We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
200
81
28
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
81
28
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar food in the main restaurant beach beds special thanks main pool rooms are big main building hotel is great small hotel late at night week holiday physiotherapist guests pools greek crete cleanliness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 318 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Great holiday, beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and modern. We were a party of 6 (ranging from 15 years to 74years) and had 3 rooms next to each other. Food in both restaurants were of brilliant quality. Themed buffet each night with welcome drinks. Hotel entertainment included Greek dancing which had us all joining in. Another night there were synchronised swimmers in the pool, very entertaining.
During our stay we celebrated my husbands birthday. Everyone was very helpful and organised a birthday cake and fizz and made him feel important for the night.
Wonderful cocktails served by the pool during the day in hard plastic glasses and beautifully decorated with fruit. In the evening the cocktails were served in stunning glasses to your table by the wonderful and very attentive Michaelos. My favourite cocktail in the evening was the "romance"
We enjoyed many a day sunbathing on the very comfortable sun loungers by the main pool and sipping "strawberry feelings"
The only downside to the hotel is the wine. Served from taps in the restaurant and very dry and acidic. Having had wine elsewhere on the island, It was disappointing that the wine served at the Cactus Royal was of such poor quality and not in keeping with the 5star rating that the rest of the hotel deserves. We did purchase wine on a couple of occasions but felt that the hotel should provide 5star wine especially with meals.
There were not many English guests staying at Cactus Royal but this was not a problem to us.
We all enjoy playing table tennis on most days but could have done with more activities to help pass the day. My teenage son and daughter would have loved there to have been an animation team providing activities and games to play to help them mix with the other guests. Maybe a darts board, boule court or a table football game.
Although mostly a couple hotel, there were small groups of families like ourselves although very few children, mostly babies or toddlers or teenagers which made it a very peaceful and relaxing holiday for all.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Clarky1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Beach.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our
service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

Our hotel does not have day- or sport animation, but we offer this service at the
Cactus Village hotel (next to the Cactus Royal), our guests can participate at any
time. We regret that you didn´read the information map which is placed in any
room.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

We have just arrived back from a fabulous two week holiday at the Cactus Royal, lovely food, caring and efficient staff and a truly special hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a wonderful break.
Special thanks to Fortini and Joseph at the bar, Maria with her lovely smiles, Constantina who served us, the pool bar staff and of course the Maitre D who worked so hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their holidays.
A truly special hotel and we will be back.
Debbie

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiejune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Beach.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your truly warm words, regarding our
service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.
Special thanks from our Maitre, Joseph, Fotini, Maria and Constantina.

We are always very glad to see such nice guests like you once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in August.

Pros:
- very clean rooms and other premises,
- friendly staff,
- viariety at breakfast,
- nice quiet small pool in the back - we called it quiet zone
- high quality Entertainment in the evenings - no animations
- very nice a la carte dinner at the terrace restaurant with nice views and Greek breakfast in the small traditional cafe on hotel premises, both included in all inclusive price
- well equipped and quite big gym
- nice spa and good value for the price

what I didn't like:
- the pool area is a bit small for the high season so there are not enough sun beds for everyone. People had to sit on chairs instead. This is also caused by the fact that guests are reserving beds early on and then do not use them even thou there are signs everywhee this is not allowed. Staff should actually do something about it. When they see the bed is not used for an hour they should move the towel from it. This would solve a lot of problems and stopped people from doing this.
- meals- although the quality of food overall was good, I was actually dissapointed that even though I went to Greece the dinners were themed: Mexican, Italian, Asian, International. There was only one Greek night. I was hoping to eat more Greek food actually but this was only possible oitside hotel
- the nearby beach is terrible- very crowded and narrow. sunbeds are basically next to each other with almost no option to even turn them because there is no space. If someone likes to sit on the beach this is not the best place to go. We have seem beautiful and wide beaches close to Rethymno and in the south of the island. The beach in Stalis is unfortunately not one of those. the beach is also rocky at types so it is not possible to have a walk by the shore
- the town itself is a typical touristy and noisy place. Nothing really interesting there. A lot od stores with fake bags and local car rentals plus bars and restarants. There is no walking road next to the sea so if you want to go for a walk you are forced to walk next to cars and scuters driving next to you and you are surrounded by noisy bars and stores. It is not very nice.
-

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kranitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Beach.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

We apologize for the negative experience you had with the sunbeds around the pool, unfortunately is it impossible to place more sunbeds, it will be too crowded then. This is why we have many sunbeds at the grass area. However we try to solve this problem by asking our guests (you saw already the notice on the umbrellas) not to reserve sunbeds on absence and we remove the towels, when we realise that the sunbeds are not in use for more than 30 min.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please con-tact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

My wife and I stayed for a week at the begining of August. The hotel is excellent the rooms are clean and we'll appointed, being an all inclusive resort the food choice at all meals is very comprehensive the included drinks are limited to local beers,wines and spirits although there is still a good range available and there is an option to pay for international brands. On the down side the pool area is on the small side for the number of guests and there are not enough sun beds available at busy times. The age old problem exists of certain guests getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve beds and then leaving them unoccupied until the afternoon ,despite notices all around saying this should not be done, unfortunately there is nobody policing this.
Overall this is a good quality hotel with a lively range of bars, restaurants and shops just outside the main reception.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Motorman174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Royal.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

We apologize for the negative experience you had with the sunbeds around the pool, unfortunately is it impossible to place more sunbeds, it will be too crowded then. This is why we have many sunbeds at the grass area. However we try to solve this problem by asking our guests (you saw already the notice on the umbrellas) not to reserve sunbeds on absence and we do remove the towels, when we realise that the sunbeds are not being used since more than 30 min.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days. The hotel and rooms are clean and modern. We had a room on the first floor above reception facing the sea. The room was large with a big balcony. It had good air-conditioning, comfy beds and all the other usual amenities. It's located across the road from the beach. The pool area is nice with a couple of bars. There's also another smaller pool towards the back of the resort. The food there was alright, they have a wide range of options, we usually only had breakfast there and preferred to go out for lunch and dinner. The balconies in the area that we stayed in have no privacy dividers so you can see people in the rooms and on the balconies next to you, in saying that it did come in handy when we locked ourselves out (was our mistake) but there's no way to get to get back in from the balcony, we had to ask someone staying next to us to get someone from reception to come and let us back into our room, those are the only negative things I have to say. The staff are really helpful and friendly, would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Royal.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestreation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews