We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit”
Review of Latania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Latania
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fourth visit”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our fourth visit to Latania Apartments in May this year were still excellent, despite the lack of other holiday makers being there. Despite that the staff were still excellent - Manos still running the bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff excellent.
The local tavernas within easy walking distance and they were all excellent. We've been going to Stalis for 22 years and this is one of the best places we have stayed in. Would thoroughly recommend these apartments. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We liked room 208 - but understand other rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    105
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
195
223
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Visited Latania for the fifth time from June 26th for two weeks. Fantastic, as usual. Lovely light and airy rooms, cleaned daily with new linens twice a week. The maids even folded and tidied our clothes for us, very, very good level of service.

Angela at reception can't do enough for you, speaks perfect English and is ready should you need anything. Excellent local knowledge and advice on car rental.

Everyone is so friendly and welcoming, Stelios is up early every morning cleaning the grounds and the beautiful pool. Sunbeds are freely available on the poolside and there are ample parasols, too.

Manos at the pool bar is fantastic, offering fruit and peanuts, always good fun, and makes a fantastic cocktail. Spent many a night talking into the small hours with him and enjoying shots and ouzo!

Location is very central, beach is a minute away over the road. Close enough to all the nightlife and restaurant and yet set back off the road far enough for it to be quiet when you need it to be.

Staff truly treat us like family each time we visit, and I can honestly say that you'll arrive as a guest and leave having made some lovely new friends.

The Red Lion is fantastic for Karaoke, sport, music, bingo and fun. Bier Keller immediately next door is wonderful for tunes, Norman mixes the best Mojito in all of Crete. For truly beautiful food, try Amici Italian restaurant up on the left hand side past the church, reasonably priced, too.

Overall, Latania is a fantastic place to spend time relaxing with your family, and yet is central enough for you to be able to enjoy everything Stalis has to offer!

We'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: We always book an Apartment - the Studios while very nice have only one open plan room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieohanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our 3rd time here. We were only 3 of 9 people in the whole place when we arrived on 31st May (usually this accommodation is quite full, especially half-term) so we were a little disappointed that the pool bar wasn't open and our friend Sasa was not working there due to low occupancy. Apparently, the tour operator had decided to pull out on them at the last minute! So anyone reading this who usually goes here - the accommodation is still available through the internet or direct with Latania. Anyway, as always the room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Latania is situated on the beach room, smack bang in the middle of Stalis, with good restaurants, bars and shops just outside. Restaurants to recommend are Crete (just across the road overlooking the sea), Katerina - a traditional greek restaurant on street opposite Anthoussa Hotel - the Lamb Kleftiko is to die for! Pool area usually scrupulously clean, but a decline in the usual standards I think must be down to the low occupancy issue??

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This was another return trip to Stalis and back to Latania we trek. This truly is a hidden nugget.

The room was comfortably and well maintained. Two rings, Kettle, Toaster, Microwave, hairdryer, Maid service is daily and linens changed twice a week. There is a lovely pool and the staff are fantastic. Manos is the best and will make you feel at home in the bar and the surroundings. Angela in reception and the owners Litsa and Stellios will do their best to make you feel welcome.

The pool is in the sun most of the day
The location - If you didnt want to go more than 300yds from your room the whole holiday you would have the choice of two fantastic beaches (with watersports if thats your thing), 15-20 places to eat (greek, chippy, pub, chinese, pizza etc) Two 'English' pubs, a club (cant hear anything at night when you are trying to sleep), the required supermarket and gift shops.

Thanks all for making this trip special as always.

Room Tip: Slightly quieter in back block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellios65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I wasnt sure what i would think of Crete but it was fantastic. We arrived about 4pm and the women with short black hair showed us to our room and made us feel welcome. When we had unpacked we went to the bar and Manos greeted us and made us feel like family. Pool and bar and everywhere really was super clean. Our bathroom was huge and our room was lovely and spacious. I would totally recommend the Karoke nights as they were fab. Manos and Sasa were very kind best ever bar men you could ever get, and their bbq nights and quiz nights were lovely and all you could eat. The beach was right on the door step and the shop just across the road was very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Such friendly staff. Towles and Linen were changed regulary. Adele (the holiday rep) was lovely and she made everyone feel like family and was so friendly, I would recommend the Latania to Everyone and cant really fault it. We had a couple of noise issues but there was only 2 and Adele dealt with them straight away and that shouldnt put you off but to be fair it was mid July and thats when everyone goes to Malia. Weather was great staff was excellent and i cant fault the Latainia it was so good. We are going back to Latania next year and looking foward to it ever so much. Mosquito and sun creams were in the basket in the reception and free of charge, internet access absolutly fab, Best Holiday Ever it was amazing just the break i needed after taking stressful GCSE's. Enjoy the Latania it is so good that words cannot describe it :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

on arrival at the latinia we were greeted by manos and within minutes felt at home the studios are in a perfect spot our room was very spacious and had a good balcony the rooms were kept very clean we couldnt fault anything about them and just look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

first time we had been to crete,going again next year,latania appartments are fantasic they may be basic but couldn,t fault how clean they keep it,every day maid cleaned and she looked like she enjoyed it,towels and linen changed twice a week, pool nice though not as big as i first imagined,bar staff really friendly and helpful,outside motor buggies annoying after a while but at only 10 euros a day who can blame them,caution to those who get stopped to enter survey and win prizes its a con to buy into time shares,apart from that enjoy the place ,people,bars and resturants are great with some great bargains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#7 of 52 in Stalis
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#8 of 52 in Stalis
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latania

Property: Latania
Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#3 Family Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#5 Best Value Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Latania 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Latania Apartments provide large apartments and studios in Stalis, just 50 meters away from the 4 km long Stalis Beach.Latania Apartments features a large pool and pool bar that includes a satellite TV. Wifi is free of charge to all the public places. Free parking area is also provided free of charge.A variety of taverns, shops, and a medical center is within walking distance from the property. To further explore Crete, there is a bus link 200 meters away that heads to all major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Latania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latania Hotel Stalis
Latania Hotel Stalís
Latania Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing