We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Latania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Latania
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in Latania for 1 week. The hotel was chosen on the basis of comments from tripadvisor users. Thank you all for helping to make our choice. As of now I can say that the choice was right.
Hospitality of the hotel staff and their readiness to help simply blew me away. My husband and myself received advices about everything we needed: weather forecast, ferries schedule, places to visit, places to eat out, etc.
Another things which are of great value is territory of the hotel which is really beatiful and the fact that its only 3 minutes away from the beach.
The rooms were cleaned daily. I would not say that bedclothing was ideally white (which I personally don't expect from 3 star hotels), but it was clean and fresh. It was changed every third day.
We used wi-fi in lobby and the signal was good enough to talk to our parents via skype.
The only issue was about hot water at night, so we took shower before 10pm.

Additionally, we had an opportunity to cook meals in the hotel as our room was equiped with a kitchen and had all the necessary cookware to make soup, fry fish, etc. We also had a microwave, a kettle, a coffee maker and a toaster, which we used every morning.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to those who do not look for extravagant interior and all inclusive accommodation. The hotel is for those who need comfortable staying, nice people around and the sea nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Komandirovochniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LataniaOwner, Διευθυντής at Latania, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Komandirovochniy

Thank you so much for your lovely comments!

We are happy to hear we were able to meet and hopefully even exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to accommodate you again soon.


Best Regards

Bakalis Efthimis-Tim
Latania Studios & Apartments
Stalis Crete Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 571 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Latinia. The location is faultless. Our room had one of the biggest balconies you could wish for. It was lovely to sit there eating our breakfast as the sun hit. We eat breakfast at the hotel twice. Both times were excellent. 5.50 Euros for coffee/juice/continental and cooked. A really bargain. There is no need to pay for a late room as there is a shower room with all you could need provided. The staff were all really friendly. We would book to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LataniaOwner, Διευθυντής at Latania, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear EricBristol

Thank you for your review.

We are happy you decided to share your experience with us and extremely satisfied to hear you enjoyed your stay very much.

We are looking forward to accommodate you again at Latania Studios.


Kind Regards

Bakalis Efthimis-Tim
Latania Studios & Apartments
Stalis Crete Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have now forgotten how many times we have commented on our stay at the Latania apartments in Stalis, Crete. However, we have recently returned from our latest visit and, as ever, it was an excellent experience. Once again the staff were wonderful, from Tim the Manager, to the lovely cleaners, who kept our apartment spick and span the whole time we were there. Also the regular supply of clean sheets and towels. Also special mention of Manos who kept us supplied with drinks, meals, and icecreams, as and when we wanted them.

Some changes were noticed in Stalis and the weather was not quite up to our usual experience, but we were early season and it didn't detract from our enjoyment at all. Always something to do. My husband and I always enjoy a relaxing holiday here.

Anyway we have now booked ourselves in for a further two weeks in September so we are saving our pennies and counting the days, as usual! Can't recommend these apartments often enough, and we are a well travelled couple, having been almost all round the world in our time.

Also special mention to the owners Stelios and Litsa who always make us welcome.

Roll on September!!

Room Tip: We had room 120 on the ground floor, which was a very nice room, but our favourite is 208 which we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LataniaOwner, Διευθυντής at Latania, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Vivienne B

Thank you for your review and positive feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Latania once more.

We would love to serve you once again!

See you at the 10th of September.

Warmest Regards

Bakalis Efthimis-Tim
Latania Studios & Apartments
Stalis Crete Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were greatly disappointed to find out that the hotel room we had booked for our family had been double booked. The hotel claims that they are clear with their policy however that doesn't help when you now have to tale a 2 1/2 hour transfer as you had already bought flights. It cost us over £400 more and we now stay in a resort we didn't want to and in a hotel that wasn't our choice.

I think readers should be aware that this goes on in this hotel and that if they book a holiday here be warned it might get cancelled 3 months after you book it

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Cleoarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LataniaOwner, Διευθυντής at Latania, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear guests
We would like to explain our point of view of the unfortunate event:

Our old email address (info@latania-apts.com) suddenly stopped to redirect to our new email (info@lataniacretehotel.com). Two of our partners had only the old email address and as a result the reservations from them were not acknowledged to us. When we discovered the problem they sent us 30 bookings in total!!

Due to our reputation we are full most of the time this summer so it was difficult to allocate few reservations, especially for August period. Therefore we always try to have options for the visitors and also we want to be informed about that. So we suggested one other hotel and in case they didn’t like it: clients can receive a full refund should they not wish to accept the alternative.

The other option was not to mention anything about that and just to wait till August for the goddess of luck, for the visitor and for us! And if the goddess of luck would be on vacations then they should accommodated somewhere somehow!

All these are really important for us and our policy is clear and crystal, we want to be honest with all our visitors and in case something is not as planed we inform them in order not to lose or not to waste their important holiday period.

The same person has written for us:
Cleoarnold 15/05/14
We booked our holiday to Latania and had everything planned including flights and transfer. This was booked in March 2014. This week we had an email saying the hotel has been double booked and don't have room for us.

I have since heard that this place is well known for this. If you want peace of mind and assurance that you won't be let down then stay away from this dodgy place

And our reply 16/05/14:

Dear Cleoarnold
we are sorry that your reservation has been reallocated from Latania, but please note that we have inform from the start of May about that problem in order to avoid come here and stay in a hotel that you will not have choose !!!

We are sure that your flights and transfer are still active for you.

Our policy is clear and crystal, we want to be honest with all our visitors and in case something is not as planed we inform them in order not to lose or not to waste their important holiday period.

Please finally note that we are of the few hotels in this area, those 3 years (2011-2013) we do not have one double booking!!


Conclusions are all yours!


Bakalis Efthimis
Latania Studios & Apartments
Stalis Crete Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a great week at latania, staff were helpful and friendly, manos at the bar was brilliant, great cocktails, BBQ at the weekend was good fun and food was excellent. Only a short stroll to the beach, very happy with our stay and would go back again... thanks manos!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank DGR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited here in 2004, 2005 and 2006 and my parents In law visited in 2007. We are hoping to go back this year. We are looking for a Liverpool family "jimmy". Ma and pa larkin ;-) my son was 7months the 1st time and manos and the monkey behind bar was the main thing :-)

Stayed: April 2013
3  Thank carmsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we stayed at latania in sept had a lovely room best maid service ever great bar and very helpful
manager tim we have stayed in a lot of places in crete but this is the best we will be back soon.we were near bars lots of eating places and beach you cant go wrong at latania

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bruceandhollowlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
16.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
85 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 21 in Stalos
602 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latania

Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#2 Family Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $35 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Latania 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Latania Apartments provide large apartments and studios in Stalis, just 50 meters away from the 4 km long Stalis Beach.Latania Apartments features a large pool and pool bar that includes a satellite TV. Wifi is free of charge to all the public places. Free parking area is also provided free of charge.A variety of taverns, shops, and a medical center is within walking distance from the property. To further explore Crete, there is a bus link 200 meters away that heads to all major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Latania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latania Hotel Stalis
Latania Hotel Stalís
Latania Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing