We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Jannis Golden Heart
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Read all about the suckling pig on trip advisor so was really looking forward to it, but sadly it didn't live up to our expectations.
The starters were excellent, garlic mushrooms and stuffed tomato, but the main course was not a suckling pig, it was pure and simple roast pork. It was nice but it definitely came from an older pig, and none of the skin was crispy crackling, just a lot of fat.
The welcome couldn't have been any warmer, Jannis and the staff were very pleasant and spoke excellent English.
It wasn't a bad meal but, at 50 Euros, it was the most expensive one we had during the fortnight and probably the most disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    76
    36
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good 'Home Cooking'”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the 1st restaurant we tried on our holiday in Stalis. We also went to many other places to eat but in my wife's and my opinion, this is the best we tried. It must be as we went there twice more. The service is first class, the food is excellent and really is 'home' Greek cooking, the local wine is really good and you really should ask to go up to the roof garden area, where a gentle breeze keeps you cool, but beware the turn on the old wooden stair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkFredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meals, excellent service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a super restaurant. The authentic Greek food was absolutely lovely, all homemade, would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been going back to Jannis for more years than I can remember (certainly we can remember him with his long moustache !!) We ate here again three times during this two week stay sampling the roast suckling pig (house special on Wednesdays and Sundays) which was huge and excellent and our personal favourite Bifteki (ground beef stuffed with feta cheese) which is the best we have ever tasted. Jannis and his lovely wife are always so welcoming that it feels like we are returning family. The quality of the food and wine is superb with an extensive menu including traditional Greek/Cretan dishes and some with a special touch of Jannis and his momma. It is slightly more expensive than other places nearby but the little touches like home made garlic butter and a variety of dips served with the bread and a little mousse desert and complimentary drink on the house more than compensate for this. we are great believers in eating where the locals eat and this is one of the few restaurants that stays open year round to cater for the local people. Go and enjoy - we will be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank un0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food really friendly staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The wife and I ate here the night before last, I had the "big brother" which was a ostrich fillet and chicken fillet in a gorgeous curry-like sauce, the wife had the suckling pig. We both loved the food, I would recommend the two dishes we tried to anyone! The owner was really lovely and the tables all had lots of pictures of the owner through the years under the glass which was a really nice touch. They also gave us some great nibbles for a starter, bread and dips which were really tasty, I think we will go there again. Top notch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badrobot85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jannis Golden Heart also viewed

Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Jannis Golden Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing