We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stallis”
Review of Ilissos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilissos Apartments
Ranked #33 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from Illissos Apartments in Stallis, had a wonderful holiday.If you want the Ritz don't go here, but if you want a good base to get to the main area, then this is for you.The negatives were- Our apartment needed a good refurbishment, we were on the ground floor of the old block (found out the new block is much better).Rooms only got cleaned once in our weeks holiday , so had to manage with towels provided.Traffic noise when windows opened, but if you paid extra for air con much better, obviously around the pool area you could here the traffic and crickets.Much preferred the crickets sound.We didn't have any meals or drinks from the bar,preferred to do our own.Eating out was fantastic and made our holiday, the beaches were amazing but cramped with parasols etc.Again we preferred to find our own sunbathing spots, all were near to restaurants along the beach.The nightlife is great in Stallis especially The Rovers Return, we booked this as a last minute holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the new block
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Ilissos Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

just returned from apartments very clean and marie quiet friendly but the apartments are to near the main road so you hear the traffic at night time had a upper floor apartment so was able to see the sea would have been good to have some entertainment at night time had breakfast on last day it was good dont think we will go there again pefer to stay closer to the square

Room Tip: top floor have sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned, rooms were basic but clean. No entertainment at all, no music during day, no atmosphere at all. All you could hear round pool area was crickets and road noise.
When we first arrived Maria bought us melon and was friendly. When we didn't buy anything from her she changed. We had gone self catering so made drinks etc in room, the first day we did have breakfast but found better value and friendlier service at the Rovers Return and the Red Lion in Stalis. My daughter bought an ice cream but had to take it back twice because either the freezer had been off for some time or they had been there for years. Some of our group asked for food one day and was told they had to wait because she was baby sitting her grandson. They didn't wait they went onto the Stalis strip.
She was all her family.
If your face fits you will be ok, because a number of people had returned a few times.
It's the first place we've been to where you have to buy toilet roll.
The last day the ladies toilet in reception was locked and we had to use the mens with no toilet paper in there.
Would go back to Stalis, but not to these appartments, although they were close to the Stalis strip, shame about road noise.
Think Maria should concentrate on her business and not watch everything you do, like you are little children and put some form of entertainment on!

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom were nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Illinois in August and had a fantastic time. It was a last minute booking and we were a bit apprehensive since we were three adults and not much info on rooms in the Olympic brochure. All turned out to be great. We stayed in room 6 which was basically two twin bedded rooms one of which had the toilet and kitchenette. This was a first floor room with two balconies and sea view. Rooms were fresh, clean and well maintained and whilst basic (typical Greek) a lot better than we have experienced in Corfu previously. Pool is compact bur never packed - we always got a sun-bed and pool snack bar just the job. The main road wasn't really a problem and windows shut (air con on) you can't hear it. Crossing the road was easy too through a little underpass a couple of metres down the side road and then a walk to the side of the Cactus Beach Hotel brings you out on the beach road / Stalis strip directly opposite the beach. Here you will find lots of Tavernas right on the beach and tourist shops etc. All in all we had a great holiday and will be returning soon I hope.

Room Tip: Book rooms 5, 6,7, 8 on first floor with balcony and best views over towards the sea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdeQuinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We were not supposed to stay at the Illisos but due to an overbooking at the hotel we booked to stay at, we were put in the Illisos.
Firstly it must be said the illisos is nice and close to Stalis (which is a great resort, plenty to do, restaurants etc) which is a bonus. However, it is on a very busy main road which is a real negative. The road is very noisy with quads, cars and buses going past and doesn't make the most scenic of views when at the pool! Being on the balcony with the road as the view was also rather unpleasant.
The rooms were only cleaned twice through the week and the towels weren't changed, we also had to buy our own toliet paper! It was very basic and we probably wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmAnt1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

nice quiet comfortable accommodation, with everything that someone needs for self catering . resort is only 5 min walk away. small pool available ,also small bar and facilities for snacks. approx. 17 rooms in building , host maria very nice and always ready to help with any info required. if looking for basic clean accommodation, this is ideal .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for one week with my sister 2-9th July 2013.

The rooms are a good size and the beds comfy. The air conditioning is £45 and a safe is £20 which were we not expecting. We slept with the balcony doors open, however, the apartments are on a very busy road so if you are planning to do this I would take ear plugs, or just pay the money!

It was difficult to be 'self catering' with no oven or toaster. There was an English portable kettle (I'm not sure if all rooms have these), two ring hob and fridge/freezer. The pool bar serves snacks, however, we didn't try them.

The bathroom had a walk in shower but the shower did not work and meant us crouching down to wash! The studio was clean and we had maid serve twice during the week with towels and bedding changed.

The pool area is clean with a pool table. Plenty of sunbeds although the studios didn't seem to be full.

Maria and her family seemed friendly, always around the pool if we had any questions.

Studios are 5 minute walk away from the beach and Stalis strip. We also walked to Malia which only took about 20 minutes.

Overall can't moan with holiday given we paid little. Its ok for a holiday on a budget. Would be better if they improved the self catering facilities and shower!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
58.7 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ritsa
Villa Ritsa
#22 of 52 in Stalis
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 52 in Stalis
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#15 of 52 in Stalis
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilissos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilissos Apartments

Address: Eirinis 140, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilissos Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilissos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilissos Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing