We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Latania Apartments”
Review of Latania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Latania
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Latania Apartments”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely apartments we had a sea view which was really nice...apartments cleaned everyday..staff really friendly and welcoming defiantly recommend to anyone & everyone. surrounded by lots of restaurants, bars and shops the beach is literally 10 steps away from the studio. Would recommend the Royal Oak bar & Restaurant which is next to the BAR CODE it has been newly renovated to a high standard and the food is top quality and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 202 & 302 they are the only sea view studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    95
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
182
203
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was really impressed. Think we lucked out by getting a large studio/apartment but it was huge for two of us. Staff all really friendly. I don't get the stuff about Manos being 'off' with people at all. We only spent one day by the pool and took advantage of the happy hour a few times before going out to dinner and he was always really friendly. Pool area is a bit small and some gob smacking selfishness from other guests putting towels on sun loungers and disappearing for hours but that's hardly the hotel's fault. Room was cleaned every day, locating perfect etc
I do have some issues with Stallis itself (it really is just a street of bars, tavernas and tat shops with no sense of 'real Greek life' going on around you) but still really enjoyed the holiday and Latania was a big part of that

Room Tip: We asked for a view (which was of a motorcycle repair place :0) so not much of a view but a great ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny5eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Justy back from 7 days in the Apartments, right on Beach Road, nice pleasant studios with great air-con in rooms, always clean...
Staff (Tim) very helpful and friendly..always willing to help out with things.
Definitely go back there...probably only downside is that you might get an 'enclosed' room with a poor balcony view...otherwise, perfect
Teekanis Tim? Yamas for an excellent stay!
Steve 'n Steve...IndieRoX
:o))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StavRoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we arrived on the 9th august late evening we were met by manos and taken to our room which was very big for 3 adults, every day day at the latania is made lovely by all the staff and friends we have met the before and you are always made to feel welcome and everyone is very friendly. the rooms are very clean and tidy you have evrything you need in the rooms storeage space is more then enough. we will be going back next. thanks to stellios, manos, tim, deana and george

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty_whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from a relaxing weeks stay. Small, friendly and in a great location. Manos, his lovely wife and son and all the team are very friendly with ALL the guests not just with the regulars. I would return but as we like to go somewhere different each year I would recommend to others to try. Manos does the best breakfasts and much cheaper than you will find anywhere else in Stalis. The bbq food was good too, try his roast potatoes. It is within easy distance from Malia, I had an older teenager who went there most nights There are plenty of sunbeds no need to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towel out. Yammas to all the staff at the Latania.

Room Tip: the pool side rooms looked nicer that the ones at the rear of the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hey Gilly and Danny!!!!!! Just read your reviews!!!!

My husband and I got married in December 2011 and this was a delayed honeymoon! We had stayed at the Fila Apartments in 2010 (these were also very good) but this was our first time at the Latania Apartments, Stalis.

The Apartments are very clean and spacious - we booked a studio - but there was everything we needed - Double bed, kitchenette with cutlery, t-towel, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, fridge and hob. There was an armchair and table and chairs in the room and a large wardrobe. The bathroom was a very good size and had a bath and VERY powerful shower (which is very unlike Greece!) make sure you shower before 8pm as otherwise the shower becomes a bit cold due to the water being heated by solar panels and runs our quite quickly! The pool was a great size and the location of the Latantia Apartments was perfect - a five minute walk to the beach - we used Mythos entrance to get to the beach, you do have to pay for sunbeds on the beach but I noticed this year the prices have gone down to 2.50 Euros which is better than 5 Euros each that we paid a couple of years ago!!

There are plenty of gift shops about 5 minutes away from the apartments and there are lots of restaurants.... Our favourites were Knososs, Kaliana and Mthyos.... be careful of the guy outside Creta he is a bit forceful - but saying that the food there was lovely as was the service!!

The Latania Team Manos, George (his son), Dina and Tim are really lovely..... as are the two maids, they all work really hard and are happy to please. I never seen two maids work so hard in such heat!!! All the bedding and towels are very clean and you get a toilet roll everyday!
The pool and bar area are also very clean and the food is ideal for snacks around the pool and quick to be brought out to you!
We meet some really lovely lovely people - Hello to John and Tracey and Andy and Wren (Andy I know you will be reading this!!!!!!)
Overall I would recommend these apartments. They are basic but have everything that you need and they are also very clean and well looked after - plus in a brilliant spot!
If you want clubbing you can walk to Malia - it took us just over 30mins or it is quite easy to get a taxi there and back. There are a couple of nightclubs in Stalis but they were very quiet this year. Bliss bar was probably the most popular for the younger (18+)
You do have to pay for air-conditioning (7 Euros a day) - so make sure that you set money aside for this and you cant do the usual trick... taking the key off the keyring to leave it on all day as they are firmly attached together!!
I would say that these apartments are suited more for families or couples and not groups of young girls and lads. Hope you have found this review helpful!! :0)

Room Tip: We asked for a pool view but in the end we were at the back of the apartments. Which turned out to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yellowhat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Latania 31/7 -14/8.We arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted by the famous Manos.Very friendly and helped us with our bags to our room.The room was very clean and facing the mountains,lovely view.Nice and quiet so never ant trouble sleeping.The maid came in everyday ,except one.The towels and bedding were changed regularly.Bins emptied every day.the maids were really friendly and worked very hard.

Next morning we had a lovely breakfast by the pool which is just a nice size for the complex.We ate at the pool bar a number of times over our stay and found it reasonable and very good food.Dan my eleven yr olds favourite was what we now call a 'Manos vanilla milkshake'.
We do tend to be out and about a lot but never found Manos to be rude at all.Manos and George work so hard and George joins in the fun around the pool with everyone.I think from previous reviews that Manos is been misunderstood.There are people who have been going to these apartments for 6-7-8 yrs+ ,they are not just customers they are now his friends,customers kids are friends on facebook with George.We never found the 'rudeness' other people have spoken about .We always had our first evening drink at the pool bar and usually a few night caps but didn't spend all our time there.
The BBQ night is raelly good,food was fab and lovely atmosphere.It was also tremendously good value considering the quantity and quality of the food.
Tim on reception was an absolute gem,always helpful ,nothing was too much trouble.
The 1 Bed apartment was large enough for 5.The only place (apart from a 2 bed) that we have all been able to hang up our clothes.We each had a proper bed...no put me ups here.So never had trouble getting a great nights sleep.
The apartments are ideally located with restaurants and bars whichever way you walk along the beach rd.We found the beach to the left hand side was wider with smaller waves so better for swimming and little ones.Dwyers do a great deal with sunbed,umbrella ,toastie and fruit for 3Euro.
We ate at some fabulous restaurants with our top 4 being Jannis,Minos,Karerina's and Maria's Golden Beach.
You have to go and visit the crepe man!!!
Best bars were,Dwyers(great live music everynight),Pegasus(hostess there is such a laugh),Rovers Return(quizzes etc,occasional live music)and by no means last The Red Lion,some fab nights in there with great staff(especially Iliana)Cheeky Monkey is great for a chill is rope swing chairs and very reasonable drinks.
Chippy's is really good for Good Food fast!!!
We loved every minute of our holiday at Latania and because of the fantastic atmosphere around the pool spent far more time at the pool than on previous holidays.We found we'd go out in the day but we would always try and get back for the last few hours round the pool.We met some lovely families around the pool and there was always a good mix of ages too.
We would definately recommend The Latania and would definately go back.
Thankyou for a fantastic holiday Tim,Manos,George and all the wonderful staff.We will definately see you again....hopefully really soon.<3

Room Tip: We stayed in 313.At the back of the complex it was lovely and quiet and lovely views of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latania

Property: Latania
Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#3 Family Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latania 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Latania Apartments provide large apartments and studios in Stalis, just 50 meters away from the 4 km long Stalis Beach.Latania Apartments features a large pool and pool bar that includes a satellite TV. Wifi is free of charge to all the public places. Free parking area is also provided free of charge.A variety of taverns, shops, and a medical center is within walking distance from the property. To further explore Crete, there is a bus link 200 meters away that heads to all major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Latania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latania Hotel Stalis
Latania Hotel Stalís
Latania Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing