We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!”
Review of Koni Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koni Village
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

None of the brochures we saw inspired very high expectations, and we only booked Koni Village because we were at short notice and it was the last available apartment package in our price range, for our dates (last two weeks in May) and with a direct flight to Crete

For once, the brochure photos understated the charm of the place, and we (couple, toddler plus bump) were very pleasantly surprised.

We had taken a hire car at the airport, so arrived a bit after the package coach, but got a friendly greeting and arrived roomy third-floor one-room apartment (no. 308, I think) just overlooking the site shop, and it was very nice indeed.

Both bedroom and living room had large balconies, one facing the still-wild steep hills above Stalis, the other with a terrific sea view overlooking the town. Opening both balconies to let the breeze flow through was great (and an alternative to the widespread and pretty loathsome practice of charging €8 a day for the air-con: note to Crete, this is very annoying). We played board games on the balcony at night when we were eating in (pregnant = sober), and I also enjoyed watching the cruise ships line up for the pre-dawn approach to Heraklion (early riser and 2 hours ahead!).

All four beds were comfy, the linen was clean and the kitchenette was adequate, with a reasonable fridge and decent large table taking up much of its nook. Never turned on the telly, always the sign of a good holiday.

There were relatively few negatives: The bathroom cleaning wasn't that great during our stay, although it was clean when we arrived (maybe it was us!). The balcony furniture was flimsy and had seen better days. There was a bit of night noise from the old coastal highway just north of the complex. A kids' playground area might have been a handy addition, and maybe a loo a bit closer to the pool (although there is one just opposite the shop, you have to drip through the bar to get to it). Oh, and if you're hiring a vehicle, the slope in the carpark has to be seen to be believed!

All this was greatly outweighed by the positives:

The upper pool is good and large, with a nice little kids' pool and a good view, and we spent happy times there with our toddler (although beware: the pool surround and steps can be very slippy).

The bar/eatery combo is a nice focus for the site, and both were friendly, clean and efficient - we ate there twice (when getting the sprog to bed was a priority and we couldn't face cooking) and while the food was nothing special, it was actually fine, and not as expensive as other reviews suggest. The sheer awfulness of the two outrageously warped outdoor pool tables gave us many hours of fun, and the coin-op outdoor internet terminals were a first for me. The bar seemed to close fairly early (but let's face it, if you're interested in good bars, there's a few dozen more and far better just downhill), and thus other than the road the only night noise was the occasional and inevitable hammered neighbour.

The site shop was okay, and there are better bakeries and supermarkets a few minutes walk away. Stalis of course has a range of reasonable touristy tavernas, and is always fun, if not exactly, well, very Cretan. But you all know that, and there's plenty of genuine Crete available just down the road a few miles, and it really is a great beach by any standards.

The walk under the main road and down to the main strip and beach wasn't more than 10 minutes, and the oft-mentioned climb back up was really no problem even though one of us was six months pregnant and the other was carrying a toddler.

We moved all over the island during our holiday, and stayed in several other places, and Koni Village measured up well. It's a good location and makes a great base for exploring the centre and east of the island with your own transport (although pushing beyond Sitiea to the east coast, or beyond Rethimnon to the west makes for a very long daytrip), and the whole place was well-maintained and all the staff very welcoming.

I'd have no hesitation going back. Today, preferably.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenIcarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    236
    71
    39
    19
See reviews for
197
223
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

had a ball at this village. really welcome staff do anything to please there guests.if there was a down side small pool could have been a lttle cleaner.the whole holiday was great time for start to finsh.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bantams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Myself and my partner have just returned from an idyllic two weeks in Koni Village. We had a studio apartment which was plenty big for the two of us. It consisted of little kitchen area (two rings, sink, kettle (not electric), cutlery and crockery (not an over abundance!), large wardrobe space, tv (BBC world news and Euro news the only two English stations), safe deposit box and a balcony with 2 chairs, table and clothes airer, bathroom with shower, sink, etc. There was never any shortage of hot water. However, u are not supplied with toilet rolls or soap.

Koni Village is a large complex and we allocated an apartment in the newer block (apt 804). The older blocks are further down the hill (more on that later !). The room was spotless when we arrived but we were there almost 3 days before we saw a clearner or got fresh bed linen and towels. We arrived on Friday lunchtime and there is no cleaning on Sat or Sunday. The bin in the kitchen was startingto overlow on Monday not to mention the bin in the bathroom (u are not allowed throw toilet paper into the toilets). However, the apt was cleaned every two days (except Sat and Sun) and our linen was changed 3 times and our towels 5 times in our two week stay.

Air conditioning is €55 a week but we did not get it as our apartment was sheltered from the sun during the day and night times were chilly. I would recommend u bring something warm (cardi/jumper) for night time as the breeze on the beach road can chill you at night time. Roasting during the day but cold at night (maybe as the season heats up this will change).

The temp during our stay was well into the 30s. Very, very hot. However, those of you that like the beach be prepared for very rough seas. We experienced the same 4 years ago when we were there.

There is a supermarket in the complex which is well stocked. They are a bit more expensive but it is a lot easier to buy the essential water and milk there rather than dragging it up the hill. His milk is €1.30 and we were charged €1.80 for it in the supermarket in Stalis so he is cheaper with some things. There are plenty of supermarkets on the beach road (all selling more or less the same). Although we went self catering we ate out all the time so all we ever bought in the supermarket was water, milk and fruit. We found the supermarket great and very well stocked.

The hill is MASSIVE, especially when u have an apartment almost at the top like we did. The muscles on my legs are now monstrous. The exercise is better than any cross trainer. However, we found a way to avoid it. Come up the hill from reception, turn left and go across towards the swimming pool (past the restaurant (and there are two flights of steps there which are a lot easier to climb). I have to say that this complex is definitely not suitable to people with wallking difficulties or those with small children in buggies. also, ladies, leave your stillettos at home! You will either break your heels on the hill or on the rough road leading to and from stalis.

There is a restaurant in the complex but we never saw any more than 5 or 6 people there at any time. The resort was very quite for this time of year, and I think the hoteliers are feeling the pinch of the economic downturn.

U can see the beach fromt he apartments (unfortunately the only view we had from our balcony was the apartments across from us). However, we were never in the apartment long enough to care. We are both beach lovers and spent all day there.

There is a large swimming pool in the complex with lots of sun beds. On our way to the beach in the morning we saw the usual beds "reserved" with towels on them but I doubt there was any shortage.

There is a smaller pool just beside the entrance and it seems to be an unwriten rule that this is an "adults" only haven. There are about 20 sunbeds

The main beach in Stalis is fine but a bit rocky in places. Also, the sun beds are very close together. Two sunbeds and one umbrella cost €6. However, we found a lovely little beach few years back and we went back to it again this year. It is almost opposite the Cactus Beach hotel and called Summertime. There is a little restaurant there for snacks during the day and they also have showers, toilets and a swimming pool ( for when the sea gets a bit rough).

To get to the beach from Koni come out of the complex and turn left. Walk for a few hundred yards and go into the underpass. When u come out of the underpass go left and immediately right down a little road that runs throught he Cactus Beach Hotel. Keep going down this little lane way and u get onto the beach road. Takes about 10/15 mins. The beach is directly opposite to you.

Restaurants I would recommend are Anatolia (just at the end of the lane way u come out for the beach road from Koni), Fontana, The Rose and Crown, Camelot. These are all situated up to the right as u come out ontot he beach road. We also found a lovely little greek taverna that serves FREE Raki. When u come out of the underpass go left and keep walking until u come to the traffic lights (about 5 mins). Go right down a little road and u come out onto the beach road at the other end of stalis. Minos is on the left as u walk down (directly opposite the Irish House Pub). the food is lovely (be hungry as u get huge portions) and very very cheap. U also get a little bottle of Raki at the end of your meal. Very nice and highly recommended.

I noted from other reivews that El Greco was lovely. However, our experience there was not a bit lovely. The were outside hassling people to go in (as they do). We got seated and then waited about 10 mins before we got menus. Another 10 mins went by before our drinks order was taken. They seem more intent on dragging people in off the street than looking after the customers they DO have. the toilets are across the road from the restaurant. The food was not great (my meal was cold) and I would not recommend this restaurant at all. I found it very overpriced for what we go and the service was dreadful.

At the end of the day I would highly recommend the Koni Village, the only downer being The HILL, and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colletteDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I stayed at the Koni Village with 5 friends (all in our early 20's but not lairy girls!!) from 28th May - 4th June. This complex is really nice and all public areas are absolutely spotless. We mainly had breakfast/lunch in the restaurant which was of good quality and price although the one night we ate in the restaurant the evening food was a little disappointing and not up to the standard of restaurants in the town.

The first day we were horrified by the hill and staying up in block 8 we wondered how we would do it several times a day but then we found the steps by the pool so we only had to do the little hill at the entrance to the complex.

The mini market on site was good value for money, unless you're buying papers and magazines but then they're always expensive.

We had 2 studio rooms and both were of good size with balaconies which both had table and chairs. Only disappointment was that we had to wear flip flops the whole time in the apartment as the floor got quite dirty with only been cleaned every 3 days so if you didn't have anything on your feet when getting out of the shower they were grubby by the time you reached the bed. Also the shower mats in the bath and on the floor never dried out as they were made of squeegy mop material and absorbed the water but never dried out so every time you stepped on them they oozed water!

Overall a great holiday and Stalis is a nice resort but was a bit quiet when we went. A little hasseling from restauranteurs but that's to be expected. Lovely beach with good deals on sunbeds and parasols. Easy walk to the resort centre just turn left out of the complex, go under the subway then cut down past the Cactus Beach hotel. 10 minute walk max!

If staying on Crete would definitely recommend a trip to the island of Spinalonga as it's beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkSparkle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We just got back from the Koni 2 days ago & had a great time.
The place was lovely & very very clean, the banks people talk about are every bit as steep as they say they are. We were in block 8 (which is near to the top) but if you are in one of the lower ones then it's not really too bad at all. The location of the Koni is also good as it's far enough out of town to be nice & quiet whilst also being close enough for it not to be too much of a hike in to town. We only ate in the restaurant once & that was very nice & the price was reasonable. I wouldn't go back to the Koni but that's because i'll never go back to the same place twice no matter how much i enjoy it - but like the header says i'd certainly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireRocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

we had a great week at koni village but was very disapointed at the lack of entertainment,and the walk to stalis was hard in the heat,very clean appartments and all staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinebell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

My Hubbie and I have just returned from a wonderful week at the Koni Village. The room was spotless and spacious. Brilliant view of the hotel and resort from the balcony. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Pool was cleaned every day and we were amazed to see the cleaners move the sun loungers and mop beneath them and surrounding areas every morning. Koni Village is absolutely spotless. No ants, cockroaches or any other creepy crawlie scurrying on the balcony. Only downfall we would say is the dreaded HILL!!!!!!!!!!!! We walked to the beach every morning and either went to the underpass or walked to the traffic lights and jay walked across the carriageway avoiding the crazy drivers. After toasting on the lovely beach all day we headed back along the road to the hotel. The feeling of DREAD that came over us when we reached the bottom of the driveway and looked at the HILL ahead. We were room 703 and by the end of the holiday we managed to find a less exhausting way to our room even though we ended up with calf's bigger than Big Arnie's ha ha! We certainly feel alot fitter after staying at the Koni Village. The walk up the hill is well worth it and if it hadn't been for the heat I very much doubt it would have bothered us. Would we go back? Well since coming home Tuesday teatime we have tried to rebook for 2 weeks next June but unfortunately Direct Holidays/Thomas Cook don't have 2010 holidays on sale yet. We have left our conatct details at the travel agent and WHEN the holidays ae on sale we will be one of the first to book again for the Koni Village. High Recommend it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BensonsMumScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.3 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#23 of 52 in Stalis
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koni Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koni Village

Property: Koni Village
Address: Eleyth.Venizelou, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#18 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koni Village 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koni Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koni Village Hotel Stalis
Koni Village Stalís
Koni Village Hotel Stalís
Crete Koni Village
Koni Village Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing