We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money & ideal location for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first stay at Katrin Hotel & Bungalows but not first visit to stalis so we knew the area very well. We felt it was ideally situated, off the main centre of the resort but still close enough to walk to the beach & shopping areas. The food selection was good & hot (which is a plus for all inclusive) and topped up on a regular basis so there was always plenty available wether you went early or late for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Our only complaint was I had to ask for our bed sheets to be changed after 5 days - they had not been chnaged once during this time. It was dealt with immediately.
Other than this, everyone was friendly & helpful although very few English people staying at the hotle. The majority of the guests were German, Dutch, French or from Eastern Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Applebrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Okay, so our first impression was not so great. We were directed to the bungalow part of the hotel, which, I must admit, is in desperate need of refurbishment - for instance, our AC, although working, was so loud we actually decided never to turn it on again after the first night. We asked for relocation and even saw a nice new room in the actual hotel part, but it was too small to accommodate all three of us so we passed on that and stayed where were were.
That said, that was virtually the only important drawback of Katrin. Shabby as it was, the room was kept clean, the staff was extremely friendly and highly professional, the hotel grounds were beautiful and green and full of flowers (and cats), but our spirits rose significantly after we had our first all inclusive meal, which happened to be breakfast.
At this point I must explain I was expecting the typical limited-choice, boring breakfast so much favoured by Greek hotels for some unknown reason. I just didn't know how wrong I was! Katrin offers a whole spectrum of food, from the typical English breakfast, through German/Slavic style sandwiches, through French croissants and pains au chocolat, through Greek halva, tzatziki and olives, and on top of this you get plenty of delicious, fresh fruit and vegetables. The abundance is even more prominent at lunchtime and at dinnertime, when you can choose from typical Greek cuisine meals like moussaka or pastitsio, vegetarian meals, at least two types of freshly grilled meat (beef, veal, pork, lamb, even a rabbit once) and pizza for those who are afraid to try anything new. Plus dessert, in various forms, cakes, puddings, fruit of course... You may laugh at my obvious enthusiasm but what you need to understand is I think I only had better catering once and it was in Asia. Never in Europe for sure, and I'd dined in various hotels, and definitely never in Greece (which has a splendid cuisine but somehow the hotel food is usually mediocre).
Rooms have AC (just choose the hotel not the bungalows), terraces or balconies, or both, hairdryers, refrigerators, liquid soap, but you don't get the usual shower gel/shampoo/you name it set. There is no kettle either (I know it's a problem for some). The hotel offers various animations during the day and entertainment at night, which is appropriate in terms of time and loudness (not too late, not too loud unless you have a room right over the bar). You need 5-10 minutes to get to the sea (sandy beach), but you have to pass a busy road first. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel where you can buy any basic necessary stuff. There are also two bus stops nearby so you can get on a KTEL bus and experience the public transport of Crete (which is definitely more comfortable than on any other Greek island I've visited so far). One problem might be lack of parking space at the hotel for those who plan on renting a car - you must park outside. Another problem is the Internet - you can use the insert-a-coin hotel computers or buy 30 minutes of wi-fi at the reception desk for EUR 2, just make sure you stay nearby while you surf because the signal is very poor elsewhere.
Note: the bartender makes really nice cocktails of the day (for AI, they are free between 9 and 10 pm), make sure you try them!
Despite those drawbacks I believe I'd like to stay in Katrin again if I ever return to Stalis.

Room Tip: First of all, CHOOSE THE HOTEL NOT THE BUNGALOWS! Trust me. Second of all, go for the higher pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chomskey_on_the_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not the best hotel I have stayed at but still very adequate for the price. We had a problem with a drain in the bathroom which never got sorted out but nothing we couldn't live with. Other than that the room was clean and well presented and the cleaning lady was very good. The reception and other facilities were excellent and the staff everywhere were friendly and helpful. There was an exception to this which was the lady at the lower pool bar who's customer service was interesting. The dining room was nice with plenty of seating and excellent food and attentive staff so don't be put off by any others negative views because they are untrue . We were a party of four and for the first week we were the only English there, very few spoke to us but after a few day's this changed, so If you don't mind been in a minority go for it. The animation team became good friends and they were very entertaining. The shopping area was good value with plenty of choice but the vehicles on an evening were a nuisance, a curfew would be better.If you go on a trip think carefully about the one to Spinalonga as it is a bit grueling and not value for money. The question is would we return to Crete? yes and to this hotel? yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 11 night stay at the Katrin!! Very clean hotel with friendly staff - especially the animation team! The food was very good & plenty of choice!! No complaints whatsoever & looking forward to visiting again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoandAndyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A very nice hotel which we were pleased with.The food was excellent and should please all tastes.All the staff were friendly with the exception of the lady at the lower pool bar.Would we return yes!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful holiday in Katrin Hotel, we were really satisfied with the rooms, with the staff and especially with the food. There is a very wide variety of different kind of traditional food, but you can also find fresh made pizza or pasta in the restaurant.There are fresh-made desks also, so you can eat the very fresh pancakes, donuts, vegetables, gyros, souvlaki and many different kind of meat directly from the grill! This makes the whole restaurant very special! The whole area of the hotel is clean, the pools are big,and the supply of the bars are wide and perfect! The beach is very near to the hotel, 3minutes on foot, but if you decide to stay around the pool, you can choose from the great and enjoyable animation programs from the morning to the late evening hours! The whole staff is very friendly and helpful, we felt us really special in the hotel! Thanks Katrin Hotel!!

Room Tip: Everything is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Because I worked inside the Greek hotels before I can compare the quality of various things. This medium-sized hotel bets on good food, nice rooms, friendly attitude of every employee from cleaners, waiters, receptionists to management and light, not-forced animation for kids and also adults of every nationality. This hotel surely met my expectations! I highly recommend it for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Suites
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#24 of 52 in Stalis
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows

Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stalis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#16 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: $57 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katrin hotel and bungalows located in Stalis, 30 km from the international airport, is only 200 m away from a magnificent sandy beach and from the entertainment and shopping center of Stalis village. The hotel consists of 140 double and family rooms in different buildings. With a wonderful natural environment and our excellent service you may sure of an enjoyable stay and unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katrin Hotel Stalís
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel And Bungalows Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing