We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Lovely little hotel and although its not as polished as a 5 star its got an atmosphere and friendly overtone that makes it special in a way that you just cant achieve any other way.
Beds are a little hard but no way as hard as i thought they would be reading the reviews,
no worse than an orthopedic bed. All the staff and manager are as good as you could wish
and its very difficult to fault anything. The whole hotel is absolutely spotless especially the
toilets, better than any other hotel ive been to in greece including the Rhodes Hilton. Often
you find the room toilets are fine but reception, bar and pool ones are not so good but every
last one at this hotel seemed steam cleaned. The food was excellent and if the kids want
fish fingers or chicken nuggets or pizza they were available. English breakfast was very nice,
will upload a picture. If you go down to the stalis main road go and see Becky in the trip
shop and go to chrissi island, its half the price of the tour operators and it has wonderful
beaches, well worth it day out! A picture of the beach uploaded. As per most hotels all over
greece the average price of a large beer or mythos is £3.50 so no more expensive than elsewhere. The Rovers return in stalis was cheaper got 5 large beers and a coke for 11 euros
but the beer was not as nice but still drinkable. I would go back to this hotel as it is an
authentic family run Crete hotel and NOT a huge 500 room box where cant get a sunbed and
none of the staff care about you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bluey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just returned yesterday from a one week stay at the Anastasia Hotel. Having travelled to the Greek Islands for 19 years, I have experienced numerous holidays in apartments/hotels in various locations of all different star ratings and price ranges. I had a fantastic holiday at this hotel which is obviously very well run by Manager Michael and all the other wonderful staff and offers excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean and spacious, rooms were cleaned every day and towels and bedding changed regularly. We had a balcony with a mountain and side sea view. The balcony was spacious enough and had a clothes airer for towels/swimwear etc. All the surrounding gardens in the hotel are very well kept with beautiful flowers and fruit trees. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always had a smile for everyone. Breakfast was amazing! Breakfast consisted of a large selection of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, yoghurt, continental selection of meat and cheese and a "full cooked breakfast" with a choice of boiled/fried/scrambled egg, bacon, sausages (proper ones!) beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. A variety of bread/rolls with a toaster machine and a selection of tea bags and coffee. Dinner was also lovely, with a huge choice of salad dishes, all of which were fresh and tasty. There was also soup every night, with a great choice of hot dishes. All the hot food we had was fresh and piping hot. Every evening there was a lovely selection of puddings, sponges, cakes, choc truffles, fresh fruit including delicious grapes and melon. No matter what time we went for breakfast or dinner there was always a table available and even if we sat at a table that had been previously used, within seconds a waitress would set the table without us ever having to ask. Think I have probably said enough about the dining experience, but it was good!! There are 2 good sized swimming pools, both of which are clean. Again, no matter the time of day, we could always get a sunbed. We preferred the pool furthest away from the bar/restaurant area as it was very peaceful, however both pools were very relaxing. I travelled with my mum and sister and we all had a fantastic time at the Anastasia. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break, knowing that you are going to a hotel which is clean, offers good quality food and is excellent value for money. Entertainment was good, the dance show was very professional and was a great night, this was free of charge. There is a tunnel outside the hotel which takes you underneath a very busy road, I wouldn't atttempt to cross this road in the day or night as it is very fast moving and would say always use the tunnel! This tunnel takes you to a path which you can go left and then cut through one of the hotels to the bars/restaurants of Stalis and then on to the beach. Turn right coming out the tunnel and continue to the junction and down the hill takes you into the shops, beach etc. too. The beach was a mixture of sandy and shingle areas. We used the section of beach at the Alexander Beach Hotel (which is sandy) and it cost us 8 euros for 3 sunbeds and a parasol. Beds vary between around 2.50 and 3 euros for each day. We had lunch in a few places and all were very nice, 'Mamma Mia Restaurant' is worth a mention, very friendly service, nice food and reasonably priced. 'Angelos' is a nice comfortable/relaxing greek bar and suits a wide age range and does great cocktails. 'Socrates' restaurant was lovely as well. Most of the people we spoke to had stayed at the Anastasia before, I think that speaks for itself. Thanks to everyone at the Anastasia for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room (212) up a small hill from reception area with mountain view and side sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank mollie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Anastasia for 1 week and the place lives up to the reviews.

Apartments:
Ours was near reception and was clean and well maintained. The cleaners came in everyday and made the beds, emptied the bins etc. (Other than a hotel in Mexico I've not known hotels in Europe to do this, so I was impressed). Towels and bedding were also changed during our 1 week stay.

Staff:
Staff are lovely and Michael should be proud of his staff. I can't recall everyone's name but reception staff Niki, Manolis, Mike and Diane were all great. We arrived late at night and Mike showed us to our room, carried our bags and made us feel very welcome and secure in our new surroundings. Diane, made every effort to ensure we could keep a room for our late flight home. Nothing felt like too much trouble for the staff, and all were polite and friendly, and always made time to say hello with a friendly smile. All the waiting and bar staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Vana and the other waiting staff would always ask how you were etc.

Michael the owner is great, and as previous comments state he runs a tight ship. He makes time to speak to his guests and ask how you are and if you are having a nice time. He is very genuine and approachable. If, I had encountered a problem I have every confidence he and his staff would have done their best to assist, which is an accolade to Michael and his staff as I have stayed at various places around the world and not felt this kind of confidence. Its obvious Michael is committed to his hotel and during our 1 week stay we saw him everyday from early morn to late at night, during which time he helps out behind the bar and on karaoke night he also belted a few songs out.

Food:
Breakfast was alright and was a choice of cooked eggs, ham, sausage etc. Also cereal, toast, cheese, fruit, yoghurt. I had Greek yoghurt, honey and peaches most mornings.

Evening meals were great, salad, vine leaves, feta, main courses had Greek choices and for the unadventurous (lol) cheeseburgers, chicken wings, fries etc. I love Greek food and was glad there was Greek options. Good choice of desserts (again Greek desserts), and cakes, and mousse...think I also saw jelly one night. One night there was a barbeque and the food was delightful. Hope the menu remains along the same lines.

Entertainment:
During our stay we saw the Greek night which was fabulous (2 hours of free entertainment). Also saw the international dancing which was also just as good and again was free and lasted a couple of hours. There was also quiz's, bingo and karaoke during our stay. Personally I would love to see more shows like the dancers etc as karaoke etc is not my cup of tea but I appreciate different people like different things.

Location:
About a 10-15 min walk to the shops and bars. You have to go via the underpass (which isn't scary at all, the photos of it don't do it any favours). I'd suggest using the underpass as the road is a main road / motorway and does get busy.

Overall had a great holiday made special by the staff, great food and excellent weather. Looking forward to returning September 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
17  Thank CBones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from our holiday on saturday 17th sept. We have never written a review before when we have returned home but we have to on this occasion. Where can we start well our room was very comfortable, the food was excellent every day at breakfast and dinner the food was hot and very tasty. Above everything however was the manager Michael and his excellent team. There are too many to name them all but for us Vana and Doreta stood out for their excellent service which always came with a smile. All in all the atmosphere around the hotel was to make sure all guests were happy and we can quite honestly say from all our holidays abroad this Hotel stands head and shoulders over the rest. Thankyou Michael and all your team.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here recently, September 2011 and loved every minute of our 14 day stay. Infact we really didn't want to go home. On arrival at 11.30pm were had a wonderful greeting. We were served with a meal and a drink and our cases were taken to our room by Mike. (The guy on night reception) He was lovely and made us laugh, the other man on reception during the day was very helpful too. We have never been welcomed like this before and we truely appreciated it. What a great start to our holiday. The ower of the hotel is Michael, he is friendly and very earger to make sure your stay is a good one. Michael and his staff are really lovely people and nothing is too much trouble for them.In the evening they have some entertainment but we especially liked the dancing girls and the 3 Mystic Men. We ate at the hotel every night apart from 1 as it was my partners birthday and decided to go out in Stalis. Every other night we ate in as the food was really good and plenty to choose from as was the breakfast too. Our room was clean and tidy and we had quite a good view as we could see the sea. The bed was very comfortable and it was really quiet so we had no trouble sleeping. The pool and bar area was very clean and tidy and Manos and Lefteris the bar man were very nice. The hotel is situated half way between Stalis and Malia. Stalis has plenty of bars with live entertainment and resturants. Malia is for the young and lively people and is very noisy. We would like to thank everyone at the Anastasia Hotel for a fantasic holiday and we can't wait to come back in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank PeteandLinda1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

.Weve just returned from the holiday had a great time didnt want to leave .
HOTEL - spotlessly clean the ladies who clean lovely and plesant teaching us greek This hotel location suites all generations of the family maila for the young uns who like the night life, water parks then greanparents happy trains trips out and leisurely walks.
FOOD - Amazing I have stayed in 5 star and this matches the quality there nothing is too much ,one of our friends chidren requested chicken soup the chef accomodated this that night.The choices and freshness are inpeckable.
STAFF- Micheal manager runs a tight ship in a relax manner very observant .Hes very approachable I felt although hes proud of his hotel he is able to take constructive crititsium and strives to deliver a fabulous holiday for all his guests .His team of staff are very efficent and nothing is too much Diane on the reception we renamed her the orical she can get you to any activity with fantastic maps.Theres so many hard working staff whom all to many to mention that micheal leads by example,youl see him from morning to night running the bar bringing your food and he even does a good turn on the kareokee with guests and on his own.The hotel location is great its away from the noise you have 10 mins to beach and bars of stallis be cautious not a lot of pavements so cars pedestrains share roads .Theres bus stop 5 mins hotel with regular buses to varied places reasonably priced.FOR YOUNG FAMLIES - theres a good size play area all under cover to keep the kids cool there shade near the little pool for prams /buggies theres high chairs ,theres a play session in a playroom with Keighlegh lovely girl.This young lady is friendly approachable and not only occupies the kids but gets the adults to join in varied activites such quizies bingo kareokee.
I know folks will read this and think all to good to be true but honestly great place great people great food makes a great holiday thank you all at anastasia xx p.s sorry i am dyslexsic so hope it all makes sence

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank madmumonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Got back from The Anastasia on Tuesday and cant wait to go back. Everything about this hotel is lovely, the room, food, staff, location, pools, guests etc.

I travelled with my partner and had booked a family room with sea view it was lovely and spacious and spotless. We had room 216 which I have booked for next June when I go back with my grandson and sister. Diane in reception was very helpful in sorting this out for me. The gardens are immaculate and very pretty and there was always plenty of sunbeds around the pools which were lovely.

We had a leak in the toilet which Michael the owner sorted within an hour. He is so hands on and very helpful and always has a smile.

I will be booking for next September within the next week for my partner and I to return hopefully to room 216.

The only downside for me was that the bed was too hard but it did'nt bother my partner.

Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank valhickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 52 in Stalis
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#7 of 52 in Stalis
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#1 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $59 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anastasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Anastasia at the North East of the island of Crete. Situated in Stalis, a place made for couples and families and only 450m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, Hotel Anastasia offers you the possibility of an unforgettable summer holiday. Fully renovated in 2006, Hotel Anastasia is a modern, cosy, family-run complex, surrounded by trees and greenery and consists of 13 different buildings in a total area of 8,500 square meters. High quality accommodation, an unrivaled range of services and facilities, combined with traditional Cretan hospitality make Hotel Anastasia the best choice for your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Stalís
Hotel Anastasia Crete
Anastasia Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing