he took the suitcases up to our room. This service is standard, no matter what time you arrive the option of a meal is provided, we are well traveled and have never had this level of care anywhere before. Just sets the standard for the rest of the holiday.

The staff are all like friends, we know them all personally now, and love returning to catch up with them. Each year Vana tries her best to teach me some new Greek words, I do try my best to remember although she is understanding when I mess up. Thank you for your patience Vana.

The hotel guest room are all en suite with a full bathroom, either a shower over a bath or a shower cubicle. Ample wardrobe and storage space is provided. Each room has free efficient air conditioning, TV and fridge. Payable at extra cost you can hire a kettle (1 euro per day) and safety deposit box (10 Euros per week). Some people have commented that the mattresses are too firm for them to enjoy a good sleep but neither of us have ever experienced any problems with the bed comfort. The maid service is excellent, the rooms are serviced every day with frequent towel and linen changed made.

For only 2 Euros you can hire large soft pool towels, saves a lot of weight in your luggage. This is per stay, but if you want to change your towel any time during your stay this is another 2 Euros per towel.

The meals in the restaurant are buffet style, breakfast is served from 7,30-10am, whilst Dinner is 6.30-9pm. You have a choice of sitting inside or out depending on your preference. There is always an excellent selection at both services with a selection of typical Greek dishes along with more traditional English fayre for the less adventurous amongst the guests. We've never had any problem finding enough choice at every service to give us a good meal. I've previously read comments from some reviewers about the temperature of the food, again we've never had any issues personally on this but if anyone does like their food red hot a microwave is provided for use. The hotel owner Mixalis lives on site with his family and they all eat the same meals as the guests. This is testament in itself that the food is of an incredibly high standard. The tables are kept clear of used dishes and cutlery by Vana and Maria, you never have to wait long for service even at the busiest times of the meal services. There is an extensive lunch menu served at the bar for anyone needing anything extra between breakfast and evening meals.

The pools are kept perfectly clean, there are a choice of 4 pools in total with plenty of sunbeds around to satisfy the hotel at maximum occupancy. To add to your sun lounger comfort you can rent for just 1 euro per day (or for 10 euros for 14 days) you can rent softer mattresses.

Alex keeps the hotel grounds maintained beautifully, the extensive gardens are always a blaze of colour without barely a weed in sight.

Mixalis makes sure the guests are kept entertained on an evening with live shows featuring several times a week. The Dancing Girls and Quick Change shows were my personal favourites but during our stay there was also a Magic show, Three Mystic men along with a Bingo night, Karaoke and Quiz nights. The shows are provided free of charge by the hotel for the entertainment of the guests,
Once per week ,on a Sunday is BBQ night followed by cocktail evening and a feature film show, of course for vegetarian guests there are alternatives provided instead of the BBQ.

Combine all the above together and there is little wonder that so many of guests, like us, keep returning year after year, that fact speaks volumes in itself. Its a free market to choose where you want to spend your holidays, but when you get service like this, you tend not to look too much further afield.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests with mobility issues or anything, email the hotel prior to your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeUKDriffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mike,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are happy you have enjoyed once again your holiday with your lovely wife in to our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel next Summer.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    181
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
452
518
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent 10 memorable days at this hotel in late September. It is difficult to add to the previous reviews as most of the good points have been covered. We have travelled extensively and have never stayed in a friendlier hotel. All the staff from the owner to the cleaners were so friendly, cheerful and helpful it is difficult to single anyone out. Food was very good with plenty of choice including an English breakfast available every morning. The hotel was spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds around the 3 pools. Stayed at the hotel most nights as the entertainment was good fun especially Michaels favourite act 'The Mystic Men' featuring Ludo. Emma the "Entertainment Manager"!! (hope this gets you a pay rise) done a great job organising Karaoke and quiz nights which were great fun. Pity you called me Alloy.
For a 3 star hotel it was exceptional and would certainly recommend the Anastasia to anyone visiting Crete.
p.s. I'll have the dancing girls tent you and Pete can share the Mystic Men's tent. Thanks for a great holiday Michael, you are a gem. Old Alloy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex11Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Alloy,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are happy you have enjoyed your holiday with your lovely wife in to our Hotel.
I think one week me and Pete will help the dancing girls in the tent and you the mystic men and next week the other way around, just to keep it fair....come on now, i know you like the mystic men too, you were talking about them for your whole fortnight ha ha ha ! :)
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel friendly staff Diane on front desk very helpful nothing is to much trouble at all ,hotel is spotless, grounds man works very hard keeping the place looking great from early morning till evening ,Emma is great trying to involve everyone in karaoke /bingo/ etc it's not a easy job but she try's her best to include all . Food is very good something for all good variety to choose from and plenty off it , breakfast PG tips tea bags and a wide range off breakfast choice , my husband and and I had a relaxing week just what we needed and this was certainly the hotel to chill out and take it easy .great value for money beds a little on the hard side for me but that's just my opinion !!
A big thank you to mike the owner who gets involved in the shows but mike please don't give your day job up for singing lol ,thanks guys Tom and Ange x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are happy you have enjoyed your holiday in to our Hotel.
No worries i will not give up my day job ! ha ha ha !
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We flew back Friday 4th Oct after spending an awesome week at the Anastasia.Wow, rarely am I overwhelmed by a hotel. We were allocated room 409 towards the back of the hill, (up a slope) which was on the top floor(but easily reached via one flight of steps) The room itself was a Superior family room with a sea view, and what a view - to the left sea, centre sea and to the right mountains and old Malia. The first morning we were a bit lost, unsure of the proceedure for seating in the restaurant for breakfast etc. but we need not have worried, Maria soon made us feel right at home, and it was plain sailing from then on in. With plenty of sunbeds available we had a choice of where to catch the sun and took advantage of the "hire towels" for the pool. Sorted. Meals were an enjoyable affair, really good choice - considering the tight budget the tour operators leave for the hotel management to provide tasty wholesome food. A decent bottle of wine 9.50 euros- fantastic value! My elderly mum is not a big drinker, so was content with the wine, where as I sampled the Cocktails and local Brandy - Mataxa.We also made friends with a jolly good bunch of people who made our holiday. I know that some bars in Stallis beach road (strip) charge less, but when you are in such good company every evening, with fantastic live shows, who wants to walk anyway. We were kept entertained every evening by the lovely Emma and of course Michael "Big Boss Man" haha who on the Kareoke was outstanding ( I recommend we enter Michael on X Factor).We also booked a trip through local agents in the "Strip" where we enjoyed Agios Nikolaos, Elounda and Spinalonga Island, and a bbq on a beach which cost 32 euros per adult. We also found a good short cut through the rear of Kyknos Hotel, which came outside the Alexander Beach path.(turn left after the underpass)Before we knew it - our week had flown by and we were so sad to leave, especially Maria,Vana, Valentina, who were always smiling and helping us to master the Greek language, sadly we only learnt the basics, but we will improve ....for the next time we return. Overall the hotel came up trumps for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked well placed, but if you want to avoid the bar /entertainment noise maybe the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flick1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We try our best to provide the best service possible and offer guests an unforgetable holiday on the beautiful island of Crete.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a gem of a 3 star hotel - small and friendly, excellent staff, good food. Our first trip to Crete.
The owner lives on site with his family and can be seen every day/evening. Spotlessly clean everywhere - owner has thought of all the little touches too, towels, kettles, safe, bus info - all excellent. The night poter who welcomed us (Mike) was amazing - very friendly, helpful and genuinely welcoming - as were all the staff. Only 2 minor grumbles - poor entertainment - which only needs some extra attention - main grumble which nothing to be done about I know - was the road noise - very noisy traffic/ road at front of the hotel - otherwise truly wonderful hotel, great value and worth a visit - did boat, train, coach trips all great. Lots of Brits at this hotel - people go back year after year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I can not see how entertainment is poor, with 5 FREE live shows in the evenings ( 3 Mystic Men - twice with a different show the 3 Dancing Girls - Mr. Magic and The Quick Change Variety Show ) and in the other nights, Bingo, Quizes and Karaoke ??? So what more you reccomend ?
Also regarding noise from the road, i think this is personal, depending maybe where you live back home i guess, we have double glassed doors in the rooms but also around the pools, which are at the front of the hotel and nearer the road, you can not really hear the noise from the road, based on most guests opinion. Especially after the new highway was completed 2 years ago behind the mountain, the noise from the road has been reduced to minum level i think as it is used now as a secondary road.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 23rd aug to 6th sep. Room 409. Had not been abroad for 8 yrs but always loved our prior holidays in greece. We struggled the first 4 days as many guests seemed really clicky when we arrived. At 7am in morning all sunloungers by main pool were reserved. But by the 5th day when many guests were new the atmosphere was more relaxed. We are not the sort of people to sit in the hotel everynight, as when I leave England I like to look around and experience different nights out, so Michael the hotel owner may not recognise me. However staff such as Costas and Vana are a credit to the hotel. I have always loved eating out and was a tad worried about staying in a hotel, however the food was lovely. The main pool is fantastic and well maintained. Also a special mention to the summertime beach bar in stalis, the owner and head barman was such a freindly man and the kids loved it. We had booked for kos for 2014, begore this years holiday, however I would happily recommend crete and the hotel anastasia to other people. I guess the best recommendation is that me and my wife are sitting here wishing we was back in crete.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Family Cooper,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are happy you have enjoyed your family holiday in to our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed from the 1st October to the 7th, totally agree with other reviwers this is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. We found the room basic but functional we had a few days bad weather so had to spend longer than we wanted in the room, the bathroom was smaller than used to. Food was good however drink prices are on the high side. If it wasnt for the bad weather we woukd have enjoyed tbis holiday much more but the hotel is lovelly and they try very hard to keep the guests happy. We stayed in room 615 which over looked the pool there was a bit of noise from the main road but we are not light sleepers so not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MixalisFotakis, General Manager at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Michalis Fotakis
Hotel Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
15.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Property: Anastasia Hotel
Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#1 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anastasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Anastasia at the North East of the island of Crete. Situated in Stalis, a place made for couples and families and only 450m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, Hotel Anastasia offers you the possibility of an unforgettable summer holiday. Fully renovated in 2006, Hotel Anastasia is a modern, cosy, family-run complex, surrounded by trees and greenery and consists of 13 different buildings in a total area of 8,500 square meters. High quality accommodation, an unrivaled range of services and facilities, combined with traditional Cretan hospitality make Hotel Anastasia the best choice for your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Stalís
Hotel Anastasia Crete
Anastasia Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing