We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anemi safe or not”
Review of Anemi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anemi Apartments
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“anemi safe or not”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

just returned from 2 weeks at anemi apt,2nd time at anemi ,ninth year at crete,
rooms are basic but cleaned every 2 days.pool is small and has no shallow end,so not suitable for young children.paid 40 euro for 2 weeks hire of safe and within 3 days i had £300
and my daughter £180 stolen from the safe, management were unhelpful ,said i must have spent it, stalis gets the overspil from malia so a few mornings we had groups coming in at 5-6 am making noise and jumping in pool. don't let this put you of crete it's a great place to holiday, just don't hire a safe from anemi apartments

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gerard005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Me and my boyfriend who are both 20 stayed at anemi in stalis for a weeks holiday. We arrived late at night to be shown to our room, but where told we would not be able to purchase our air con until the next morning, so had an uncomfortable sleep that night, but after buying air con next day was fine for the week then.

The hotel rooms where basic, but had all we needed for the week. The maid came every two days to change sheets and towels, but we never got any toilet roll so we just bought some from local super market.

As said in other reviews the pool isnt great for children or peope who aren't strong swimmers, but other hotels allow you to use their pools and the beach is really really close.

The location of the hotel is great, very close to beach and surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is best for families and young couples, and we had no probems with noise or anything.

If young couple or groups are staying at the hotel then malia is only a 15 min walk away if a night out there is wanted. There is a happy train which takes you on a tour from stalis, through malia and on to hersonissos which is a good way or seeing the surrounding area. There are lots of trips and excursions available nearby and quads can be rented for a cheap easy way to get about.

Restaurants in crete are great and i reccomend trying some of the geek dishes. Everyone seems to rave about the rose and crown but its nothing special, its just an english style pub abroad.

Hope this review helps, Had a great holiday in crete, hope you do too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank cookie89Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We decided to stay at the Anemi, as my parents have been staying there for years. Our room was described in brochure as '1-Bed Apartment for 4' - the bedroom was in fact a mezzanine floor accessed by a spiral staircase. Although well-equipped, the bathroom and general decor had seen better days. The bathroom was in need of total renovation from a toilet that didn't flush properly (we had to use a bowl filled with water to flush), to grimy tiles and rotting door frame. The decor throughout showed cracks in the render and flaking paint. When we finally succumbed to hiring the air conditioning - this wasn't working properly, so sleep conditions were poor. We felt that the mezzanine floor and staircase were hazardous to say the least and I wouldn't recommend for young children. Pool area is adequate, although again not suitable for small children as too deep (we used the pool at the Ariadne across the road which has excellent facilities and overlooks the beach so you have the best of both worlds). However, to end on a good note about the Anemi - the hosts were very warm and welcoming and the Rose & Crown bar & restaurant which is situated in front of the apartments was great - from Manos 'very nice - very nice' barman to the restaurant staff. Ideally suited to young or old couples.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed in Stalis last year and enjoyed it that much we decided to book again but somewhere more central.
The Anemi is attached to the Rose and Crown. This is a small collection of apartments over 2 levels, we had a 2 first floor studio apartment just above the pool area. The apartments are fairly basic but was clean and presentable, very similar to most Greek apartments.
Our room had a double bed and a single bed. The apartment was equipped with a fridge, kettle, toaster and a portable 2 ring hob. We didn't cook in the room but some families that were there at the same time as us did manage to cook.
Air conditioning is available but is quite pricy @ 8 euros a day. We did have 1 room air conditioned as it was very hot. A couple we had met though bought a large pedestal fan at a local supermarket for only 25 euros, so do consider before you purchase the air conditioning.
Pool Area was quite small and not really suitable for any boisterous behaviour. Unfortunately for us there was a group of lads in during our 2nd week who insisted in having a mad hour, throwing each other in etc. If you stayed round the pool area during this time you would get drenched! Please ot also, especially if you're bringing young children, the pool is very deep, 1.6m in the shallow end and 2.7 meters in the deep end.
There is no pool bar but you can order food from the Rose and Crown should you wish to eat round the pool. The snack menu was quite limited though also prices were cheaper in other restaurants.
The plus side of no pool bar was that you could take your own drinks etc to the pool area, no one really monitored the pool.
Location of the apartments was right o the beach road headig up towards Malia. In fact for us on the downside was that there were several groups of youngsters who came in late and quite often drunk as Malia is only a 15 minute walk away.
Our favourite bar was the Melia Bar in the centre of Stalis run by Demitri, only 1.50 euros for a large beer.
Favourite restaurant was Marias Golden Beach, which was further down, heading towards Hersonnissos.
Holiday was very relaxing but would consider staying further away from Malia. Don't object to the groups but do prefer a quieter scene. The apartments were of a good standard and kept clean. Cleaners came every other day and we had our sheets changed 3 times during two weeks and the towels were changed regularly.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms
  • Disliked — Too many groups of single sex youngsters
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We have just returned from 1 week stay at the Anemi Apartments in Stalis and what a fab time we had! This is a small collection of apartments over 2 levels, we had a ground floor studio apartment just off the pool area. The apartments are fairly basic but was clean and presentable, a perfect base for sleeping and getting ready. There is a nice pool, that was never too busy whilst we were there, the only thing is the shallow end is about 1.4m deep so would be no good for children but fine for the adults.

Location can not be faulted, situated on the Beach Road right behind a great pub the Rose and Crown that serves great food and a superb bar that stays open until the last person staggers home! Manos (very nice, very nice) who runs the bar at the Rose and Crown is very entertaining who makes the evenings all the more special and ensures you return time after time. One thing we kept noticing is the number of people who were returning having stayed in Anemi before and Manos remembered them all giving them a warm welcome! With many, many other restaurants and bars on your door step you are spoilt for choice and we enjoyed many a meal over looking the sea! In the day there is so much to do the happy train, hire bikes/quads and many trips (we did not do any this time but are planning to return again and fit some of these in).
The beach is only seconds away over the Beach Road and down one of the many paths that lead straight onto the beach which has beautiful pure soft sand and the sea is crystal clear and warm compared to many that we have been in! Weather was perfect around 35 degrees everyday and warm evenings.

We were over the moon with our holiday and would highly recommend the Anemi and Stalis. Lively but not manic with everything you need on your doorstep.

We made many friends (from early 20's plus, mainly older) combined with all of the above will ensure we return to Crete and we will most definately be returning to the Anemi and the Rose and Crown!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Spangle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaengarw,Glamorgan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Very clean. and basicFriendly helpful staff.Across the road from beach.Many
good bars and restaurants in Stalis-go left for the more up market places.Beware of travel agents-we had a trip cancelled and money was not refunded.We had to fight to get it back after returning home.A trip on the happy train is essential-full trip takes you around Malia and Hersonnissos.We went to Santorini for the day (approx. £250 for 4) which was brilliant.Lots to do and see on Crete if you have time.Pool at Anemi very small so at peak times would get very crowded.Food at Rose & Crown very nice and on a par with other restaurants.Watch out for scooters and quads-riders and salesmen!!!Very good place to holiday and would go back.

  • Liked — Location.Massive balcony.
  • Disliked — Small pool.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed for one week 1st -8th October 2006 and found the accommodation to be clean and tidy but fairly basic but what makes this accommodation special is the 'pub' at the front the Rose & Crown.
If you are a sports fan you will love the fact that they nearly always have sport on at least one of their six flat screen TVs along with a cyber corner where you can go online but the best thing is the food.
I only wish that I could find a pub near home with such a good menu and well cooked food.They have 3 chefs and cook everything from traditional Greek to a good fry up.

  • Liked — Rose & crown 'Pub'
  • Disliked — No view from room
  • Tips/Secrets — just a snack try toasted sandwich as everything else comes with salad/chips.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank foghornred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.3 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#24 of 52 in Stalis
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 52 in Stalis
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#18 of 52 in Stalis
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pela Sofia Apartments
Pela Sofia Apartments
#26 of 52 in Stalis
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 52 in Stalis
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemi Apartments

Property: Anemi Apartments
Address: Stalida - Malia, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anemi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anemi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemi Apartments Hotel Stalis
Anemi Apartments Stalís
Anemi Apartments Hotel Stalís
Anemi Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing