We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Zervas Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stalis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zervas Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Firstly it was horrendously difficult to book because you cannot book it in england anymore. the owner Costa has ensured only russian travel agents sell rooms so the ruski girls stay here for his own benefit. he gives them free rides in his boat etc . there was at one time a nice mixture of people stay here. this was our third time here and our last, the place also looks very tired and dated. greek kids can splash jump dive and bomb in the pool and it doesnt matter but if the kids are english you are told to go to the sea to do that !!! shame really , nice location , maria is lovely but bad memories spring to mind now we will be looking elsewhere from now on, there are plenty of hotels and apts much nicer and cleaner in Stalis ...genuine opinion..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davejj705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

The location is very nice, simple rooms, horrible breakfast.
The owner Costas is a greedy man and he will do anything so that you will spend money on his water sports.
And yes, is a pervert old man.
I advise anyone that wants a good holiday to avoid Zervas Beach Hotel.
There are plenty nice hotels in Stalida.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agagagrrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Just returned from the Zervas beach hotel in Stalis, the hotel is basic but clean and the staff are very very friendly. The rooms are small but the views from the balcony are ideal.
The pool area is very nice and leads down to a superb beach where the owner "Kostas" runs water sports.
The hotel bar is run by a very friendly couple "Nickos and Lyndsey" who will go out of their way to chat and make you feel welcome.
The hotel is ideally situated, close to all the bars and resturants within walking distance.
The owner Kostas even let us stay in our room late because our flight was late in the evening at no extra charge. the hotel is made up of about 75% Russian the rest british but everyone seems to speak english.
The only down side i would say is the breakfast, dont think you can really call it bed and breakfast, some ham, cheese and bread. apart from that i would recomend this hotel and stay there again..

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalesDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

This was our 10th visit to Stalis and I can't believe we have not found this hotel before.
We booked it a week before travelling and it was great. Our room ,although on the small side and basic, was kept clean and we were only a few metres from the pool area and another few metres to the beach.
The hotel has guests from many different european countries, but it is small and very friendly. We had my youngest son (11)with us and there were only a couple of other kids there but he spent all his time on the beach or in the pool and didn't once complain of being bored.
The owner, Kostas, is usually around as he runs different kinds of water sports from the beach. The pool bar is run by a lovely lady called Maria, who made us feel so welcome.
Despite its very central location it was quiet at night.
This is a great hotel if you just want to spend a week relaxing in the sun.
We will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully later in the summer, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanielYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a great holiday in the zervas beach hotel in the friendly resort of Stalis. Having did a little research on the hotels which had reviews on this website I decided this hotel would be the ideal place to stay to just chill for a week. I have to say I was not disappointed at all.The room was cleaned with fresh linen and towels each day. If you have never stayed in greece or any of the greek islands before you will normally be a little disappointed with the rooms on your first experience,however I would definitely say at the zervas it was above average for a 3 star rating.Only downsides if I had to be picky were the small balcony,however we did have a pool and sea view,and maybe the shower cubicle being small with the next to useless shower net. I want to mention like other reviewers before the friendliness of Maria who ran the pool bar,a lovely girl always with a smile on her face.Also Kosta the hotel owner,a good bloke who let us keep the room on when we had a late flight home on the last day for no extra cost.Yanni and Theresa who ran the hotel bar at the front of the hotel were friendly people also.Anyone who likes good food should try the italian Amici restaurant,a 2 minute walk to the right as you walk out of the hotel. Loadsa other good restaurants in the resort to try and chillin bars and a couple of music bars. I will finish this review by saying I have been abroad loads of times and have never felt compelled to write a review before.Also anyone into watersports has it on the doorstep with Kosta and couple of his mates having a speedboat to pull those doughnuts and paragliding and also the usual jetbikes for hire.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank macmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Just got back from a week in stalis and had the best time ever.We stayed at the zervas beach hotel and couldnt fault in any way.Kosta the owner is a really nice person who cant do enough for you.The hotel is clean and comfortable and extremley friendly.The pool is immaculate with exellent comfy sunbeds.Maria who runs the pool bar is really friendly and always happy .Theresa and Yanni who run the hotel bar are the same happy friendly and relly chatty.Kosta is always around and everyone just loves to mingle and make you feel welcome.We coulnt fault it in any way and will definitley be heading there again at least twice next year its location is second to none and the beach is beautiful cant wait to return we stayed her in 2008 not 07 as above

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buckshotEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Most reviews were fairly complimentary abut the Zervas Beach Hotel, however it did seem rather more geared towards couples and small families than my travelling party, which consisted of 5 scouse lads here for the Malia nightlife. Having arranged and booked the trip myself, I was personally apprehensive and a little worried that the owners might not take kindly to us invading their otherwise peaceful hotel....

My fears were allayed after arriving at the Zervas Beach at around 3:30AM. The receptionist (who doubled as bar tender and might have been the owner?) welcomed us warmly and got us off to our rooms without any hastle or asking for breakages deposits etc, which we've been asled for in many hotels before.

The rooms were great - clean, basic and had air con (which you had to buy a remote for at reception - EUR30 per week), safe (EUR10 per week, tft flat screen TV and fridge. The shutters aoutside the balcony window worked well and hardly anuy sun beamed throught at all when you didn't want to be woken up by it.

The pool is great, fairly compact, but clean and the whole pool are leads stright onto the beach, which is fantastic. Ther's even a hammock by the pool which I would sit on with a drink and my ipod as the sun went down while everybody else would be resting befor getting ready to go out.

All of the staff were friendly, but there was a small incident where one lady was convinced that we hadn't given her back a room key - which we 100% had - and got a little bit hot under her collar (which was notable by its absence in the 40' heat...). On finding the key, she didn't come over and apologise etc, just acted a bit frosty towards us, but hey, who has the time to worry about it?

The hotel is right on the main road of stalis and is surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops. The best place to eat was the Mythos restaurant, no contest. Decent prices but just the best ambiance bar nne in Stalis.

I'd definately go back to the Zervas Beach hotel and would reccommend it to couples and families who want a good, sfe place to stay in an area where there are always things to do, places to eat and restaurants to eat in, but not the 100% nightlife of Malia. You can be in Malia in 5 minutes by taxi, but it takes about 45 minutes to walk there (don't be duped into thinking its a 5 minute walk, it's not).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zervas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zervas Beach Hotel

Address: Beach Rd, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Zervas Beach Stalís
Zervas Beach Hotel Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing