We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stefania Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stefania Studios
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

First trip to Greece (Stalis-Crete)
After reading the reviews I was confident that we had picked the right location and accommodation and I have to say we returned without a complaint and will be returning :-). Lovely people, laid back atmosphere, beach a stones throw away, plenty of good food and plenty of fun!! The accommodation is clean and has all usual things you would expect when booking self
catering. The family run apartments are well kept and organised and there is always someone on hand to assist you with anything required! Greek night is a must!! Big thanks to the lovely Stacey who went over and above to make us feel welcome as did Yianni and the rest of the family and not
forgetting Leo :-)) thanks guys!!
The Fitzpatrick sisters

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathcatCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    25
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
51
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived in Iraklion airport Sun July 2014 and took a taxi to the apartment. We booked this online a week before with Heraklion Taxi's. There service was very efficient we were emailled the cost of the taxi to resort (38 euro's) and the journey time was approx 35 minutes. On arrival we were met by Yianni who took our cases and showed us to our studio (RM 51) to store out cases as we arrived earlier than he expected until the other guests vacated (RM 53) we were allocated. Yianni asked if we would like to come into the bar area for a cold drink. We sat on the terrace overlooking a church in a small square with glimpses toward the beach. This area became a welcome haven during our stay as it was shaded with bouganvilla trees and the breeze from the beach across the road was wonderful. When we got into our room it was basic but it was cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels when needed. The apartments did have a problem with the water supply to the shower as there was an airlock in the system. We informed Yianni and he acted on this quickly and the problem was resolved. Yianni and his staff (Stacey and Teresa) were very helpful with tips on visiting resteraunts and places of interest. Must visit restaurants we went too was Jannis Golden Heart across the road opposite the apartments. We paid 38 euros for starters and main meal for two people. This included breads with dips and a sweet and Raki or Ouzo shot after the meal. Try the stuffed vine leaves and tomota and garlic meat balls they were really flavoursome. Also next door to the was an Italian restaurant called Amica. The food we tried here was amazingly cheap and it cost 37 euros for a starter we ordered 2 half litres of wine and a main meal. This again came with free extra's they bring you a fruit plate after your meal with a sweetened yoghurt. After our walk around the resort in the evening we sat in bars just watching the world go by. Stefaine apartments are the ideal base as you are in central spot. The accomodation not by any means 4* and if your are looking for this you will be dissapointed. Stefanie apartments are run as a family affair and this is what makes them a very enjoyable place to stay. Yiannis and his family make sure your stay is an enjoyable one. Nothing is too much trouble and they work hard to ensure you get the most out of your stay. The apartments were suitable for families and couples alike. Also another must was the greek night it cost 20 euros per person and included wine with the meal. The food was prepared by Yiannis family Sophia and Marie. What can I say, the food was very tasty and plentiful and all of the holiday makers were encouraged to join in with the greek dancers. We try not to go back to places as we prefer to visit new places .

Thanks to Yiannis and his family for making our stay with them the most relaxing holiday we have had for sometime. We will be planning a return visit.

Carol and Mick Liverpool

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the higher floor have a larger balcony. These are situated facing the pool or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Arrived early hours of the morning as we were Thomson's last drop off. Yiannis was there to meet us and help with our cases.
We had asked for a low floor and quiet room, which is exactly what we were allocated. Room 53, semi-basement with only a few steps up or down to get anywhere in the complex, a decent sized terrace with flower bed (lovely cannas, roses and geraniums) between us and pool, so fairly private. Terrace has a couple of chairs, table and drying rack, which is very useful. Got the sun for much of the day.
Studio is basic, but has everything you need. Comfortable beds with nice clean linen and squidgy pillows (I asked for extra pillows as I need to sleep propped up and these were supplied immediately by Yiannis). There's a wardrobe with shelf and a few hangars, a dressing shelf with mirror over and a bedside table with drawers. Plenty of room to put suitcases. The simple kitchen has sink, fridge, two electric rings and kettle and crockery and cutlery for two people.
Also in the room is a safe and air-conditioner, which cost extra, but is efficient and worth every penny.
Rooms were cleaned well every day and the bins emptied.
Only thing I didn't like was the shower. It had an inadequate shower curtain and water flooded the bathroom floor. But that's par for the course in most Greek accommodation we have stayed in.
Yiannis and family are so kind and helpful, they sent me to a local pharmacy when I had a minor medical problem. Pharmacist spoke excellent English and was really knowledgable, sorted the problem in no time. He even asked me to come back the next day to see how I was.
There is a pool bar open during the day selling drinks and snacks and a lovely bar at the front of the apartments shaded by a magnificent bourganvillea, presided over by the delightful Stacy. This is on a little square with the small church to one side, all very pretty and the cheapest drinks that we found in the resort. Free wi-fi is available in the indoor bar.
Greek night on a Wednesday is great fun, professional dancers, great food cooked by Sophia and Maria and well attended.
The two best restaurants we found were Jannis, proper Greek food just over the beach road and Amici, an Italian restaurant next door. So if you want good food you don't need to go far.
We were able to pay a few Euros to keep our room on until six o,clock on the last day as we weren’t being picked up until mid evening.
Stalis is sandwiched between the party resorts of Malia and Hersonosiss and is a lovely little resort, ideal for families; nice sandy beach, couples; lots of good restaurants and bars and older people; beach road is fairly flat. It’s a great place to sit in the Leprechaun bar and people watch.
Stefania is not 5* but If you want a simple, clean and comfortable base run by a lovely family who delight in making their guests happy and comfortable then this is the place for you.
Thanks Yiannis and family. Sue and Dave

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silversurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are just back from a fantastic week in Stalis Crete staying at Sefania Apartments. We would definitely recommend Stefania as a place to stay. It is a very friendly, family run place. Central to everything - beach, restaurants, bars, tavernas. The apartments themselves are kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis. Greek night on the Wednesday nights is great fun and well worth a try, plenty of food, drink and greek dancing! Stefania also incorporates the Leprechaun Irish bar which is fab for an icy cold beer in a frozen glass! Thanks to Yianni, Sofia, Maria & Stacey for a great stay. Roll on next year, we will definitely be returning! Michael & Suzanne from Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzmarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my Wife Jackie have just returned home from two weeks in the Stefania Apartments and I must say that this is the best Holiday we have had,thanks Yannis,Maria,Sofia and Sara for making us very welcome ,The rooms great cleaned every day , and the food at the pool is fantastic ,it is a must to go to the Greek night as me and Jackie are Vegetrians but Sofia and Maria adapted the food on the night to suit us a great night well worth the price.also everybody we met who were staying at the Apartments were the greatest bunch of people we have met all very friendly and a privilege to spend time with ,like the rest of the people who have reviewed this place we are going to book next year Geoff and Jackie

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoff_woods1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

First time in crete for us and what a place to stay.loved it so much...how many places do you know that make burgers from scratch at the pool bar.pool area is clean and tidy and the meals made by sofia and maria are first rate and rather large.the leprechaun bar at the front is a fun and friendly place run by yannis and the lovely stacy.get yourselves booked up for the greek night, you wont be sorry.
Great place run by a wonderful family.go see sofia and I dare you all to order the big breakfast. Cant recommend this place enough.yamas yannis, maria, sofia, stacy and sara the young lady that cleans the rooms every day.see you all next year.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank wxmwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and we cannot fault Stefania Apartments! Booked through Thomson and we were first drop off on our transfer bus, less than half an hour from Heraklion airport. Rooms were well equipped with aircon, fridge, all you need basically! Comfy beds, and it was a double and not two singles pushed together! Well stocked bar and very generous meals at the snack bar run by Sofia at the back. Good sized pool and the staff are very friendly and efficient, big thumbs-up to Yannis, Stefania, Sofia, Stacey, George and Maria! And do not miss the Greek night, or the chance for an impromptu karaoke! See you next year!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#8 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stefania Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stefania Studios

Property: Stefania Studios
Address: Ag. Ioanni 119, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stefania Studios 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stefania Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefania Apartments Hotel Stalis
Stefania Apartments Stalís
Stefania Studios Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing