We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASED TO GET OUT OF HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iraklis Apartments & Studios
Ranked #37 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Reviewed August 31, 2011

we went to stalis on the 16,08,11 , the apts we booked were double booked so we got put in to these apts we were not happy about that , we were taken up to room 4 which was like a cave with white wash walls , the floor was dirty & looked like it had never been cleaned for a long while , there was hair all around the shower area the toilet was filthy , this was less than a basic room , 1st thought was we will put 1 night only in here & look for our selves for another room else were then i sat on the edge of the bed & fell through it , i went & told the one in charge he looked at the bed then moved us to another room (6)which was a little better but still not very good but we put up with it for 2 days only & moved away from it , these apts are in need of a bit money spend on them desperatly to bring them up to date, there is a nice pool area no faults there ,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank micka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

stayed at these apartments for 2 weeks very basic even for a 2 star maid was in every other day but never gave us a new loo roll and left the place soaking with her mop shower scenario total joke hand held useless thing 2 ring hotplate garbage maria and her man just out to make money charge 1 euro for small bottle of water when u can get 6 large round the corner.avoid their pasta night at all costs disgusting waste of 3 euros.once u cross the busy road and head downtown avoid the first eatery u come to on the left horrible food and charged 6 euros for 2 bottles of water.also the robin hood decent breakfast but stay well clear for evening meals disgusting.best place for us was the kaliana restaraunt excellent food and their bar was just across the road good value too . red lion is a must for the bingo playing women .downside of stalis no bloody pavements idiotic quad riders cruising up and down all the time u have to be very alert ,beach is also a dangerous rocky place.not a lot to do in stalis wont be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hibernian186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Upon arriving very early in the morning, we stubbled around on the apartments landings looking for our room in the absence of any type of light after been dumped at the property by the rep who left quickly - an omen perhaps? If I hadnt had a lighter in my pocket, I would've been randomly trying doors until I got lucky, no doubt waking people as I went.
My Wife and I were on our honeymoon, a fact that had been passed to the owners as they congratulated us on it in within the next few days; however, they didnt see fit to provide us with a double bed. Both our single beds did not have nailed slats underneath the matress meaning that pretty much every night part of the bed would collapse, often with a loud crack and smash as the slat hit the tiled, dirty floor. It is a rather rude awaking at 3.30 in the morning when you have a wooden slat smaking the floor with a crash and your midrift disappearing into the resultant matress sag. We didnt have a table or kettle either and the glasses were chipped, cracked and badly maintained. The fridge had been turned off and I had to get the owner to come and turn it on; this meant that nothing could be refridgerated for 24hours while it powered up. Upon entering the bathroom we found the floor to be soaking wet - perhaps it had only just been cleaned? No - but more on this later...
The next day we went to reception to be told that it would cost us 78euro for air conditioning or 30euro for a fan. This was the start of the apartment ownership trying to extract as much cash from you as possible - want to use the internet? Pay for it (reserving the wi-fi for themselves). Want to play Pool? Pay for it. Want a drink? Pay extortionate rates for it (small bottle of water 1 euro; goto the supermarket 1minute away and get 6 1.5litre bottles of water for 1.60euro). Thankfully, we didnt book any trips with them as well: having spoke to several other guests/detainees at the apartments they were taking a huge cut of commission off all transactions.
Lets get back to the bathroom. How can I put this...the toilet....exploded. When we arrived, and for a few days, the cistern was at a crooked angle, with the water pipe at a perpendicular crooked angle which in turn didnt connect properly with the toilet. This meant that there was water continually leaking out of the cistern, down the pipe and directly onto the floor. This completely ruined our toilet paper (which we/everyone has to self purchase) as it had been placed on the floor (next to the dirty mop and bucket left in the bathroom which never was moved by the cleaner - hmmm, something suggests they already knew about the broken toilet and wern't prepared to fix it:ie a DIY cleaning soluiton?). Anyhow, on the third day, the cistern pipe almost completely detached from the toilet and when it was flushed, it sprayed water out the back of it like a fire hose. When I got the owner to look at it, I was given instructions about how to fix it now and if it went wrong again. Another guest we spoke to had similar problems and again was given a plumbing 101 course and left to their own devices. Having fixed the fireman's hose problem myself, we still had dripping water from the cistern which meant that we were often unable to flush our toilet on most occassions (as it had all drained out of the cistern). Couple this with the cleaners only changing the bathroom waste bin about every 3-4 days (for those who dont know, you aren't suppose to put toilet paper down the toilets in greece) and you have a stinky, unhygienic and slippery bathroom. Now add into the mix the shower tray/plug hole that was all but blocked, so that everytime you have a shower, the built up water floods over the top of the tray and adds to the water already on the floor from the toilet!
About a week into our trip, our entire apartment block lost electricity for about 2 and a half hours in the afternoon. This was when it was 35 degree heat and alot of people had gone to their apartments to cool down with their air conditioning and fans. This lead to most people heading down to the bar to try and cool off - mysteriously the bar,which was part of the same building, was the only part of it not affected by the electricity outage!
There are two pools at Iraklis and both have a layer of green slime around their edges. Another guest with young children experience her children bathing costumes change colour after having been in the pool. All the loungers and beds around the pools are cracked, ripped, missing bits and are in desperate need of replacement.
The lady owner, Maria was ok with me but wouldnt speak to my wife for days for reasons we could not fathom. The man, Stavros, was rude, arrogant and off-putting to us all holiday. We often caught him picking his nose or with his hands down his pants and then reluctantly getting up to make someone some food. We made sure we never ordered food when he was about. He also wore the same t-shirt for five days running (the blue italia one in another posters photos), wore a different t shirt for a day, then went back for the Italia one for a further five days and clearly had hygiene issues. He was not pleasant to be around.
Iraklis puts on two nights of entertainment, though really its only one. The first, spaghetti night, actually doesnt feature any entertainment at all - unless you count the worst spaghetti bolagnaise I have ever had the misfortune of eating, entertainment. The second night, Greek night, is ok providing that you are in good company. It is made to sound like there will be greek dancers and belly dancers coming in but in reality its you doing the dancing fueled on drinks that yup, you have to pay for yourself, on top of the fee for the night. OK there was free raki but I think they were brewing their own in the garage! 15 euro for an ok bbq? We paid marginaly more than that for a cruise, swim, bbq and sightseeing tour.
I could go on but I think you get the point - if this was a two star place, I would hate to see the one star accomodation. Any photo's you see of the place will be the building on the right which is where the owners live and is a nicer location. Please go to somewhere in Stalis as the resort is lovely, just dont go to Iraklis

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ircraplis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

myself , partner & 15 year old daughter stayed at these appartments for one week from the 9th of august to the 16th.We had to ask for clean towels towards the end o the holiday because we had to use the towels to soak up the water in the shower area,our bed sheets wasnt changed all week , kitchen area - the fridge was broke all the work tops were marked and stained , the cleaner come in once in the week and mopped the floor with a dirty mop & emptied one bin in the kitchen,toilet wasnt clean it was all stained , if you have children i would advise to avoid the swimming pools because children who had recently been in the pool ended up with coldsores , because wasnt cleaned which i reported to the thomas cook rep , who then was sending someone to look at the pool , very little entertainment , no atmoshpere , very exspensive to eat and drink at the appartments bar& resteraunt , they charge you 30 euros to keep your room on the last day of your holiday from 12miday to 7pm because they need the money for the cleaners who dont even do there job! , the appartments are set near a very very busy road which is hard to cross because of the busy traffic,people who was also staying at the same time as us , told us that one of the maids was trying on there false eyelashhes whilst cleaning there room.But appart from the appartments we enjoyed are stay our stay at the resort of stalis, lovely bars&resturants such as panorama , the irish house , anatolia which we ate at numberous of times , also the coffe and cake shop oppiste the sentido hotel was well worth going to! lush cakes and fresh baguttes, AVOID the ROBIN HOOD pub , chipped plates , microwave food , we payed more there than any other resturant , the beach is also worth going to! , plenty of water sports , sunbeads and chinse massages , would also advise to go to heraklion for a day trip on the local bus which you can catch outside the appts , they have a market on a saturday , if your planning on going to malia , i would adivse to go in the day time as it is crazy by night.you can catch a train from stalis in to malia , but costs 10euro each for adults and 6euros for children, but we caught the local bus again which was much cheaper at a price of only 1.80euro each way.Air con in the appts cost 6euro a night but we was able to manage without it , savros&maria who owned the appartments were polite but i do feel they were just money grabbing , a pint of local beer with them was 5euro , but you could buy at any resturant or bar for 1.60 euro , they didnt like you having your own food or drink by your sunbed around the pool , we feel asif the apparments we stayed in needs a big improvment , even though its only a 2star , we enjoyed our holiday at the resort , shame about the apparments

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

When my friend who is repping out in Malia told me he'd booked me and my two friends into the Iraklis I was worried. The reviews I read were pretty terrible and I was extremely concerned about how far away Malia was from our hotel.

However he couldn't have found us a better place. Although the Iraklis is quite basic, you get great value for your money. The rooms were clean and spacious, it has two pools and the management are lovely. Especially Maria. She was there to help us out with anything we needed and was fun and friendly.

Despite what any review says, it is a 40 minute walk into Malia which we did on a few occasions as the taxis were on strike during our stay. Obviously this was a bit of a nightmare as walking in that heat is never fun, but the town of Stalis is lovely and we ended up staying around that area for most of the holiday as Malia was a bit young for us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for any family/couple who are looking for a quiet, relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Booked a last minute holiday for my husband, 2 teenage sons and myself. Ended up at the Iralkis Apartments We had an apartment for the adults and one for the boys and both were very nice and spacious. The apartments are basic, so dont expect 5 start, but that is the typical greek style. There are 2 pools and a pool bar. The apartments were cleaned every day.

They are family owned and the family are on site. They were very pleasant and helpful. The food was good as well and cheaper than buying a meal in Stalis itself.

The apartments are near a main road but once you have crossed that you are only a few minutes from Stalis Centre and the beach.

We all had a lovely time and would certainly return and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have just returned from staying at the Iraklis apartments with my sister. Unfortunately we weren't on holiday my niece who works in Malia had an accident and was in hospital.

I cannot praise Maria (who runs the complex) enough. She could not have been more helpful and concerned.

The apartments are spacious and clean and maid service was daily. The two pools are lovely and clean and there is always someone on hand in the bar/snack area to provide drinks, food etc.

As with all these types of apartment complexes on any Greek Islands the rooms are of a basic standard so if you are expecting 5* accommodation book an all inclusive hotel but if you are familiar with this type of holiday you won't be disappointed.

Janice & Julie, 2 very satisfied customers

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiceg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.2 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athena Apartments
Athena Apartments
#17 of 52 in Stalis
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#23 of 52 in Stalis
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Neon Hotel
Neon Hotel
#35 of 52 in Stalis
105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#28 of 91 in Malia
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iraklis Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iraklis Apartments & Studios

Address: 44 Str. Irinis, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range: $13 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iraklis Apartments & Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Iraklis Apartments & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iraklis Apartments And Studios
Iraklis Apartments & Studios Hotel Stalis
Iraklis Apartments Stalís
Iraklis Apartments Hotel Stalís
Iraklis Apartments & Studios Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing