We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week. Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great week. Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here early October 2012 for a week and would definitely go back!

On arrival staff were very welcoming and we were showed to our room. We paid an extra £7 each for a 'deluxe' room which was very spacious for the two of us and worth the little extra cost. Room was cleaned everyday, there was a fridge (very handy!) and balcony. The air con was a little noisy but we were glad of the cool air on those warmer days.

Staff were so friendly, would do anything for you and the owner was always about. Pool was ideal, with the beach only about 10mins walk as well. We were half board, good choice at breakfast and dinner although we did eat out a couple of nights at a lovely place in Stalis called Anatolia plus we went to a couple of bars.

Overall we both had a lovely relaxing holiday at Anastasia!

Room Tip: Pay the small fee for a 'deluxe' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    181
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
452
517
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel sept 2011,just come back from return visit,micheal and all the team remembered us,what can i say,food great,staff great,spotless rooms,well kept gardens,sorry have tried hard to find fault but we cannot.ANASTASIA HOTEL is the perfect destination anybody who has a complaint can only be described as downright miserable...loved it so much we have booked to return.and we are certain this will not be our last visit...great atmosphere created by micheal & his staff

Room Tip: Just book it all rooms are brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteandLinda1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

First time of staying at this hotel Aug 2012 and were delighted (sorry in delay).. Spotlessly clean, rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels too, gardens are beautiful and well attended. There are 3 pools with plenty of loungers and parasols (pools were cleaned every night). Children's playground, crazy golf, table tennis and pool table-bit hit with my children. Had free entertainment every night with traditional Greek dancers, ring of fire, bingo, quizzes. The food was amazing so much choice and very good quality, fresh and lovingly prepared. ALL the staff are sooo friendly, helpful and extremely pleasant. Happy Hour not only applies to alcohol but coffees, cakes and pop for the children. Our plane was delayed by nearly 4 hours and we were feeling very weary with 3 young children in tow. Mike served us a hot meal and drinks even though it was nearly 10.30 pm. Caring and helpful Owner (Michael) nothing was too much trouble. Whole atmosphere of hotel is relaxed and friendly. We cannot fault this hotel in any way it should be a 5 star! A truly fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel...Booked again for this year within 2 weeks of returning home-think that speaks for itself. .See you in August...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trinusofmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2010 and 2011 -sorry for the delay on leaving an excellent review Michael!
This hotel is brilliant! Great location about 5mins from beach road and looks up onto the mountains:-) Michael the owner and his staff are brilliant, friendly and make u feel so welcome. The pools are great and clean. The rooms are large, well equipped and cleaned every day.The half board food is plentiful and tasty and The food from the snack bar is Great-as well as the frozen glass mythos, and the bar staff are really friendly, chatty and can't do enough for u. we Have already recommended it to our friends!
When we returned a second time we were very warmly welcomed back and remembered so thank u-we hope to visit again soon:-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doons0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012 and had one of our best holidays ever; well it was our honeymoon.... I booked it very late on the internet, I booked at about midnight on Thursday 6th September, we married on Friday 7th September and we arrived on Tuesday 11th. I was a bit worried I had booked this hotel in a bit of a rush and thought I might have made a mistake, I couldn't have been more wrong.... For a three star hotel it's excellent, the rooms are very clean and well equipped. The food is very good with a brilliant breakfast served, we had no complaints here. The staff are the best I have ever come across this includes the 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in in the past, Mike the owner knows how to run a hotel his customer service is first class, the three thank you's are to you and your staff for giving us a fantastic honeymoon, we had a great wedding day and the honeymoon just topped it off.

So if you want a value for money holiday this is the place, don't be put off by the odd poor review this place really is one to visit.

Thank you Mike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice stay at the Anastasia last year and will definitely be going back. They did everything brilliantly and nothing was ever too much for the staff.

The food is absolutely amazing and we especially enjoyed the bbq (included in half board).

The only thing that lets the review slip to a 4 is the cost of drinks compared to bars in the town. However this is true of many hotels.

Overall a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank wgfg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for a fortnight at the hotel in October and it was lovely. The staff were so friendly and really helpful. We asked if we could swap our twin bedded room for a double, but they said they were unable to do so - but it was fair enough, as we didn't specify a double when booking!

The staff carried our suitcases to our room upon arrival, as we arrived late after 11pm, and we ate our tea in the dining area. This was a lovely treat, as we had been traveling most of the day.

For us, the main selling point of the hotel was how it was broken into lots of 'apartment' type blocks in some beautiful gardens at the foot of a mountain. We were in a first floor apartment and really loved relaxing on our balcony, which was spacious and private. We had a clothes rack, which was handy as I didn't think to bring one with me!

The room was nice - it had a dressing table, fridge (which unfortunately buzzed all night), 2 chairs, a side table, and en-suite. In terms of decor, the room and en-suite were what you'd expect for a 3 star hotel. Having air con was lovely for our stay. Ours broke (got too humid and leaked water) but the staff fixed it within 24 hours of us reporting it as broken, and then it was absolutely fine, so we only went one night without it.

Food was really good. A little repetitive after 2 weeks and they could have had more of a range of fruit at breakfast, but apart from that it was delicious. The food was well cooked, they had a fantastic bbq once a week, and lovely dessert options (always a winner!). Bottled water was a good price too, so we drank this with meals to save a little money.

While on holiday we enjoyed relaxing around the pool, and there are some lovely quiet beaches along from the busier ones to enjoy. Most of Stalis and Malia was closed while we were there, which was not a problem for us as we do not like the busy resorts with lots of night life. One of the beaches we enjoyed was great to go snorkeling along - saw some fantastic fish. So do take a snorkel!

The mountain views were stunning. We took some lovely walks to Malia harbour and the other way along the coastline too. There is also a bus to Agios Nicolas, which we visited twice (do ensure you visit Spinalonga - it was great!!). Agios Nicolas has some gorgeous beaches. We also visited Heraklion, which was good. A very busy town, with some nice restaurants and attractions (e.g. museums).

There was evening entertainment at the hotel which was good to have. We went along about 50% of the time. The only downside is that the entertainment was outside and very loud, so if you were in your room you could still hear the entertainment even if your windows were shut.

I don't think I'd go back to the hotel as we are more the 'see new things' type of couple - but if you are looking for a lovely, family run resort which is great value for money, and has people who come back year-after-year, then I'd definitely recommend it!! Thanks Hotel Anastasia.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more private balcony's than those at ground level. Rooms at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cablecar2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
15.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Property: Anastasia Hotel
Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stalis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anastasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Anastasia at the North East of the island of Crete. Situated in Stalis, a place made for couples and families and only 450m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, Hotel Anastasia offers you the possibility of an unforgettable summer holiday. Fully renovated in 2006, Hotel Anastasia is a modern, cosy, family-run complex, surrounded by trees and greenery and consists of 13 different buildings in a total area of 8,500 square meters. High quality accommodation, an unrivaled range of services and facilities, combined with traditional Cretan hospitality make Hotel Anastasia the best choice for your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Stalís
Hotel Anastasia Crete
Anastasia Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing