We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nikos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nikos Apartments
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

From our lovely welcome form Manos I knew we had found a lovely place to stay and we were not disappointed! Our room No 26 although not spacious was everything we needed with a lovely balcony. The gardens and surroundings are very well kept and beautiful. The Monday night BBQ is a must lots of fun and really nice food .The lovely beach is only a five minute walk from the apartments using the underpass because of the busy road. We ate out in Stalis but always had a lovely welcome back at the bar for a nightcap! We would not hesitate in recommending these apartments or returning. Thank you to everyone from Sue Brian Lewis Terry and Pam X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    46
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

On arrival on Tuesday we were given a small 1 bed apartment overlooking the bar and up a spiral staircase, despite having sent them an email for a quiet room with no stairs. I had an operation on my spine a few months before and wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday.
We were there less than an hour and went out the the bar and to see around. The pool is up 5-6 steps, having seen the pool area I went to go down the steps. My balance is not to good & as I lifted my foot I knew I was going to fall. There was nothing to hold on to so I tumbled down the 5 stone steps. I hit my head, nose, back,thigh & had a nice slice of skin removed from my arm. Bad start with no alcohol involved! I wasn't the only one to fall one these steps either.
It is obvious that there are a number of people return to these apts year after year. These guests seem to stick together. The family are very nice especially the mother, who always had a smile or a kiss for you.
I rested on Wednesday but on Thursday we explored a bit further and discovered that we were in one of the smallest apartments. We requested a move and the maid (Fofi?) took us to a ground floor room much superior than ours. We moved and we much happier there.
On the Friday evening we were sitting on the balcony having some snacks when a rat appeared from the bushes. They said they would set a trap for it but we never saw one.
We did not attend the BBQ as it seemed to be all the little "clique" of regulars there.
The food and drinks are good if a little more expensive than other places we have stayed in Stalis.
I would recommend it as it is very clean with a nice pool, the gardens are well cared for and there is a nice play area for the children.. They do however need to put a rail down the steps for guests as they are dangerous.
I don't think I would return to the Nikos apts probably because of my fall which was a bad experience I don't wish to be reminded of.

Room Tip: Room 39 & 40 are ground floor & very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during last 2 weeks in July - What else can we say that hasn't already been said? Would definitely recommend as a base, caters for all ages, you won't go wrong if you stay here! Close enough to everything whilst far enough to be lovely and relaxing. A big Thank You to Van, Effie, Manos and their lovely family and staff for helping us enjoy our stay so much. Don't usually go to the same hotel twice but would do here, see you next year! :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at Nikos apartments mid 2 weeks in July. We were hoping for a very relaxing holiday with beach bars, tavernas however not neon lights and disco's ! Nikos apts and Stalis was everything we hoped for. Plenty going on but very beach bar relaxed. The beach road in Stalis runs parallel to the beach with all restaurants and tavernas overlooking the sea -eating and drinking ice cold Mythos overlooking the beautiful sea is heaven! Nikos apartments were absolutely gorgeous, beautifully kept and cared for with lovely gardens and pool area- there were always loads of sunbeds and it was never crowded. A supermarket is 2 mins away and bus stop which takes you to Ag Nik or Hesonissos is also about 3mins away.
The beach and Tavernas are literally 5 minutes away and there are plenty to choose from however the pool bar at Nikos apartments is gorgeous, and you can get lovely food there with Mythos served in iced glasses.
I would highly recommend this beautiful little spot in Stalis , a lovely retreat away from it all but close enough to find everything near by. Family run with a very warm and friendly welcome= we absolutely loved every minute here =a very special place thank you Van, Effie and Manos and everyone else who works so hard to make Nikos apartments so lovely .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in these apartments during the middle of July and they were excellent. The apartment themselves are quite basic but have everything you need. The staff are all really friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. It's about a five minute walk to Stalis centre and the beach so they're in an ideal location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a fantastic time staying at the Nikos apartments. Rooms were very clean and spacious and just a 5 minuite walk to Stalis centre. It was about a 50 minuite walk into Malia, although the travel agents said it would be a 15 minuite walk. All staff were very friendly and welcoming and we would deffinetly return in the future , Van, Effee & Manos made fantastic cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte27kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

6, 19 year old lads from Newcastle doesn't sound like any hotel owners ideal guests but as long as you aren't too loud after coming back from Malia in the early hours or damage anything Van, Effee & Manos will make you feel welcome. It's about an hour walk from Malia or €10 in a taxi which is nothing really if you are in a group, Stalis is only a 2 minute walk away which is perfect for food, the beach or renting quads. Rooms are very spacious, fully air-coned and have safe's. Overall great experience and would deffo go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finchyafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.4 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikos Apartments

Property: Nikos Apartments
Address: | Off the Main Road to Malia, Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Stalis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#5 Family Hotel in Stalis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nikos Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of Stalis in a quiet, secluded area, in gardens with a mountain backdrop, 400m to Stalis centre and beach, 150m to the Blue Sea beach and mini-market and 300m to the bars, restaurants and nightlife of the beach road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Nikos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikos Apartments Hotel Stalis
Nikos Apartments Stalís
Nikos Apartments Hotel Stalís
Nikos Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing